We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Cantera Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We had a large group staying, and our service at the adult pool was excellent!! Nicole took care of us for 2 days in the 100 degree heat, and was so friendly and attentive to all our needs. She ran nonstop taking care of everyone's food and beverage needs and always had a smile on her face!! If was a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy Willeford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraAplin, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Dear Kathy Willeford,

Thank you for telling us about your stay! It is really great to have such great service at the pool during this hot summer, and Nicole is a superstar! She was very happy to learn that you had such a great time. Come back and see us again soon! Enjoy your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,660
    644
    295
    154
    100
See reviews for
837
604
42
940
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

They have an exceptional pool area with fantastic service. Francesca was an especially hospitable and attentive server. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishtraveler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We chose this resort based on trip advisor reviews. We wanted a nice hotel, with a pool, outside of the riverwalk madness, but still close enough to visit all the San Antonio attractions. First of all, I can't say enough good things about the Westin hotels. They are consistently great quality, but this was quality on a whole new level!

I'll keep it simple. I'll list the pro's
and con's. Please be patient, there

ALOT of pro's!

*Hotel property is outside the
madness of the city, yet close enough to visit all the high points!
*The property has everything you need. There's seriously no need to leave the resort. It's all here!! Huge family pool (which is open 24/7!), adults pool, poolside bar, poolside restraunt, buffet breakfast, poolside grill, all-day activity schedule (which is concluded every evening with a kid friendly movie on the lawn), kids playcare, a pre-teen/teen facility for evenings,
sports club/lounge, 4star restaurant, spa. I'm a little out of breath, but you get the point.
*Starbucks!! That's right! Located just inside the main entrance.
*incredibly helpful concierge.
*BEAUTIFUL scenery!
*3 golf courses (2 of which are located onthe property.)
*Upscale mall about 5 minutes away.
*Fiesta Texas is about 2minutes away.
*Sea World is about 15-20minutes away.
*Riverwalk is about 15minutes away.

The Con's
*There aren't a ton of restaurant options off property, if you'd like a change.
*If you go during the winter the resort may not have as much to offer, since the pool and lawn activity is the major draw.
*The food and drinks can be expensive at times.
*Our check-in experience was not the greatest, even with us being Starwood Preferred guests. (We were charged twice for our room, and we had to stop in at the counter 3 times to straighten it out.)

As you can see the pros far out weigh the cons. It was an overall fantastic resort! We've already recommended it to several friends, and we intend to go back. I wish there were more of these type resorts in Texas!


  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PIKTRIPPERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraAplin, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Dear PIKTRIPPERS,

Thank you for your wonderful comments! As you stated, there are many excellent reasons to be our guest at La Cantera! Also, there are several additional dining options available at The Shops at La Cantera, and we offer free shuttle service there and back for your next visit! Our pools are heated and open year-round for our valued guests as well. You may have to come back this winter just to experience our fantastic holiday program- a huge draw for all of our guests! We certainly hope to see you and your family again soon, and if you need any additional information please do contact the hotel directly. We look forward to welcoming you home again! Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

I stayed at the hotel for a business conference and it was very difficult to concentrate during the meeting because this property is gorgeous! It's minutes away from 6 flags, the Alamo and shopping. It's on a hill and has amazing views of San Antonio. Excellent customer service and now the property is going green. Make a Green Choice allows you to earn Starwoods points or money ($5) to use at hotel cafe/Starbucks. Oh, and did I mention the pools are open 24hrs...big plus for me

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ask_Tiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraAplin, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Dear foxyfit4,

Thank you for telling us about your stay! Our associates are very proud of our beautiful property, and the Texas Hospitality that you experience here is second to none! We certainly hope that you get an opportunity to visit us again soon, perhaps for leisure next time! If you would like information about the various fun FREE activities here at the resort (including Zumba classes, water aerobics, yoga on the El Fortin Lawn, etc.), please contact us; we would love to hear from you! Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

We loved staying at this resort. It is absolutely beautiful and has outstanding views from all the rooms. It has everything you could ask for from spas, restaurants, gift shops, Helth club, Starbucks and a beautiful, huge lobby with natural lighting. It has lots of activities for kids and adults. There is Smore making by the pool, movies on the lawn and a wild animal show among so many other things to do. The entrance to the resort is located near the entrance to Six Flags. The pools are fabulous and we really loved the adult pool with all its natural settings and how it overlooks the countryside. The hospitality is outstanding and we really appreciated the personal touch that Paulina Ramirez Castanon gave us. She made us feel like we were the only guests there. You'll love this resort!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveltime31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraAplin, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Dear TravelTime31,

We love hearing such great comments from our valued guests! With so many things to do and see, you will never be bored at The Westin La Cantera Resort! Our adult pool is truly relaxing and has some of the best Hill Country views in San Antonio! Paulina was very excited to hear that she made your stay so pleasurable. She is one of our guest service superstars! Please come back and see us again soon; another huge dose of Texas Hospitality awaits you! Have a great remainder of the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

I just wanted to write a little something about a group of people who made my last minute decision to spend a night at a resort a great decision. My wife and I were driving around town with some family and decided to drive to the resort and go have a drink and enjoy the scene of the Westin. We arrived and were immediately helped by Klint Alberthal with our vehicle and direction to the pool. On the way to the pool we ran into Marques Williams and he offered us food and drinks as we enjoyed the outside view. iI expected to just find someone to help once we found a seat, but Marques made the evening that much smoother with his willing to help. While we were there I walked away to check on a room for the night to surprise my wife and the other guest we were with. I ran into Victor Hernandez and explained that I was interested in getting a room for the night to continue our evening and enjoy a night with the family. Victor was also very helpful and quickly found the perfect room so my family would not think anything of me being gone and be surprised. I was able to surprise my family with the room and they were so excited. In the moring when we woke up we found a letter under the door from Ismael Mendoza. It was a invitation to the resort restaurant along with a credit towards breakfast stating he was glad we returned for a stay and he was there if we needed anything. These gentlemen helped me look that much better to my family and they were so thankful for everything they experienced at the Westin. I can't say thanks enough to these guys and I can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank javier05gutierrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraAplin, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Dear javier05gutierrez,

Thank you so much for your glowing comments! Klint, Marques, Victor, and Izzy are all part of our fantastic Service Express team, and you can definitely tell that they enjoy taking care of our guests! They were each very happy to learn that they were such a big part of your awesome experience with us. It sounds like your family enjoyed staying with us as much as we enjoyed having you as our valued guests! We look forward to your return, and if you would like any arrangements made prior to your next visit please do not hesitate to contact us; we will make sure everything goes off without a hitch! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed at La Cantera with another family on a long weekend. With 4 boys under the gae of 5 between us, we need to keep them entertained but we also didn't want to feel like we were trapped in kiddo land. The resort was extremely kid friendly, but maintained an adult feel and there were even areas where ppl who didn't want to deal with our rugrats could be secluded.

I loved the adult only pool, even though I got to spend very little time at it. The kids small wading pool was great for my sons, ages 2 and 4. They had ample pool noodles to play with and kid friendly snack options. The main pool was great for all the families with older kids thru teens. It has a small slide and ample swim space. They had smores making at night and a nice bar for after the kids went to bed.

The resort has taken one of their multiple tennis courts and made it in to a great kid zone, with a bounce house, water slide, basketball hoop, & sidewalk chalk, Kids from toddler age to pre-teen were all enjoying the fun but it was removed enough from the main resort that if you were on an adults only weekend, you never would even know it was there.

Across from the resort, you'll find an overhwhelming shopping center with everything from Neiman Marcus to their Last Call discount store.

The one big issue was our double room had 2 full sized beds rather than 2 queens. This made sleep tough for my husband and I. THe last night we ended up with one adult and 1 child per bed for a better fit.

It was a great family trip where the kids got to be kids but the adults were also allowed to feel like adults!

Room Tip: Great discount rooms rates are available on multiple travel sites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoustonYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraAplin, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Dear HoustonYankee,

Thank you for sharing the story of your stay with us! Although we take a great deal of pride in making sure our littlest guests are entertained, we know how important it is for our adult guests to be able to relax as well. As you experienced, it is a delicate balance that we have executed almost perfectly! With so much to do and see, our family guests are never bored at The Westin La Cantera Resort! We look forward to your next visit, and will do our very best to make sure that your next accommodations fit your entire family! Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,459 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,034 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#19 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Resort & Spa

Property: La Cantera Resort & Spa
Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256-2401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#51 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Resort & Spa is a 550 acre hill country oasis atop one of the highest points in San Antonio and is centrally located to the finest attractions the city has to offer. Luxurious accommodations offer every amenity in addition to separate adult and family friendly pools, Loma de Vida Spa & Wellness and 36 holes of on-site championship golf. Less than a mile away with complimentary transportation are the Shops at La Cantera with a variety of luxury shopping and dining options, The Rim shopping center, and Six Flags Fiesta Texas. Additionally, SeaWorld, downtown San Antonio, the airport and hill country adventures like antiquing, and wine tours are 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Cantera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio
La Cantera Resort & Spa San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing