We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will not stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #90 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“will not stay again”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

we had a good time but there was a lot of disappointments 1. had 4 ppl in the room and would not put 4 towels had to go get more. 2. rooms key keep going bad 3. scanners in parking garage would not scan. 4. 24.00 per day to park in the HOTEL parking lot is ridiculous. no immunity but for 25.00 a night fee 5. house keeping sucked would not place cups, and glasses . you are on the river walk but you have to walk half a mile to get to the main restaurants. AND THE HOMELESS PPL ARE VERY BAD. they were everywhere DONT GO AT NIGHT

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-KevinLatone, General Manager at Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Vick T.,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit.
I apologize our services were not to our usual standards during your visit.
I will certainly share your comments with my housekeeping team as a training opportunity.
I am hopeful that you shared our shortcomings when you were visiting with us, and that we did make a recovery with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    619
    521
    262
    140
See reviews for
533
442
34
890
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just had a very nice stay at the Wyndham. It is not in the best part of the riverwalk but the staff made it worth the walk. The breakfast buffet is one of the best I have ever seen with a omelet chef, fresh berries, fruit and a very attentive staff. By the third day they knew our drink orders and welcomed us by name. The room was remodeled and very clean but they are still remodeling some of the floors so try to get a higher floor. Parking was across the street but there is a tunnel right from the elevator. The front dest staff were also great and got to know us and always greeted us every time we came and went. Great value for a good hotel with a great breakfast and super staff. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-KevinLatone, General Manager at Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Alex F.,
Thank you for sharing your recent and positive comments on your guest experience with Wyndham. I was glad to hear of your favorable perceptions of our staff and the breakfast buffet offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed there for a function that was in the conference room. Although we got a block price, still not worth it. Started with key challenges in the parking garage which was actually across the street. You had to walk down a long hallway to get to the elevators and up to the lobby.

Didn't clean the room for the first 4 days we were there. Had to call down for towels every day. Mold growing in the tub. No amenities - had to pay for WIFI - no refrigerator (I'm diabetic so I needed it for my insulin) - no free breakfast. The breakfast buffet was $20 each day including tip so that added to the cost of the stay. We had dinner one night only there. I ordered a chicken Cesar salad with balsamic dressing on the side. I got a salad with some au jus sauce (French dip) and not chicken. My friend ordered the special (Fajitas) and was given some plain meat with beans and rice with no veggies or anything else. It took some time to get it correct but we were both starving so we were not that happy.

The concierge kept telling us the wrong way to get to the River walk. He didn't mention that we had to cross over the "river" to get there.

They were supposed to come in to the conference room every day at 8:00 am before the public came in at 10:00 am to clean, take out trash and vacuum. If they did show up, it was later than that with the vacuum running during the event. One time, a cleaning lady or maid came in with a huge purse around her shoulder collecting some cups and drinking glasses. I was afraid she was going to steal something off one of the sales tables. During the function, the roof leaked in the conference room which is actually under the parking garage. Some items were damaged but the worst part was that it increased the humidity so much in the room, all our items were actually damp when packing them up.

We paid a lot to stay there for 5 nights hoping to have a fun and an uneventful relaxing event. It was very disappointing. If it hadn't been for the River walk and the Alamo, and the fact that we had made a commitment to the event, we would have left after the first night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-KevinLatone, General Manager at Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Karen K.,
Thank you for your comments from your recent visit. We use the feedback from guests as an opportunity to improve each day. I apologize for the the service concerns you expressed. I would like to research your observations in more detail. I would welcome you to contact me via email at Kevin.Latone@sawyn.com so I can better understand, and provide resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Overall our stay at the Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel was great. We did not get the same service with the night staff that we did with the daytime staff. A couple of times we contacted the night staff and they were not helpful. The first night we lost money in the vending machine and was told to go down to the lobby to get a refund. They kept us waiting for at least 15 minutes so we left without the refund. The 3rd night we ordered room service and had to wait for 2 hours for a sandwich. The daytime staff were accommodating and friendly. They readily gave us information about where to go and places to eat nearby.

Room Tip: Just an fyi, we were on the executive level floor and the rooms do not have a refrigerator or microw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIMBERLY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-KevinLatone, General Manager at Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Kimberly T.,
Thank you for sharing your recent comments from your visit with us. I appreciate your kind words regarding our day staff. I apologize for the delay in getting your sandwich, and wait for change.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I will never stay at another wyndham again. I arrived and no valet parking, ok its a weekend and they are busy, no big deal. So I get checked in and headed to take my car to the parking garage only to find out that my card does not work and I can not get in the way the front desk told me too. So I finally get in and back to tye front desk and they rekey my card for the garage. Ok, make it to my room, bed is made but still trash in the trash cans. I use the bathroom only to find out that tye toilet is broken and I have to remove lid to get it to flush. To tired to deal with it thus evening. 5am rolls around and head to the bathroom again to find tye door was shut and I had to get my car key to get it to open all the while about to pee down my leg. From the looks of the door I am not the only one to have this problem. Attye dront desk I ask for a manager, I tell him if my problems he apologies and says that they will get on it right away. I leave for the day apon my return I can once again not get into the garage! I make it back to the desk again they rekey my card. I maje to my room to discover that nothing has been repaired! Next morning I again speak with the same manager. He calls someone and we go up together I pount out a few things and leave again for the day. Again upon my return I am unable to get in the garage, kind of a theme here. They give me all new cards this time. Now I can not get into my room!!! So as of today 8/5 I am still here and unhappy with this crappy hotel. But the toilet has been fixed still waiting in the door. To sum it up, the service is ok, the building is in need of repairs, oh and they seem to work at night here so dont plan on sleeping if they are jack hammering a floor or two above you! I will not ever recommend thus hotel to anyone and urge you not to stay here, I checked prices and there are SEVERAL hotels on the riverwalk for the same price some a little cheaper that have better parking prices and from the pictures much nicer rooms! I am also not just someone complaining I have not asked for anything for my trouble. Nore have I been offered any thing/reason to return! If you are by chance hotel staff and you have questions I was in 525 on 8/4 just to verify.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank TJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-KevinLatone, General Manager at Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
TJ Rainwater,
I certainly understand your frustration regarding your experience. I truly appreciate your taking the time to share it with me, I only wish I could have been a part of the solution to resolving when you were still a guest of our hotel. I will send you a private message.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pflugerville, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

After reading the reviews on this hotel I was skeptical but decided to give it a try. I was very pleasantly surprised. Stayed for two nights on the 21st floor newly renovated room was very nice and clean. The air conditioning could have worked better the room was comfortable but it never got really cold! Nice pool but the hot tub was full of kids that were not in there with parental supervision. In the past most hotels post a sign that no one under 16 be in the hot tub without adult supervision. I think the kids thought it was there own baby pool!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise and nicer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-KevinLatone, General Manager at Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
I was happy to hear you enjoyed the newly renovated guestrooms. I apologize for all the kids in the whirlpool affecting your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 356 in San Antonio
3,052 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 356 in San Antonio
3,727 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#18 of 356 in San Antonio
3,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 111 E Pecan St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1530 (Formerly Crowne Plaza San Antonio Riverwalk)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk ***Centrally located on the historic Riverwalk*** Enjoy all the excitement, charm and culture of San Antonio while at the Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk hotel, a AAA 4-diamond hotel. Enjoy all the amenities of a full service hotels with the convenience of being near AT&T, Frost Bank, Toyota, Boeing, General Electric and USAA. The hotel is within walking distance of the Alamo, Hemisfair Park and Tower, El Mercado Marketplace, the San Antonio Convention Center and the RiverCenter Mall. We are a short drive to Fiesta Texas, the Six Flags Amusement Park, Sea World, Schlitterbahn Water Park, the San Antonio Missions and the San Marcos Outlet Center. In addition the hotel is conveniently located to Brooks Army Base, Kelly Air Force Base, Randolph, Lackland and Ft. Sam Houston bases. This 410-room hotel features 37,000 square feet of meeting space, with a grand ballroom and exhibit hall. All rooms are wired with high-speed Internet access with WiFi (wireless) access in the public areas. We feature valet and self parking for all guests and meeting attendees. The hotel features a roof top pool, sauna, whirlpool and a complimentary full fitness center. We are a 'pet friendly' hotel; please go to hotel features for additional information and fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Crowne Plaza
Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing