We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #46 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Pontoon Beach, Illinois
1 review
“Our Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

I have never done this before, but we had such an excellent experience at this hotel I just wanted to share!! The staff is amazing!! The rooms clean!! Can't wait to return. Certainly top notch! Bravo!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyMH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
First and foremost Happy Anniversary from our team to both of you!! We are so happy you were able to enjoy yourselves during your stay with us for such a memorable day! Thank you for your review and we definitely hope to see you here again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    306
    128
    52
    35
See reviews for
226
302
24
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
160 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Loved the Keurig in my room and the unique and contemporary décor. Bathrooms were great! I had a beautiful room overlooking the back patio and river. Room service food and dining in the restaurant were great, menu fresh and represented some great local cuisine. Very good and convenient grab-n-go offerings in the restaurant for after hours which was perfect when we got in late at night. Loved this hotel and the friendly staff!

Room Tip: Really enjoyed the room overlooking the river walk. You can walk along the river all the way throug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jardindemichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank yo so much for your review! We are so glad you were able to enjoy all of the wonderful aspect of our hotel! The beauty about Hotel Indigo brand is that no 2 Hotel Indigo are exactly alike. Every property will follow a different design concept. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and experience Hotel Indigo and we definitely hope to see you with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This was my first visit to San Antonio and my first experience staying at the Hotel Indigo anywhere. My compliments to Alex who made check in a breeze even though we needed two rooms, but only had reservations showing for 1. The complimentary drinks and breakfast was appreicated, but the "All American" breakfast leaves much to be desired. The bartender treated us very well. The weather was cold, but I still enjoyed the river taxi ride down to the restaurant area.

The room was huge and warm. The only issue I have is with the clock radio showing the incorrect time and not being able to reset it. I have seen radios before that are supposed to be self setting. Only thing is, they do no self set.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank yo so much for your review! We are pleased to hear that our Front Desk Team was able to assist you on what we are sure was a stressful situation. We strive everyday to provide the best customer service possible and your input will be shared to all our team to ensure recognition and issues be addressed. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

The location and accomodations make this a superb hotel, however, the staff made the experience even more special. Amy and David at the front desk made check in nearly effortless. Their welcoming spirit was what I needed after driving six hours. Patrick, Mikayla, and Francisco in the restaurant made me and my family feel as if we were VIP guests. I'm definitely going to spread the word about Hotel Indigo in San Antonio.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are spacious. Ask for an upgrade so your room overlooks the River Walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
WOW! Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! We are always inspired by our guest and their feedback. We are definitely going to be sharing this with our team to recognize all of their efforts. We are very happy you were able to enjoy every aspect of your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you for choosing to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level Contributor
260 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Indeed it is a vibrantly coloured hotel but it is an average hotel. Yes it is on the Riverwalk but quite a long way from the restaurants. Our room did face the river and a construction site as well so sitting out on the balcony was unpleasant. The table out on the balcony was torn and unsightly, the roof leaked and the paneling along the edge was cracked and torn. Not a pretty sight at all. The room was clean with clean linens and towels and housekeeping did a good job of cleaning it.
There is not much else going for this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 327,329,328 - they face the construction and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JYPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We do apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We are addressing all issues stated. It is with reviews such as this that we are able to provide our guest with great hotels guest love. We definitely hope you are able to give us another chance in the future to really wow you and of course thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
191 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I especially like the southwestern style art and decor. I also like that I can easily park my car across the street and I'm only about a block from the river walk. My room was fresh and clean, linens clean, I had a great view of the river walk, and a living room area and kitchen. They have a nice bar area and an outdoor patio area for having drinks. Breakfast is made to order and I had delicious breakfast tacos and juice. A great deal and a great experience.

Room Tip: Upstairs with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the unique flare the hotel design holds. Our patio overlooking the Riverwalk is something we always recommend our guest to visit. We definitely hope to see you here with us again on you next trip to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
266 reviews
250 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is a Good property and the first time I have stayed at an Indigo Hotel (ihg brand). I think it is priced a little bit over what it needs to be given its proximity on the riverwalk but this is really a minor point and I might be being too cost conscious. The brand seems to be the IHG brands attempt to be more European and more Boutique. I think they do a decent job. The staff overall with pleasant and helpful and the property seems to be maintained adequately. The propety on the backside facing the riverwalk is a bit of an oasis in the city and is a nice space. The front side faces some pretty run down elements but they have done a good job to put a decent amount of frontage so you feel like you are in a hacienda set up.

If you want to walk to the main part of the Riverwalk and Alamo give yourself about 8-10 minutes.

I rented a car and parked across the street in the hotel property for $13 a day.

The internet WIFI was free but was god awful slow in the room (at least mine).

Ate in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner one time each and the food was average and the prices I felt were too high compared to what you could get elsewhere.

Room Amenities were good. Coffee maker, refrig, hair dryer, toiletries.

Only negative comment was that the door leading to the room looked like it had been tampered with. The points around deadbolt from the outside looked like a tool had been used and the screws holding in the plate where the bolt slides in was loose. That did not given me a very comfortable feeling and I made a comment to the front desk that they probably should have this looked at.

Otherwise - Solid stay, would stay here again.

Room Tip: I would choose a different room other than rm 310. There are rooms overlooking the riverwalk and po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcmurrytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,034 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 830 N. St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#67 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#72 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome the Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, an intriguing branded boutique hotel delivering peace and renewal to people who are tired of mundane cookie-cutter hotels. Meandering along the threshold of the Riverwalk in the downtown area you will find yourself close by the Museum of Art, Alamo, El Mercado, Southwest School of Arts & Crafts, Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, Alamodome, Municipal Auditorium, and Majestic Theater. Local businesses include AT&T, Baptist Hospital, Methodist Healthcare Systems, Fort Sam Houston, Brooke Army Medical Center, Kelly USA, and Lackland AFB. Imagine a 100% smoke free, sophisticated boutique hotel, whose focus is delivering guest peace, serenity and renewal. Experience true Texas hospitality at this jewel just a short stroll to restaurants and bars. Hotel Indigo offers a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets, pillow shams and fluffy pillows. Complimentary WiFi is at your fingertips. Relax and enjoy our Bridges Bar & Bistro for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew coffee from a local company. The Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a fitness center, pool and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites San Antonio
San Antonio Hawthorn Suites
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing