We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the airport but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall
Ranked #134 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Close to the airport but...”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My employer once authorized us to use this hotel but no more. Great location but no van service on weekends at present. Clean rooms and attentive staff. Very good breakfast but painfully slow wi fi. Restaurants and a Wal-Mart are within walking distance.

Room Tip: If internet access and speed are important, look somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joby1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We appreciate all guest comment in our effort to make improvements and take special care of our guests. I would like to connect with you regarding your employers decision due to the shuttle. We value all our guests, and would like to see if there is any way to possibly work something out. Please contact me directly if there is anything that I can do to assist with this. We hope to see you again when you are in San Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    58
    48
    28
    15
See reviews for
62
35
12
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseburg, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed here one night before catching our morning flight out at the airport. The front desk staff was very professional and helpful. However, we found this property was not up to par when compared to other Marriot properties we have stayed at. The décor is very dated. Our room was large, quiet and the bed was fairly comfortable. The air conditioning was noisy and did not cool the room off very well, so we did not have a good night’s sleep. The wi-fi in the room worked ok.

This hotel is located in close proximity to the airport, so it is short drive to the rental car return facility at the airport. However, this property is someone tricky to find if you are not familiar with the Texas freeway frontage road systems. It sits behind a Courtyard Hotel that is located along the frontage road.

The weeknight rate was lower than most of the hotels near the airport. The breakfast room was fairly small, as well as being noisy and crowded when we were there. The free breakfast buffet food selection was adequate. It included mostly cold items; the standard Fairfield Inn items such as juice, cereal, waffles, toast, muffins, coffee, etc. Overall this was an ok place to stay, primarily due to the great front desk staff and very reasonable cost of the room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJLJOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We love to hear back from our guests regarding their stay at our hotel as this is how we can make improvements. I will be passing your kind words along to my front desk team. I am glad that they were helpful to you! Getting to the hotel can be a little tricky as you said if you are not familiar with frontage roads like we have here in Texas. We are also getting excited about our planned renovation coming in 2013! If you have any other input about our hotel, and what would have made it more comfortable for you, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. We know that you have a choice of hotels when travelling, and we appreciate you choosing our Fairfield. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxahachie
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I usually stay here when in town on business. The rooms are great. The bed is always comfortable and I usually get 5 pillows. Shower pressure is good, but the towels, although oversized, are not plush. Free bottled water from the front desk, free cookies, most of the time, and a mini c-store in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Pedraza, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thank you for being a return guest! This is all good feedback to share with the rest of the staff. In addition to the bottled water and cookies, we now have breakfast bars and juices available in the mornings at the front desk for our departures with limited time to eat. We look forward to having you stay with us again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My family and I stayed there on a Sea World vacation and hands down this hotel has the best staff I have seen in a very long time. Ok so it is an airport hotel so dont expect a view .. and the rooms were your typical fairfeild inn rooms.. however you cant not beat a staff that is friendly, helpful, and just fun ..they all were a great added bonus to our trip.. This is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: the family and I booked three sutie all of which had plenty of room and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingGeorge17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Pedraza, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
That’s Awesome to hear, THANK YOU! Our staff is our greatest asset and we are very fortunate to have such a service driven team. We hope that you enjoyed your time at Sea World and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to San Antonio. Thank you for choosing Marriott Hotels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The hotel staff here were beyond exceptional. They all went out of their way to help with whatever we needed. The hotel needs alot of renovation. The breakfast area was to small. It seemed like you were running with the bulls to get in and find a seat to just eat a bowl of cereal. You were not allowed to make your own waffle, they had someone there making them and that was the only hot part of the food. The rooms had a musky, dank oder. There was a leak from the bathroom to outside where the bedroom is. The cleaning ladies did not leave towels, shampoo, or tissue. We had to go down and get it ourselves and ask for clean sheets. The ONLY good thing about this hotel was the front desk staff. For a Marriott property I would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Dont stay on the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJenkins1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take great pride in our service at the hotel. We will be renovating the hotel in the next year. I do hope that you will give us another chance to show you our commitment to our guests, and the Marriott name.

We always appreciate any comments, concerns, or compliments that you have for us. Your opinion truly does mean the world to both the staff and myself. We realize you have a choice in where you stay, we greatly appreciate your past and future trust in us. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can do anything to renew your trust in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The room I stayed in was a suite, it was very large which was great. Had a fridge and a microwave which is hard to come by for some reason these days. However, the room was very dated, and had a little bit of a musky odor. The AC did not work very well and we were very hot all night. That is really my only complaint. I stayed on a family discount rate so it was fine, but I probably wouldn't stay again on a regular Marriott rate.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephnV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our goal is to provide excellent service each and every time a guest stays with us. We are always looking for ways to improve our hotel. We appreciate your feedback, and will be working to get these issues corrected. We would like to invite you back to give us another opportunity to show you our commitment to your comfort. We hope to see you again the next time that you are in San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2012

The best experience we've had in all our Hotel visits! The entire staff was tremendous! We traveled with handicap relatives and the rooms were great for them,and the breakfast was excellent! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DClarkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We take pride in being helpful and friendly to all of our guests. I am glad that your family found our handicap accomodations to be helpful to you. We hope that if you visit San Antonio again, that you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown Broadway
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport
#157 of 356 in San Antonio
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall
Address: 88 NE Loop 410, San Antonio, TX 78216-5801
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY-RENOVATED! The Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall hotel features renovated rooms and lobby just a half mile from the terminal. Guests appreciate our free perks including airport shuttle, WiFi and hot breakfast. Rest peacefully in redesigned rooms with flat-screen TVs, blackout curtains and plush bedding. Take a dip in our pool or get in a workout at our 24-hour fitness center. Join us every morning for a complimentary breakfast buffet where we’re serving up hot and cold favorites. Why hassle with downtown options when you can choose the newly-renovated Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall Hotel San Antonio
Fairfield San Antonio
San Antonio Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing