We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations for a great price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #90 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Exceeded our expectations for a great price!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We were extremely concerned after reading several negative reviews on Priceline and TripAdvisor about this hotel but to our surprise we had a very very good experience here. Although the outside looked a little dirty and dated, the inside had a much more contemporary feel. The lobby, bar, and restaurant were very clean and the staff at the check-in desk were nice and friendly. We were not required to pay valet parking or self parking fees like many hotels who make this a requirement for staying with them. We were able to find a parking lot 2 blocks away that only charged $6 per day. From top to bottom the hotel was really clean and the rooms were very nice and well kept. Room accommodations and amenities were sufficient with a very comfortable bed, lots of pillows, and a nice sized HD flat screen TV with many options for entertainment. The AC could have worked a little better as we kept it on 65 degrees but the room temp usually hovered around 75 degrees. Of course, this was in the middle of a hot Texas summer, so guess that can be expected. We never experienced any of the problems some of the negative reviewers mentioned such as being able to hear everything from neighboring rooms, bad smells, dirty rooms, or unfriendly staff. This location is definitely on the Riverwalk but you do have about a 5-8 minute walk along the river to get to the more popular restaurants and shops. As far as location we still rate this very high because almost all the downtown attractions and entertainment venues were within a few blocks and no farther than a 15-20 minute walk. As with all downtown metropolitan tourist areas there were several homeless loitering along Pecan Street and other streets in the area but most of them were friendly as well and took a "no" very well and moved on. All in all, our expectations were definitely exceeded and we had an very very good experience here.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a great view but make sure to get a room facing the river and downtown. Also, sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-KevinLatone, General Manager at Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Kelly C.,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with Wyndham. It was great to hear your raving comments. I look forward to sharing them with our team. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    627
    534
    270
    144
See reviews for
566
452
35
898
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My wife an I stayed here for 2 nights. The staff was great, they noticed we were on a romantic stay and bumped us to the top floor facing the Riverwalk. The hotel was good although a little out of date. A few renovations would really spruce the place up. The buffet is definitely worth it. The staff was very helpful, they copped the self parking and helped us with our activities for our stay. The only downside is no free Wifi. Its priced per day per device. But you're not there for the internet. The portion of the riverwalk with the restaurants is a little bit of a walk but well worth the tranquility of the walk. It was overall a great stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-KevinLatone, General Manager at Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Victor C.,
I was glad to hear you had a great visit with us at Wyndham. I appreciate you mentioning the exceptional breakfast buffettyou enjoyed. Chef Lopez recently added some additional offers, and guests are loving the positive changes. If you sign up to become a Wyndham Rewards, guestroom internet is free on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed for three nights / 2 days. 21st floor, newly renovated. In the halls there were several plastic corner protectors coming off the walls. looked a little shoddy. Our bath room floor looked quite worn and door to bath wouldn't shut all the way. water never really got hot in shower. towels looked worn also with left over stains that I guess they were not able to get out. It was quiet and bed was comfortable, could have had firmer pillows. for the price of the room, no. I don't see us going back. one note to others. if you want to see the river walk,great, but stay along the river walk, we walked the streets to go to get something to eat.(short cut) I wouldn't recommend it. lots of rough looking people and had some asking for money. they keep them off the river walk.

Room Tip: we chose the room closer to the top floors, those were renovated already.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindySG429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-KevinLatone, General Manager at Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
CindySG429,
Thank you for your detailed comments regarding your visit. I appreciate you noticed that you received a renovated guestroom. A few corner guards were not holding glue well, and we corrected when these challenges were presented. The flooring in the bathroom is 4 inch tile and is subject to personal preference. Occasionally, guests have a challenge with the use of the faucets to adjust water temperature. I apologize for your not having hot water, but also want to ensure you we did not have other reports of this, so it appears it was an isolated problem. We make mistakes and are not perfect, the stained towel was clearly an oversight on our part. This should have been caught in our laundry area. I am hopeful you spoke to our staff when you were a guest of ours, and we were able to assist you to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anson, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Hotel is nice and big and rooms are a good size. Beds are very comfortable. Pool is amazing at night and view is nice from room and pool. Only negative would be internet , no free wifi and parking is pricey. But overall great stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-KevinLatone, General Manager at Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Sandra H.,
I was glad to hear you had a great stay with us at Wyndham. It was a pleasure to hear you enjoyed our terrific pool and spa services. If you sign up for Wyndham Rewards your internet will be FREE next visit with us. As a point of reference, our parking fees are actually one of the most modest of downtown hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

we went back to San Antonio and stayed in this hotel again and i must say that we were ...OOOWWWWWW great job in the renovated rooms....the room was clean and hallways did nott look dark and not cleaned the hotel looked really clean . my wife loved the extra room provided by the new shower rod. my experience was OUT OF THIS WORLD.....thank you to housekeeping for putting up with the mess my kids made while there, the lady who cleaned our was very friendly and polite and acted quick in any request we had....the breakfast at the restaurant was to die for, great upgrade on the food selection. We will be coming back !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcusking736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-KevinLatone, General Manager at Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
marcuslin736,
It was great having you back as a return guest.
I was glad you were able to enjoy our newly renovated rooms and that you enjoyed them.
We will have all our rooms renovated by the end of October.
I was delighted you recognized the AWESOME upgrade to our breakfast buffet.
Thank you for recognizing our housekeeper as having provided good service and having cleaned up after your kids.

Come on back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Rene Ochoa was our waiter in the restaurant and was AWESOME and the food was great too. The young lady, Melody Cook, who checked us in was also AWESOME. They both went above and beyond to make my families stay comfortable and a happy one. All of the staff at this hotel is very nice and make sure that you feel welcomed and special. Hotel itself had some disappointments but the GREAT STAFF made up for the bad. I love how they made us feel special.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-KevinLatone, General Manager at Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Nancy H.,
Thank you for sharing your recent comments from your visit with us at Wyndham. I was delighted you felt we had a great staff. I was also happy you singled out both Melody and Rene specifically, as having been particularly helpful. I look forward to mentioning this to them later today.Feel free to email me at Kevin.Latone@sawyn.com if you would like to share any other observations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The Wyndham on the San Antonio Riverwalk was an excellent hotel to visit with friends. We stayed one night and the room was on the 17 floor and had just been renovated. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and we all slept great. On check-in John W. helped our friends get a room on the same floor with us and was very helpful. The morning breakfast buffet was excellent and Irene who served us was very friendly and prompt with service.

Room Tip: higher floors all renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-KevinLatone, General Manager at Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Judy W.,
Thank you for sharing the positive comments from your visit with Wyndham. I am glad you enjoyed our renovated rooms and the breakfast buffet. I appreciate your mentioning both John W and Irene as having provided superior service. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,056 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 111 E Pecan St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1530 (Formerly Crowne Plaza San Antonio Riverwalk)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk ***Centrally located on the historic Riverwalk*** Enjoy all the excitement, charm and culture of San Antonio while at the Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk hotel, a AAA 4-diamond hotel. Enjoy all the amenities of a full service hotels with the convenience of being near AT&T, Frost Bank, Toyota, Boeing, General Electric and USAA. The hotel is within walking distance of the Alamo, Hemisfair Park and Tower, El Mercado Marketplace, the San Antonio Convention Center and the RiverCenter Mall. We are a short drive to Fiesta Texas, the Six Flags Amusement Park, Sea World, Schlitterbahn Water Park, the San Antonio Missions and the San Marcos Outlet Center. In addition the hotel is conveniently located to Brooks Army Base, Kelly Air Force Base, Randolph, Lackland and Ft. Sam Houston bases. This 410-room hotel features 37,000 square feet of meeting space, with a grand ballroom and exhibit hall. All rooms are wired with high-speed Internet access with WiFi (wireless) access in the public areas. We feature valet and self parking for all guests and meeting attendees. The hotel features a roof top pool, sauna, whirlpool and a complimentary full fitness center. We are a 'pet friendly' hotel; please go to hotel features for additional information and fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Crowne Plaza
Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing