We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rare chance to be 750' in the sky”

Tower of the Americas
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.99*
and up
San Antonio River Walk Cruise, Hop-On Hop-Off Tour and Tower of the Americas...
More Info
US$42.11*
and up
San Antonio Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour, River Cruise, and Tower of the...
More Info
US$64.98*
and up
San Antonio Super Pass
Ranked #33 of 265 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 750-foot tower built for the 1968 HemisFair has unbeatable panoramic views, especially if you're in the tower's revolving restaurant.
Keller, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rare chance to be 750' in the sky”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Don't miss this attraction. It's reasonably priced and gives outstanding views of San Antonio from 750' up. There's plenty to see inside and outside while you're at the top. Don't miss the chance to walk around the tower from the outdoor deck. The winds will give you an appreciation of how high you are. And if that doesn't do it, you'll figure it out once you feel the tower move underneath you. I couldn't stay very long in the observatory deck because I was going through mild vertigo because the tower was literally swaying amid high cross winds. I later learned the tower is engineered to "sway" albeit by just a few centimeters, but you will definitely feel it. If you get bad motion sickness, you might want to avoid the upper deck or limit the duration of your visit. The winds at the top can be strong despite that surface winds may be calm. Don't miss the 4D show in the ground lobby. It runs every 20 minutes.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    635
    656
    331
    85
    45
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Above it all”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I visited the Tower of the Americas the second evening of my visit to San Antonio and wanted to maximize the experience. After using an online coupon to get reduced admission, I went to the Chart House bar for happy hour. The view from there is already impressive.

After a long wait for the elevator to go up 1 floor to the observation deck, I got to see the sunset from the highest place in San Antonio. Being such a big city, I was expecting a more impressive skyline, but there aren't too many tall buildings in the city. This particular evening was a bit hazy, so the sunset was not great, but still decent.

I also went to the theater show - Skies over Texas. Warning, if you have a backache or are deathly afraid of snakes, don't go. Don't want to give away the surprises of the show, but everyone should have some fair warning.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“a sight to ,see”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

i took my daughter, granddaughter's at night. the weather was excellent. the site was so gorgeous. it was not as scary as i thought going up to the top. highly recommend the night view.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank cerakanini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boerne tx
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“san antonio view”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

the tower is a staple in san antonio though bring cash and card you have to pay for parking but they accept only cash for parking the tower turns slowly up in the air to view all of san antonio just one block from the river walk there is a floor with reastaraunt great smoked salmon a bit expiensive but the food and service is great a cool 3d expierience down stairs great place to watch the 4th of july fireworks show reserve that one early its to me a one time attraction

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank duane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bar 601 is the one to visit”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Take the lift to bar 601. Mon thru Fri they have happy hour 4.30pm to 7pm, food from $4 to $6 and drinks from $3 to $7. The Mediterranean chicken wrap $6 was great and filling. The rest of my companions had the prime rib sliders ($6), a hit with kids, fish tacos ($6), lettuce wraps ($5), ahi nachos ($5) and calamari ($5) all great. We also splurged on the chocolate lava cake for desert $10.99, yum! Of course the view was amazing from any of the tables. Get there at the start of happy hour to ensure you get a table. Service was very good and to top it off we watched the World Cup soccer on the screen.

Helpful?
4 Thank TravelAsia95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tower of the Americas also viewed

 

Been to Tower of the Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing