We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Texas at it's best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #61 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed at Hotel Indigo Riverwalk in December, so the Texas Christmas cheer was everwhere! We walked down the Riverwalk beneath the beautiful holiday lights and enjoyed the festive energy. The rooms were fabulously decorated and the bed was really comfortable. The Phi Burger in the restaurant was excellent. We were welcomed by the general manager, Eric who made us feel right at home. A great San Antonio option if you're looking for a cozy upscale boutique walking distance to fun activities.

Room Tip: As for a Riverwalk view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DazzlinSmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

796 - 802 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2011

The Indigo Hotel on the Riverwalk is a great place to stay in San Antonio. It is close enough to walk to downtown without being in the middle of all the hustle and bustle. Even walking back late at night, I felt safe. The staff was great, especially Melanie who was extremely helpful with directions and dining recommendations. Rooms were very clean and well kept. My only complaint is that the restaurant in the lobby has quick food to go but it is way too expensive. There is place called Lulu's that is a couple of blocks away. It's open 24 hours and serves breakfast until 11am. If you go, go hungry b/c the food is plentiful (especially the 3# cinnamon rolls!). All in all, I would highly recommend the Indigo Hotel Riverwalk (not to be confused with the one at the Alamo).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lldoglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

This hotel is on the river walk which we enjoyed. It was however a fairly long walk to the active, restaurant portion of the riverwlk. The room was nice and the bed very comfortable. The hotel was very clean and the staff friendly. The rating I saw on the internet was a 4 star rating; I thought that was too high. I felt like 21/2 to 3 stars would have been appropriate.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DDavidATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Terrific stay. However, don't be alarmed by your first impression that this hotel is not in a very good area. It looks a bit industrial with warehouses and a few decrepit buildings. The area was safe, however. It is just North of all the commotion and excitement of the riverwalk and a short walk (15 minutes) to the "gay strip." It is also a pleasant 10-15 walk to the main tourist area of town, and the riverwalk is by and large well lit at night. The room was nice, although it would've been nicer if we had gotten one of the rooms with balconies overlooking the riverwalk. The rooms are large with nice paintings on the wall. The bathroom was small but pleasant. Great vanity, lighting. It would've been nice if the shower had glass all around instead of half glass, half curtain, which got in the way of showering. The TV was superb - large, great sound, great channel selection. The beds were very comfy. The gym was small but had some cardio equipment, very limited weights with only one combo weight machine. Parking was close by and convenient. Wifi is free throughout the hotel. The coffee/tea bar was very handy to have on-site. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dnpinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

The rooms were nice. Location average. Service poor. Overall an average stay at an average hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

the hotel location is on a scenic part of the riverwalk, but about 15 minutes away from the main section of walk, where restaurants and bars are. It's a great area for jogging or walking, since this part of the walk is not densely developed. The walk appears safe after dark and is well landscaped and has a good view of the locks on the river. Getting back to the hotel, there is a nice patio on the river, but a glass of wine was $10 at the bar and restaurant. A hamburger was $12. For these prices, I expected better quality and quantity. The hotel is new, bright, colorful, and well designed. Rooms are large, comfortable, and make you feel like inviting friends over for a marguerita (not from the bar). Service is friendly and parking is reasonable at $13 with easy access. This is a unique, enjoyable hotel on a calm less touristy part of the river. Just don't eat there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank thewac0kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Indigo. They have kept some of the original building which makes it an unique hotel. I liked the way the room was decorated and I appreciated the Aveda products in the bathroom. Great located and staff was very friendly. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Atexas_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,112 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
1,147 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
3,137 reviews
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 830 N Saint Marys St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1306 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#67 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#72 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £90 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome the Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, an intriguing branded boutique hotel delivering peace and renewal to people who are tired of mundane cookie-cutter hotels. Meandering along the threshold of the Riverwalk in the downtown area you will find yourself close by the Museum of Art, Alamo, El Mercado, Southwest School of Arts & Crafts, Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, Alamodome, Municipal Auditorium, and Majestic Theater. Local businesses include AT&T, Baptist Hospital, Methodist Healthcare Systems, Fort Sam Houston, Brooke Army Medical Center, Kelly USA, and Lackland AFB. Imagine a 100% smoke free, sophisticated boutique hotel, whose focus is delivering guest peace, serenity and renewal. Experience true Texas hospitality at this jewel just a short stroll to restaurants and bars. Hotel Indigo offers a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets, pillow shams and fluffy pillows. Complimentary WiFi is at your fingertips. Relax and enjoy our Bridges Bar & Bistro for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew coffee from a local company. The Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a fitness center, pool and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites San Antonio
San Antonio Hawthorn Suites
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing