We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Good Service, not an entirely great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Ranked #107 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2006

I really wanted to like this hotel. The property, though not right on the Riverwalk, is an incredibly short drive away. All in all, very convenient. We had a two-bedroom unit (which is actually an adjoining smaller single bed unit and one with a full kitchenette and another living area).

From day 1, the staff was very courteous. The breakfast was great, and kept well stocked (hot oatmeal, TX-shaped waffles, eggs & sausage, and more).

Problems we had were the following. 1) We called ahead to verify two things. We needed a crib. They said they had "a crib". It turned out to just be a pack and play, which we already had in the car anyway. And it wasn't in the room upon arrival, though we were told it was when I checked in moments earlier. 2) They had no truly non-smoking rooms available for online booking (the Residence Inn website). When calling to verify the crib, we asked - and were informed that since the whole hotel was non-smoking, rooms couldn't be booked as non-smoking. Tell that to the guest in room 222 who insisted on lighting up in his bathroom 4 times (every morning and night we were there) and turning on the vent - flushing it into our room. Although the front desk was asked to correct this issue _4_ times, they did nothing, though they said "someone will be sent right over to check it out and resolve it". Finally, though it's a nit-picky thing, the garbage men came at 5:00 AM on a Monday. Not a great wake up call when travelling with kids.

Given the price that we paid, until this hotel has a non-smoking policy and actually enforces it, I will go somewhere else when visiting San Antonio.

Stayed: August 2006
5  Thank getwired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2006

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel and would certainly stay here again. We had a suite with two double beds and a seperate sitting area. The beds were comfy, and the sofa bed and rollaway were not bad. We requested a balcony and fyi, all suites and most rooms have a balcony. We stayed in room 342 and had a good view of the courtyard and a good view of some of the taller buildings and this was much better than with a city view. The trolly yellow line stops at the hotel and takes you to the riverwalk. The hotel is 2 blocks from El Mercado. The hotel only serves breakfast, omlets or eggs to order and a buffett serving bacon, sausage, cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt,toast, waffles juice and coffee for$ 8.00. My 2 year old neice was singing the Barney song and the lovely waitresses and most patrons were singing with her. Every staff member we encountered was friendly, cheerful and helpful. All of our request were handled promptly and courteously(extra linens, coffee, rollaway bed) The room was clean and the sofa and chairs were very comfortable. In addition to the coffee table and desk, the room had a roll out table that we used as a game table. Also internet access is available. We ate twice at Casa Rio on the Riverwalk, excellent food and friendly service. Least favorite thing, the room only has a one cup coffee maker. Best thing the staff.

10  Thank trvl4fun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2006

We just returned from a two week stay at the Residence Inn - Market Square. The hotel was really great! They had wonderful breakfasts every morning, which saved our family a ton of money! They also have a light snack in the evenings. This consisted of a vegetable soup and salad one day, huge baked potatoes with all the fixin's another day, and one day they had nacho's, etc. On Tuesday's they have a cookout and have hamburger's and hotdogs, chips, sodas - it was really delicious!

They do have a small, shaded playground and they also have a tennis court and basketball court. You can get a ball or raquets from the front desk.

They trolley that goes downtown was a block from the hotel. You don't even have to cross a road.

The rooms do have a full size refrigerator, two burner stove, coffee maker, and toaster- no oven. There is a laundry room in each building as well. Both the washer and the dryer each cost $1.00 for a load.

The room was a little on the small side; however, we do have a family of six, so I'm sure the rooms would be great for a smaller crowd. The pool is also a little small. But, having said that, the staff at this hotel more than makes up for these two minor things. We've never stayed at a hotel where the people are so friendly and as helpful as they were at this hotel. They went out of there way to be nice! It's because of this great service that I rate this hotel excellent!

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank dudalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2005

This hotel has again proven to be the best value for multiple-person groups in San Antonio! We had 8 in our group, ranging from 52 down to 3 years of age. We had a 2-bedroom unit in the non-smoking building, which was wonderfully clean and fresh. We ate terrific breakfasts each and every morning, anything from fresh waffles, yogurt, sausage & biscuits to cereal, donuts, bagels and fresh fruit. Our server, Harold (an International Intern from Alcapulco, MX) was just wonderful and a real pleasure whenever we interacted with him. The evening get-togethers were also very nice, with light snacks and cold refreshments for both the adults and the kids. The pool was very nice and clean, as was the hot tub. The location is close to the trolley line, which is very convenient for getting around the city, and within walking distance of El Mercado. Adrianna and Priscilla at the front desk, and Reynaldo who seemed to be a "jack of all trades" were also both friendly and professional. We have stayed at this hotel in the past and will do so again in the future. We also highly recommend it to anyone going to San Antonio for more than one night, as it is comfortable and affordable, especially when you consider the savings on your morning meals!

17  Thank momomtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2005

We were looking for a two-bedroom suite with a full kitchen, a hearty breakfast, privacy in a single suite for two couples traveling together, nearish to downtown San Antonio, but far enough out to avoid paying premium rates. That is what we found at this Residence Inn. It is a block from the yellow trolley line into downtown (80 cents) and less than a mile from a Riverwalk water taxi ($3/trip,$10 all-day). The staff was very gracious, helpful and hard-working. The hotel does have a closed-in, grassy yard area and playground suitable for younger children, a basketball court and a small pool and Jacuzzi. The room was clean and in good repair.

The bad news? I felt the dining area was cramped for the number of people who were expecting to use it and consistently busy, although we never really waited overly long to eat. The coffee cream and sugar are around the corner from the coffee machine, in the lobby. The fireplace mantle had obviously come loose from the wall and was sagging, as was the breakfast bar cover, and I would have preferred the ceramic dishes to the Styrofoam and plastic sometimes used as a stop-gap. The pool was nice, if small. "Neighbors" from the other Marriott hotels in the compound (Fairfield Inn, Courtyard) felt free to use the pool as well. One the other hand, I was allowed to use the business center computer in the Courtyard which the Residence Inn did not have available.

Given the small size of the lobby, the cramped dining area and the noticeably small pool, I believe the hotel was originally designed to serve the building attached to the lobby only and not the separate annex building in which we stayed. I suspect the annex was added later and helps to overload some of the facilities. I'd suggest to Marriott that they increase the size of these facilities if possible.

  • Stayed: July 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank BobOnTAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2005

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Residence Inn Market Square. The staff was all incredibly friendly, great complimentary breakfast in the morning and complimentary drinks and dinner in the evening (Mon-fri). Our room was clean , though smaller than anticipated. Hotel has a nice heated pool and a little playground for kids. Good location and free parking a plus! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank micdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marco_almada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Avenida Guadalupe
Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arsenal
La Quinta Inn & Suites  San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square

Address: 628 S Santa Rosa Ave, San Antonio, TX 78204-3128
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Avenida Guadalupe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#80 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £110 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square offers an ideal location in the heart of downtown San Antonio, just off I-35. This great location is within minutes of top destinations including Market Square, the Riverwalk, the Alamodome, and the AT&T Center. Business travelers will appreciate the quick commute to the offices of AT&T, Toyota, Boeing, and HEB Grocery, as well as business-friendly amenities such as free proprety-wide WiFi, a 24-hour business center, and over 1,400 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting and event space. Our suites are 50% larger than standard hotel rooms, and are highlighted by HD TVs, plush bedding, and the fully-equipped kitchens with refrigerator, microwave, and stove top. Start your day off with the complimentary breakfast buffet, and unwind in the evenings at the weekday evening social hour. Guests will love to maintain their active lifestyle with a workout in the fitness center or a game of basketball on the SportCourt, or they can spend a relaxing afternoon in the sun by the outdoor pool. With thoughtful amenities and prime location in the heart of downtown, Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square is the perfect choice for extended stay trips or weekend getaways to San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown / Market Square Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Residence Inn
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing