We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“so-so experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Cantera Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“so-so experience”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed this weekend for a conference. Overall, the room was fine, bathroom was nice, food was good. However...

1. On check in, we were informed that despite the fact we had booked a king bed, they had given away all the king beds earlier in the week to a "large party". So we were given 2 doubles.
2. The public bathroom in the lobby was dirty.
3. In the conference room, we saw several roaches.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Meighan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,659
    644
    295
    154
    100
See reviews for
837
603
42
940
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were here for the wedding of our niece! Everyone had a grand time - beautiful outside ceremony on the stone courtyard! Enjoyed relaxing beside the pools with beautiful Texas hill country - walked the trails - partied and great reception at the Golf Club. Definitely a beautiful hotel, great service and food! Love the Texas Hill Country!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the hills and courtyard Are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woody1147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yborrego, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
I would first like to say congratulations to your niece and her husband on the recent celebration of their wedding. I was happy to read that you all had such a great experience at our property. Our team understands how important a wedding day is to a young couple starting their journey together and they really do take joy in planning their big day. I will make sure to pass along your kind words to the team and hope we can welcome you back for another celebration or a Texas Hill Country getaway of your own.

Yolanda Borrego, Reputation Manager
210-558-2263
yborrego@destinationhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I came here for a weekend getaway. We played both golf courses which were in excellent condition and went to the pool another day. The food was okay and rooms were a little out dated. However, all the grounds were in excellent condition. The hotel does cater to kids so if you are going for a couples trip - stick to the adult pool and get there early for a chair. It is very crowded and probably not as relaxing as some other hotels. It might take 20 minutes to get a drink at the pool - so might want to order 2 at a time (: We still had a great time, but I would opt to go somewhere else next time for a couples trip to get a little more relaxation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natbrat185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yborrego, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your generous 4 star review. I am glad you were able to experience both our Resort Course and Palmer Course during your most recent stay at our property, and that you found the courses to be in such great condition. I appreciate you sharing your knowledge about the adult pool as it is meant to be an oasis for guests such as you and your husband who are traveling on a relaxing couples getaway. I do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back as a return guest so that you can enjoy the many other amenities of the resort. I would recommend visiting us once again during the fall season when the weather is perfect for golf and many of our family guests have returned back to school.

Thank you again,
Yolanda Borrego, Reputation Manager
210-558-2263
yborrego@destinationhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I was worried that since this hotel was under new ownership it might be different since it had been 1-2 years since we stayed here. But if anything it has gotten better. The grounds and rooms are kept up well and the staff was excellent. When I told the hotel we were treating a family from our church they did several extra things to make them feel special. If you have younger kids the slide and bounce houses are great. Thank you La Cantera for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckreeves99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSS23, Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your business and kind review. The Resort has made a number of changes since December's transition and we're excited that we're in the final stages of a resort transformation (projects and processes) that will position La Cantera Resort as never before. We appreciate your business and hope you'll return again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We came here to celebrate our 30th anniversary and all I can is Wow! Wow! Wow! Even in making the reservation, we had awesome assistance and recommendations from Carmen Perez. Then when we checked in, Derek was such a big help and even send up a treat for us to start our anniversary celebration :-). The resort was in the highest point in San Antonio with panorama views of the surrounding countryside. Our room was beautiful and we were on the top floor ( seventh floor), the concierges on the Club floor were very courteous and helpful. We ate at the Brannon cafe and the food was very good and our waitress, Janie, was excellent! The resort is very nice, making you feel as you were in a nice Spanish hacienda, the six pools were fun and our waiter, Josh, made us feel pampered by bringing us our drinks to our spot by the pool. Also, the extensive grounds are well maintained and quite lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed our walks around the grounds in the evenings. We were having such a wonderful time that we extended our time an extra day and received great assistance from Adam at the front desk which made the extension a breeze. All the staff were courteous and willing to help, we don't remember all your names, but we would like to say thank you as well, for making this time special. We had such a wonderful time that we will come back! Thank you La Cantera Hill Country Resort for a memorable time!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cysimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yborrego, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Well the WOW goes right back to you! Thank you for the many kind words about your recent stay at La Cantera Hill Country Resort. We strive to provide the best experience to our guests and I am happy to hear that we were able to provide that to you. Thank for mentioning so many of our team members by name. We have shared your review with our entire staff so that these individuals can be recognized. Happy Anniversary and we hope to welcome you back for another hill country getaway.

Yolanda Borrego, Reputation Manager
210-558-2236
yborrego@destinationhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We started our day with no destination in mind, no reservation. We decided to hit the shops at la cantera... (Great shopping btw) We saw the La Cantera resort and decided hey, let's!!! So without a reservation (security gave us a bit of a hard time getting in w/o a reservation which is awesome bc they are looking out for Guest Safety!!) we walked in to the lobby and asked for the best rate. They asked why we were visiting and we told them 1st anniversary 2nd honeymoon. They upgraded us to a hillside view. OMGoodness! What a view. We also recvd the all american breakfast free. The resort has a gorgeous pool and an awesome slide... We were allowed to act not quite out age and enjoy the slide and pool! We had a drink and sat out in cushioned pool loungers over looking the cliffs and the hills and the golf course. I can not describe the beauty of this place. Next, the people from the front desk to the guy who brought us our blankets were absolutely interested only in our comfort. This place was absolutely magical at night with smores & wildlife. I can not say enough about this property. Our total bill was less than 250$ for a suite, drinks and breakfast. The money combined with guest services and concierge just can not be beat. They treated me like a princess! Thanks y'all!!! We will be back!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Copperski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Brought friend up to do the San Antonio thing. Stayed here three nights. Got extended rooms with balcony overlooking pool. Rooms were great. Clean, plenty of towels, Starbucks coffee, mini bar. No problem with pool noise, even tho pools open all night. Employees were exceptional. Very friendly, eager to please. Valet parking and bell service really had it together.
Seemed to have lots of kid activities. Very good family place.

Only improvement, would have loved chairs on balcony so we could sit out and drink wine at night.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yborrego, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at La Cantera Hill Country Resort. We appreciate your choice to stay with us during your San Antonio visit with a friend. We strive to provide the finest Texas Hospitality to our guests and I am glad that team such as Valet and Bellmen were able to offer that to you.

We hope to welcome you back again soon for a return visit to La Cantera.

Yolanda Borrego, Reputation Management
210-558-2263
yborrego@destinationhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
3,455 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
3,032 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#19 of 354 in San Antonio
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Resort & Spa

Property: La Cantera Resort & Spa
Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256-2401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#51 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Resort & Spa is a 550 acre hill country oasis atop one of the highest points in San Antonio and is centrally located to the finest attractions the city has to offer. Luxurious accommodations offer every amenity in addition to separate adult and family friendly pools, Loma de Vida Spa & Wellness and 36 holes of on-site championship golf. Less than a mile away with complimentary transportation are the Shops at La Cantera with a variety of luxury shopping and dining options, The Rim shopping center, and Six Flags Fiesta Texas. Additionally, SeaWorld, downtown San Antonio, the airport and hill country adventures like antiquing, and wine tours are 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Cantera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio
La Cantera Resort & Spa San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing