We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crockett Hotel(San Antonio)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk(San Antonio)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Menger Hotel(San Antonio)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (680)
Filter reviews
680 results
Traveller rating
390
213
57
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
390
213
57
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenwafflestwo bedroom suitemon wedthe river walktwo blocksminute walkthe breakfast areaconvention centerfree breakfastself parkingsofa bedhotel is greatconvenient locationliving areariverwalk areahot breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
359 - 364 of 680 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this location for two weeks. Location could not have been any better. As someone who stays almost exclusively at Hilton properties this place was great. From a few happy hours a week to the breakfast the effort put into catering to customers was second to none. The gym facilities are decent and the pool was great to relax by after a long day. Next time in town I will pick this paces to stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank goodislife2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichole F, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you so much for your great feedback of our hotel! We appreciate your kind words and look forward to serving you again the next time you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I really enjoyed seeing the staff greet and talk to people as guests enter the breakfast area. Most of the time you see staff hide in the back either gossiping or eating food themselves. Everything else was what you expect from a Residence Inn. The hotel is close to everything but just not in the heart of everything which was fine for me.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Glen H:

Thank you for staying with us at the Residence Inn Alamo Plaza and thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. Your description of our location is, in my opinion, spot on. One block to the Alamo, 2 blocks to the River Walk, and 3 blocks from the Convention Center as well as easy access to Highway 281, Interstate 10, Interstate 35, and Interstate 37 makes our location ideal. Not on the Riverwalk, but oh so close. Thanks for pointing out our attempt at keeping a managment staff presence during peak times. I hope that we were able to assist.

Thanks again for the review!

Sincerely,

Dusty Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

About a block from the Alamo. And a few minutes more to the river walk. So less expensive. No restaurants nearby, but plenty at river walk and surrounding area. We had a car so could drive to sites etc. clean, very nice staff and good complimentary breakfast. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for view of the city
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachRock77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichole F, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and got to see some of the great sites that our city has to offer! We look forward to having you with us again soon and thank you for your loyalty to Marriott!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend in San Antonio. We have stayed in a few Residence Inn's and being honest this one, wasn't up to the standard of some of the others.
The positives
Great location, good sized rooms, friendly staff, accommodated our room preferences, decent breakfast included.
The negatives
Parking fees were extremely high, the towels in the bedroom were quite rough, the air con was extremely noisy and the toilet flushing/refilling noise was on a par with Niagara falls! (Possibly a slight exaggeration but you could not flush the toilet during the night without waking everyone else in the room)
I'll still happily go back to other Residence Inn's but this one was just about OK.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Travellover6128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichole F, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Residence Inn Alamo Plaza. Also thank you very much for posting your experience on TripAdvisor. We want to be everyone's favorite Residence Inn and are disappointed that we didn't exceed your expectations. I will look into the quality of our bathroom terry and ensure linen is discarded appropriately. Also my apologies for the volume if our toilet flushing mechanisms. Some are louder than others and I realize they are not quiet.

Please give us another chance and thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Loved everything about this hotel. We were two guys in town for the NCAA men's basketball regional tournament. We had a two bedroom suite which was terrific.

What I really, really appreciated about the Residence Inn Downtown was the size of the dining area. The breakfast buffet was plentiful. While there were many other hotel guests in the dining room, it was never difficult to find a place to sit. Tables are plentiful without being crowded in. Big thumbs up to dining room design.

The Alamo is a 5 minute walk away. The river walk is about an 8 minute walk. This is a terrific location to explore downtown San Antonio and the Riverwalk. Room rate didn't break the bank.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BUBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DustySmith, General Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear BUBear:

Thank you for staying with us during the NCAA basketball tournament. Also, thank you for taking the time to complete this TripAdvisor review. Our hotel was completely renovated rrecently with the project finished in 2012. At the time of renovation our seating area was expanded from 67 seats to 99 seats. With a little creativity, we are now able tom comfortalbly seat around 110 guests. This has made an area that could get congested often much more managealbe.

Thanks again for staying with us and now that you have stayed with us in early Spring, please come and see all that the San Antonio area has to offer in other seasons!

Thanks agan!

Dusty Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews