We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Ranked #42 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Good location and quiet”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I think the best thing about this hotel is its location. Easy access to the freeway, offering fast in and out, either east or west on I-10 without the traffic noise that often comes with a similar location. We like the low profile layout and the rooms and grounds are well maintained with courteous staff at check in. There's the usual frozen (but heated) food for the morning “breakfast” but the attendants do their best to make it seem as special as they can.

Room Tip: Plan your time to avoid the morning and evening traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAA-AV8R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Residence Inn Alamo Plaza. Also, thank you for taking the time to complete a review from your stay. You point of the ease of getting to and from all the highways is spot on, thanks for bringing that feature of our hotel to light. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Dusty Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    196
    53
    11
    8
See reviews for
234
94
23
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Our recent trip to San Antonio was really fun, but the Residence Inn Alamo Plaza/Downtown was the best. The staff was very helpful, the room was very accommodating and the food was very tasty. It was like being at home, with all the comforts. The next time we are in San Antonio, we know where we are going to stay…Residence Inn Alamo Plaza/Downtown
Thank you and keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Any room you pick will be great. The upper floors have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for this very kind review. San Antonio is a completely different city with many other entertainment options in the summer than in the winter. Please come back and stay with us again! Thanks for staying with us on your last trip to the Alamo city!

Dusty Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Large clean room with amenities typical of a Residence Inn, very quiet (we were on 13th floor facing downtown/Alamo, in a 1 br suite), internet and decent breakfast inclusive, happy hour with beer/wine and finger food, very friendly staff, what more to ask for...except maybe for the very expensive ($24/day) parking - but this is true of any downtown SA hotel I've stayed in.

Note: You can walk to all downtown area attractions from here.
Highly recommended for family vacation!

Room Tip: nice view on higher floors (10 - 13) facing downtown/Alamo
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsafiriTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for your very kind and helpful review. Please come back and see us again soon. Thank you for staying with us!

Sincerely

Dusty Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

As part of our family holiday this December, we wanted a downtown hotel location and the Residence Inn proved to be a winner.

It is close to the Alamo as well as less historic locations did the AMC Cinema and Maceys.

Great rooms with a deal including a reduced parking fee, normally $24, which is a bit steep.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewtmarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for this kind review. Although not on the riverwalk, we are within 1 block of the Alamo, 2 blocks from the Riverwalk, and 3 blocks from the Convention Center. 7/10's of a mile to the Alamo Dome. All of these things are definitely "walks" away as parking in most urban areas can be at a price and normally not that convenient. Our hotel parking is $24 per night with in and out privileges and very convenient to the hotel. The $24 price point is on the low end of the downtown spectrum. Surface lots do not allow for in and out priveliges. Thank you so much for staying with us and providing an insightful review to future travelers. I certainly appreciate you taking the time to respond.

Sincerely,

Dusty Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Ridge, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited San Antonio for a three day weekend. We chose the Residence Inn based on a combination of location -walking distance to the Riverwalk-and reviews on Trip Advisor. We were expecting to be impressed with the quality of service based on reviews.

Perhaps the front desk employees reviewed by others were off the weekend we were there, but we found the hotel to be average. The room was a basic and typical of other Residence Inn's. The bathroom was tiny but the rest of the room was bigger than an average hotel room. The front desk personnel was professional but they weren't overly helpful when we asked for directions or for their help in getting a taxi when we were going to the AT&T Center. The breakfast staff was average/typical of the chain--nothing bad but nothing extraordinary either.

Everything considered, the hotel served its purpose--a clean comfortable room. We just did not experience anything that would result in a strong recommendation. It was okay and the location was good but there are other hotels right on the Riverwalk which have an even better location.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Joseph B:

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to write the review of your stay. I apologize for our staff delivering average service and pledge to retrain or refocus our entire staff. As "extraordinary" is the goal, we failed you and we are embarrassed by your experience. As you stated most guests report a better experience and I will use your comments as a refresher to stress that we can always improve. As this forum provides anonymity, I do not know the particulars of your stay such as dates that would lead me to pinpoint a more focused training. My email address is dusty.smith@marriott.com and if you would, I would appreciate any further input you could provide.

Although our hotel is different as it is an urban, high-rise hotel, our room and bathroom layouts are very standard to most Residence Inn suites. Our hotel was completely renovated last year but it is our service that, in my estimation, sets this hotel apart. Guests are supposed to be acknowledged within 15 feet and greeted within 5 feet by all our associates. This is not supposed to be a "program" but our culture. Warm and authentic hospitality is definitely our goal. Your very positive reviews of Boudro's and the Japanese Tea Gardens were spot on. If coming back to San Antonio, please allow us another chance to provide great guest service.

Sincerely,

Dusty Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humble, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times during the Texas Bandmasters and Texas Music Educators Convention. I have no complaints whatsoever besides the expensieve valet parking. The hotel is nice, walking distance from everything fun, decent price, great location.

I love this hotel and everytime I visit countdown city, this is my first choice to stay in.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keavon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us these multiple times. We certainly appreciate the opportunity to host you on your visits to San Antonio. Please come back and stay with us again. Thanks so much for writing this kind review.

Sincerely,

Dusty Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Was there in September for ongoing training for my job, and it was awesome. Stayed in a one bedroom suite that was larger than my first apartment. It has recently been remodled so it is absolutely beautiful. Breakfast was the full spread with bacon, eggs, sausage, waffles - I was there for 5 days and don't think I tried everything, I did gain 10 pounds though. They are only 5 minutes from the Alamo and about 7 minutes to San Antonios famous Riverwalk. Management there was absolutely phenomenal. Would definitely be my first choice in the San Antonio area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tmh122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you very much for this very kind review. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to write this review and also for staying at our hotel. Please come back soon!

Dusty Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Crockett Hotel
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
1,941 reviews
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Property: Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Address: 425 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2011
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#21 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#35 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Antonio hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza Hotel San Antonio
Residence Inn Alamo Plaza
San Antonio Residence Inn
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing