We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view”

Tower of the Americas
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.99*
and up
San Antonio River Walk Cruise, Hop-On Hop-Off Tour and Tower of the Americas...
More Info
US$42.11*
and up
San Antonio Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour, River Cruise, and Tower of the...
More Info
US$64.98*
and up
San Antonio Super Pass
Ranked #32 of 265 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 750-foot tower built for the 1968 HemisFair has unbeatable panoramic views, especially if you're in the tower's revolving restaurant.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We bought the Groupon and didn't add anything extra once we got there. The view was amazing. The wind felt great on an hot day. They have a nice sized gift shop and movie theater. We were there for maybe 30 minutes total. Your wristband lets you visit all day until they are closed. We wanted to go back for the sunset, but never made it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank blueyes0316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    637
    656
    331
    85
    45
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marquez, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best View of the City”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had lunch in the rotating restaurant. It was pricey but well worth the view and atmosphere above the hustle and bustle of San Antonio. The food was delicious too. We split every thing from the appetizer to the desert and it was plenty to fill us up without over eating.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice Happy Hour at Bar 101”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Went to Happy Hour at Bar 101. $5 Martini's and 1 nice selection of appetizers. I got the Firecracker Shrimp and the Tuna Nachos. Both were good, but a bit small. Would need 4-5 plates for 2 people. The Lemon Drop was AWESOME. Tuaca with Lemon vodka was a nice mix of sour and sweet. The best thing is that there is no charge to go to the bar and you get a great view of downtown San Antonio. Would go again, if back in San Antonio.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chleo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Park, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another fun visit!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We ascended to the top a little after 8:00pm so we could take in the sunset, which was beautiful! Very windy on the observation deck (duh!) but so much fun! Indoors we liked the map key, so that we could identify certain buildings and landmarks. Spent time in the bar. Good service, tasty beverages, more good views. Descended after an hour at the top. Watched the 4D movie. I had seen it before but it was still fun! There was a sweet girl working there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niceville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great view of the city and good food.”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Read a review on Trip Advisor that told about the bar Happy Hour and food prices. That was a GREAT tip even though we are not big drinkers. The bar is just below the observation deck and just above the rotating restaurant, which you can look down on from the bar area. Seating around the railing is a bit low, but comfortable. Happy hour offerings of drinks and appetizers were VERY reasonably priced and included a trip up to the observation deck which is $10 alone for adults. Most drinks and appetizers range from $4 to $6 and all were very tasty. We had spinach & artichoke dip, lettuce wraps, and pork sliders as well as 2 drinks and a trip to the upper deck for about $30/35 total including tip! Relaxing way to have a light dinner, see the view and enjoy some romance. Happy hour times are from 4:30pm until 7:00, so lasts a good long time. This would be really awesome when the days are shorter because this time would also fall during darker hours so you can see the city by night as well. Watching the diners rotating below was also an unusual and fun addition w/o spending the high price of actually eating in the restaurant. Same appetizers were on the regular menu at the restaurant for about double the price when not Happy Hour. This was a good deal. Thanks to TA reviewers for the head up suggestion!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonworshipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tower of the Americas also viewed

 

Been to Tower of the Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing