We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly inexpensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #51 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
191 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Amazingly inexpensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I especially like the southwestern style art and decor. I also like that I can easily park my car across the street and I'm only about a block from the river walk. My room was fresh and clean, linens clean, I had a great view of the river walk, and a living room area and kitchen. They have a nice bar area and an outdoor patio area for having drinks. Breakfast is made to order and I had delicious breakfast tacos and juice. A great deal and a great experience.

Room Tip: Upstairs with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the unique flare the hotel design holds. Our patio overlooking the Riverwalk is something we always recommend our guest to visit. We definitely hope to see you here with us again on you next trip to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    307
    128
    52
    35
See reviews for
226
302
24
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
268 reviews
252 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is a Good property and the first time I have stayed at an Indigo Hotel (ihg brand). I think it is priced a little bit over what it needs to be given its proximity on the riverwalk but this is really a minor point and I might be being too cost conscious. The brand seems to be the IHG brands attempt to be more European and more Boutique. I think they do a decent job. The staff overall with pleasant and helpful and the property seems to be maintained adequately. The propety on the backside facing the riverwalk is a bit of an oasis in the city and is a nice space. The front side faces some pretty run down elements but they have done a good job to put a decent amount of frontage so you feel like you are in a hacienda set up.

If you want to walk to the main part of the Riverwalk and Alamo give yourself about 8-10 minutes.

I rented a car and parked across the street in the hotel property for $13 a day.

The internet WIFI was free but was god awful slow in the room (at least mine).

Ate in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner one time each and the food was average and the prices I felt were too high compared to what you could get elsewhere.

Room Amenities were good. Coffee maker, refrig, hair dryer, toiletries.

Only negative comment was that the door leading to the room looked like it had been tampered with. The points around deadbolt from the outside looked like a tool had been used and the screws holding in the plate where the bolt slides in was loose. That did not given me a very comfortable feeling and I made a comment to the front desk that they probably should have this looked at.

Otherwise - Solid stay, would stay here again.

Room Tip: I would choose a different room other than rm 310. There are rooms overlooking the riverwalk and po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcmurrytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We just stayed the one night, but I wish it were longer.
The colors were vibrant oranges and blues with soothing natural touches like faux grass and stump tables.
Our riverwalk room had a balcony, river rock wall, a sink at the bar/coffee/fridge area, and cool sitting area.
The hotel is not large which means the small pool is sufficient and intimate. River taxi pick up right at hotel's stairs.
Very chill bar, super friendly staff.
Watch out-all windows and balconies actually open!
Negative- only showers (i like a good bath after walking the riverwalk).
Interesting- I also like to stay across the street at El Tropicano (also riverwalk) and their price is much less, but Indigo is definitely more affordable than most riverwalk hotels for sure.
Super Plus- wood floors, no icky carpet!
All in all, I will probably be back :-)

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ladynfamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

To cut down on hotel costs, we stayed at the Hotel Indigo Riverwalk instead of one of the costlier hotels that are in the main area of the Riverwalk. The Hotel Indigo Riverwalk is only a 1 mile (20 minute) walk along the beautiful Riverwalk to the main area of shopping/bars/restaurants. We were happy to get some exercise this way, along with saving some cash, and enjoy the peacefulness and beauty of the Riverwalk along the way.

Upon arrival, the hotel has a small circular driveway. Parking is across the street. We were promptly checked in (early) by a very helpful and friendly front desk host. Because it was early afternoon, we were able to park our car pretty close in the small lot across the street. Later in our stay when we'd venture out, we'd realize that the close lot fills up pretty quickly and there are other surrounding lots to park in. Thankfully, the parking permit has a map of all of these; it was really useful!

The hotel is very modern looking inside, from the lobby to the rooms. We were pleasantly surprised at how big our hotel room was, even with a king-size bed. There was a large-screen TV, and even a mini fridge, sink, counter, and a Keurig machine with complimentary coffee pods in our "standard" room. The ceilings were very high. The floors were wooden. The bed was SO comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful and spacious with tile and marble. I never wanted to get out of the shower; it felt so luxurious. My only disappointment was the AC unit that was right by my side of the bed. It was 90+ degrees out, so we had the AC on, but it would blow directly on me while sleeping. It would have been better if I could angle the air upwards. I had to put up a barricade. LOL

Although we never used the hotel restaurant, bar, outdoor lounge area, or swimming pool, they all looked very nice. Every time I stopped by the front desk with a question, I always received a lot of help and friendly service, no matter who was working that day.

You can access the Riverwalk by passing through the restaurant, through the outdoor lounge area, and down the stairs. It was right there! Turning right, we could head to the downtown area. Turning left, we could walk past the locks, the museum, and up to the Pearl District where we discovered the Culinary Institute, their weekend farmer's market, and the amazing restaurant options. It was a quiet, clean, safe walk and we got to see some beautiful sights.

I'd stay at the Hotel Indigo Riverwalk again during a future visit to San Antonio. It provides the convenience and beauty of the Riverwalk without the higher cost. What's a 20-minute walk along a beautiful pathway?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eak321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
WOW! We are really excited to hear that you were able to fully experience everything that our hotel and neighborhood has to offer. We are glad to hear that you were able to head over to the Pearl Brewery and browse the Farmers Market they host. We certainly cannot wait to have you back with us on your next trip to San Antonio! Thank you for staying with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The day my party checked in, the manager on duty was named Michael. They had mixed up our room number & credit card info at check in, so we came back down to the front desk to get it sorted out. No one in my party was angry, we just needed it to be fixed to be able to get into our room. Michael straightened out the mix-up, but he was EXTREMELY rude. He treated us as if we were being aggressive when everyone was totally calm. When one of my guests was calmly telling him what she should be charged for, Michael raised his hand to her face and told her to "Simmer." Overall, the hotel was fine but the customer service was infuriating.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hg1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time out to review. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences throughout your stay. We strive to provide the best service possible and it seems as though we fell short on that. We will be passing this information on to our department heads and addressing this issue immediately to ensure that this does not happen again. We certainly hope you give us a chance to really wow you on any future trips to San Antonio. As always thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is not a 5 star hotel and does not pretend too. Very well located 15 minutes walk from restaurants and bars. good service. very good breakfast. rooms are good, neat and clean. Especially for people who doesn't know much about San Antonio this will be a good start to experience it.

Room Tip: a view to river best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R2ro55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We definitely agree on us being a good location for your first time to San Antonio as we are not so much in the middle of all the hustle and bustle of downtown but just away enough to enjoy the more serene areas of the Riverwalk. We do hope to see you in the future and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Hotel Indigo is located on the River-walk...however it is not near all of the pubs restaurants , it is north of these about 20 to 25 minute walk...the rooms are a bit dated but not too bad, staff is very helpful and parking convenient. If you want to save some money, I would consider this hotel, if you want to be closer to the pubs...I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. As we are a bit on the northern end of the Riverwalk it does take a walk to get to the center of downtown Riverwalk however we always suggest our guest walk the river for a more serene walk with photo ops and to take everything in. The City also provides a river taxi that picks up right behind our hotel making it a short ride to the nightlife scene. We sure hope to see you again on any future trips and thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,042 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,897 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 830 N. St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#67 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#72 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome the Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, an intriguing branded boutique hotel delivering peace and renewal to people who are tired of mundane cookie-cutter hotels. Meandering along the threshold of the Riverwalk in the downtown area you will find yourself close by the Museum of Art, Alamo, El Mercado, Southwest School of Arts & Crafts, Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, Alamodome, Municipal Auditorium, and Majestic Theater. Local businesses include AT&T, Baptist Hospital, Methodist Healthcare Systems, Fort Sam Houston, Brooke Army Medical Center, Kelly USA, and Lackland AFB. Imagine a 100% smoke free, sophisticated boutique hotel, whose focus is delivering guest peace, serenity and renewal. Experience true Texas hospitality at this jewel just a short stroll to restaurants and bars. Hotel Indigo offers a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets, pillow shams and fluffy pillows. Complimentary WiFi is at your fingertips. Relax and enjoy our Bridges Bar & Bistro for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew coffee from a local company. The Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a fitness center, pool and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites San Antonio
San Antonio Hawthorn Suites
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing