We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall
Ranked #98 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights and were very satisfied with a nice, clean room and the friendly, accommodating front desk. We booked the room via Priceline just a couple of days prior to check in and got a deeply discounted Express Deal. I called ahead and requested 2 beds, and was told that they would make a note, but couldn't promise anything. When we checked in, they didn't have any more rooms with 2 beds, so they put us in a room with a king and a sofa bed, which was perfectly fine with us. When we needed 2 band aids, the front desk cheerfully and quickly gave them to us.

I'm glad we ended up with this hotel (with Priceline's Express Deal, the hotel isn't disclosed until you pay for it) because it is very close to North Star Mall and other shopping. It's on the south side of Loop 410, very close to the Hwy 281 intersection which made it easy to hop on 281 and drive about 15 minutes south to the Riverwalk and other central San Antonio destinations. They offer a very nice, complimentary breakfast of scrambled eggs, sausage, fruit, yogurt, cereal, waffles, juices,and coffee. The lady who was in charge of the breakfast service was very nice and friendly also.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The5Ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirk A, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Clean and friendly is what we strive to be 100% of the time. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to serve you again in the future.

Best wishes,

Kirk Anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

With a 5:45 AM flight, we changed our plans and stayed at the airport our last night in San Antonio. Since this was a Marriott property, we figured it would be just fine. First, when we checked in they let us know there was only a shuttle to the airport starting at 5:30 AM!! This should have been on the website! However, with great customer service, they did offer to pay for a cab - and they did have one waiting for us at 3:45 AM.

There is only one ancient elevator for the entire property. It took 10 minutes to arrive the first time and it wasn't busy.

We had booked through Orbitz so it was a double bed room. When I asked to upgrade to King, they were gracious enough to do that, BUT they didn't tell us it meant we'd be in a handicap room. Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable, but the bathroom was difficult to use as there was no place to put anything (it was an accessible bathroom). The shower head couldn't be adjusted and sent out such strong streams of water that hurt (per my hubby). Oh and the hot and cold water were reversed on the sink - that causes great confusion at 3 AM!!

The other funny thing was when I used the phone to call the front desk, they couldn't hear me! I had called down to the desk to ask them to pickup my hubby at the airport. Because I ended up using the cellphone instead of the house phone, they couldn't call me back. Instead they sent someone from the front desk ALL the way up to my room to ask me what terminal my hubby was located. Great service!! However the phone should have been functioning properly.

So if you don't mind a very dated hotel, the service is great and the beds were comfy and clean. However, make sure you have a later flight if you need a shuttle and check the bathroom.

Room Tip: Take one a lower floor. The ancient elevator takes forever
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dialady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirk A, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your review during your most recent stay. I want to apologize for the inconvenience you experience. Our goal is always 100% satisfaction and your voice is our best resource. We are addressing the issues you experienced and hope to regain your trust and business in the near future.

Best wishes,

Kirk Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here overnight before catching a flight from the airport. The hotel was conveniently located near a few restaurants (we walked to Crackle Barrel) and easy to reach from Loop 410.

The checkin was easy there was no wait. Parking lot is well lit. We didn't use the pool or eat the breakfast.

I don't have complaint about the room or amenities it just wasn't as nice as a Hampton Inn, it is closer to a Motel 6/8 than it is to a Sheraton, Marriott, or Hilton. I guess I just expected a little more and a little nicer. I would say here again but if I could find a Holiday Inn or Hampton Inn at a comparable price, I would stay there first.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank BobcatinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirk A, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your review during your most recent stay. We hope you will choose us again in the near future.

Best wishes,

Kirk Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel as seen better days. The room did not seem clean and the common areas were not impressive. I've stayed at several Fairfields and this was on the lower end. The tub was really stained and I even went out and bought some Clorox spray to be sure it was sterile.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shishkabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirk A, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your review during your most recent stay. I want to apologize for the issues with the old shower curtain and stained tub. We have corrected the issues you brought to our attention within that room and hope to regain your trust and business in the near future.

Best wishes,

Kirk Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I booked a room at this Fairfield because we had a very late arrival into San Antonio. Check in was fast and easy bad we were told we were upgraded. Nice surprise. This is an older Fairfield and is a little tired.
FindIng a parking spot was a challenge as the parking lot is shared with the Courtyard. There is not enough parking if both hotels are full and they were full for Easter weekend.
The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. This made up for the wear and tear.
The breakfast room was extremely crowded and busy. There were many families trying to feed the kids and find seats. Hats off to the breakfast room attendant. She was fabulous. How she was able to multitask with that number of people was amazing. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirk A, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time write a review on your experience with us. We appreciate your constructive feedback and are taking the neccessary steps to address the issues you mentioned. We hope to serve you again in the near future.

Best wishes,

Kirk Anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Only minutes from the airport with a free shuttle. The driver was such a great guy that he came in early, 4:45am, so I could get to the airport in time for my 5:45am flight. He happened to be at the front desk when I checked in and heard me making a reservation for the shuttle and volunteered to start early. He got a good tip. Because of very long security line I would have missed my flight if I had not gotten to the airport when I did. The room was ok with a refrigerator and microwave. The bed was comfortable but some things could use an update. It was fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murrayj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirk A, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Best Wishes,

Kirk Anderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

The beds, comfortable. Room, clean. Be aware - older hotel in need of some updating. The carpet in the room was ... Yuck. The breakfast, basic. They need more staff as the area was destroyed by kids. Kids running up and down the halls late into the night. The pool was over chlorinated. Very family friendly. :)

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Danake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_FFIS_SA_AIR, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that your stay with the Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far North Central
Courtyard San Antonio North/Stone Oak at Legacy
Uptown Broadway
Four Points by Sheraton San Antonio Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall

Address: 88 NE Loop 410, Behind Pappadeaux, San Antonio, TX 78216-5801
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £66 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall is located less than 2 miles from the airport behind Pappadeaux. We offer complimentary airport shuttle and any where within a 3 mile radius of the hotel Mon-Fri from 5a-11p and Sat-Sun 7a-11p. Save money with our free WiFi, parking, breakfast and shuttle service. Rest peacefully in redesigned rooms with flat-screen TVs, blackout curtains and plush bedding. Kids love to play in our indoor pool and adults can stay fit with our 24hr fitness center. With our central location in the city you will have easy to access to top attractions including Sea World, Six Flags, the Alamo, River Walk, Zoo, Convention Center and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall Hotel San Antonio
Fairfield San Antonio
San Antonio Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport/North Star Mall Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing