We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Subpar indigo due to poor service ” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #54 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Clinton, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Subpar indigo due to poor service ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Don't know where to start....On a cross country drive and we were really looking forward to our stay at hotel indigo. Have stayed at a hotel indigo before and had a great experience. In general, this hotel had the look and feel of the hotel indigo chain, but lacked in the customer service and restaurant areas which are typically strengths of indigo.

Pluses:
- aesthetics were great - everything inside was really nice
- great bath products - Aveda
- close to the riverwalk

Minuses:
- close to riverwalk, but neighborhood isn't very nice. Building across the street was vacant and boarded up.
- parking was a little pricey and across the street. Looked more expensive than the lot next door.
- stayed 2 nights and didn't need our sheets changed, etc, but simply needed coupes towels, trash taken out, and more shampoo. We had to ask 3 times over a 5 hour period before they did it.
- Bar - went to bar to order a drink. The bar was pretty empty and bartender was having a social conversation with a guy there. Had to interrupt the conversation to order. Overall, server was indifferent.
- restaurant: clearly labeled that they are open for service at 6:30 am Monday-Friday. At 6:45 am, husband went out to order food so we could eat while packing up and the person there said they wouldn't be ready until 7 (for reference, traveling with a baby and had 8 hours of driving ahead of us, so time is valuable). Went back to order food around 7:30 when we were almost done packing up. Waited at the counter for a couple minutes and no one was there. One chef walked by, asked if I needed anything, he then sent another chef out to take my order (eggs, bacon, toast, and potatoes, and an order of oatmeal) to go. After ordering a family came to eat. There was still no one in sight who worked there. Told the dad there was a menu on the counter and they sat down. After about 3 minutes, an employee went to the register and I told her I thought the family needed to be helped (because no one was around and she didn't look and register there were people there...). Continued to wait for over 20 minutes for my food. While waiting had to ask to pay so we could leave quickly. Dropped baby off at room after a while, returned to wait, after a minute or so, asked if our food was ready and was told it was, she just needed to get it. Finally got the food and was in two small containers - the eggs a mess and was given no bacon, as ordered and paid. Oatmeal was in a super small container and leaking. To be honest, at this point, I was clearly frustrated. Took the food back and tried to get refunded. Had checked out during the extremely long waiting period to expedite the process, so they couldn't refund me, so left the food quite ticked off. In short - restaurant a mess and overpriced. A waste of time.

Prior to this experience, I loved hotel indigo. This stay soured me on the hotel chain and I will unlikely stay at any hotel indigo again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Tastemop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback on our hotel. We want to sincerely apologize for all the issues you encountered during your stay with us. We constantly strive to provide the best service to all our guest and it seems as though we dropped the ball. We will be following up on everything that has been addressed to ensure that these issues never happen again. We understand that you have a choice in where to stay and we certainly appreciate you choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    302
    127
    52
    35
See reviews for
222
300
24
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

A quick visit to San Antonio and I discovered this gem of a hotel, located downtown, yet a mere 15-20 minute walk (on the gorgeous river walk paths) away from the hustle-bustle and craziness of the very downtown core. There's a river taxi stop right at the hotel for those that don't want to cab or walk to the very core of the city. Scenic and fun! It's safe to walk in the are, even late at night...including the river walk. Hurray, that's a nice bonus in such a nice city. :)

Beautiful large room (222 is in the back, with a HUGE balcony), overlooking the river, city, and patio was clean, modern furnishings, fun mural art and with all the extra amenities you come to expect from a hotel, including great coffee (pod coffee maker) and quality toiletries in your room. The pool is perfect place to unwind, the temperature is nice and the views are relaxing.

Kudos to James, the bar tender/host, who offered IMPECCABLE service both pool side and at the bar on the day of our visit. He was very attentive, polite, serviceable and definitely represented Indigo in a positive way. I wish more people in other hotels I've visited around the world offered this sort of outstanding service.

I will definitely stay there again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 222 - quiet, back of the hotel, overlooks the city and river, with HUGE balcony. NICE!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aconcagua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review on our hotel! We are happy to hear that James was able to go above and beyond for all our guest and definitely made an impact on your stay while here with us. We will be sharing your kind words with all our team. We understand that you have a choice on where to stay while visiting our beautiful city and we are certainly happy that you chose to stay with us. We hope to see you back with us the next time on your next visit to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Hotel Indigo Riverwalk was a nice hotel at a great value. The room was nicely recorded and clean. The hotel itself was in a good location on the Riverwalk. The water taxi had a stop outside of the hotel. It was a good walk back to the hotel from the main part of the Riverwalk which was good after eating a big meal. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself while staying here with us. Though a bit on the northern end of the riverwalk it is definitely a nice serene walk to and from the busier portion of the city. We certainly are happy you chose to stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We loved this hotel. There were 3 of us. I walked along the Riverwalk about 10 minutes to find a restaurant for all of us. The crowds on the Riverwalk make it hard to walk through the crowd on the sidewalk. After picking a few restaurants, and emailing pictures of the menus, my boyfriend picked the one he wanted. Knowing he didn't like walking through crowds, I hopped on a water taxi ($5 one way each) which I thought was a great price given the view you get without walking through the crowds. The driver asks where we are going and gets us to our hotels. I told the driver I was picking up 2 people at the hotel. But apparently, that's not how it works. Since it's one way, we needed to find a taxi going the other way. So the taxi boat radioed to find out when the next boat was coming and we got on his boat anyway going the wrong way. Then, very shortly after, an empty taxi came, so we stopped mid-river and boarded it for the same $5 each we had already paid. Very scenic ride to go to the restaurant. On the way back, we took a $6 taxi to return to the Indigo hotel because we wanted to get back faster. We were asleep by 10:00 as the hotel was quiet enough. In the morning, we had a wonderful, and very affordable breakfast under $10 each. We also had free parking and internet. Although we knew we could move our car, we had to try out the Riverwalk taxi or we would have left without one of the primary San Antonio experiences. We had a great time?

Room Tip: This hotel is 10 minutes away from the Riverwalk crowds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ledaumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review on our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you were able to utilize the River Taxis that the city offers our visitors. The crowds on the Riverwalk can get a bit overwhelming at times and the river taxi offers a more enjoyable experience and a different point of view. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we certainly hope to see you back here on your next trip to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I booked through Hotwire so I wasn't sure what I'd get, but I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel! The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, clean, and looked nice. It's a pretty quick walk to the main Riverwalk area, but it's definitely not right on the main business area. However, there are other local places nearby to check out! For example, The Brooklynite was a great place for drinks and away from the Riverwalk. They have a restaurant open for breakfast and dinner, however we did not eat there. Bathroom had Aveda products so that was a nice touch!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egott25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to hear that you were truly able to enjoy everything our hotel and neighborhood has to offer. The walk on the riverwalk is definitely something that we encourage all our guest to experience while staying with us. We wanna thank you for choosing to stay with us and we certainly hope to see you on your next trip to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Had a wonderful stay 4-30 to 5-3,2014 . clean room, great service and very friendly personell . Hotel is easy to get to with Handicap parking. The food was very good at the restaurant in the hotel. I would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review! It is with feedback such as this that truly inspires us to continue to deliver outstanding service to all guest that come through our door. We are always happy to hear that our guest enjoy their time here with us. We understand you have many options when choosing to stay here in San Antonio and we are happy you chose us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Enjoyed our stay at this super hotel. Rooms well appointed, very clean and well equipped. Enjoy a river view, but at present there is some construction work being carried out over the river walk, and when the wind blows there is plenty of dust. The river taxi stops right outside for those who don't want to walk into the centre on the river walk. Staff are friendly especially Alex and Kim, with the exception of one chef, who was full of his own self importance. We had stayed and enjoyed our breakfast over the three mornings with no hassle over choice of entrees etc, but on the last day, there was a change of staff, & when my husband asked for the usual breakfast, 2 eggs sausage and bacon, we were told we would have to pay extra for 1 strip of bacon! The chef was very rude and would not listen to what we had to say, and walked off. We were very surprised by this attitude. Gordon Ramsey he is not

Room Tip: If you have a pre-paid breakfast voucher, check first as to what you can and cannot eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonnieone55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWIndigo, Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review on the hotel. We understand that you experienced an unpleasant moment over breakfast and we will be following up to ensure that this type of situation does not happen again. We are definitely happy to hear that our Alex and Kim were able to take care of you and make your experience here with us an enjoyable one. Thank you for your sincere and honest feedback and we certainly hope to see you with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
#18 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#13 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 830 N. St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Hawthorn Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#67 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#72 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome the Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk, an intriguing branded boutique hotel delivering peace and renewal to people who are tired of mundane cookie-cutter hotels. Meandering along the threshold of the Riverwalk in the downtown area you will find yourself close by the Museum of Art, Alamo, El Mercado, Southwest School of Arts & Crafts, Rivercenter Mall, Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, Alamodome, Municipal Auditorium, and Majestic Theater. Local businesses include AT&T, Baptist Hospital, Methodist Healthcare Systems, Fort Sam Houston, Brooke Army Medical Center, Kelly USA, and Lackland AFB. Imagine a 100% smoke free, sophisticated boutique hotel, whose focus is delivering guest peace, serenity and renewal. Experience true Texas hospitality at this jewel just a short stroll to restaurants and bars. Hotel Indigo offers a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets, pillow shams and fluffy pillows. Complimentary WiFi is at your fingertips. Relax and enjoy our Bridges Bar & Bistro for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew coffee from a local company. The Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a fitness center, pool and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites San Antonio
San Antonio Hawthorn Suites
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing