We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners and horrible mangement! Room ready after 6pm, over charges!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Cantera Resort & Spa
Ranked #27 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The hotel is no longer a Westin, it is now run by horrible management and workers. book a American Express special , with upgrades and also was there new Destinations VIP program. Well we got no special treatment or upgrades. Room wasn't ready until after 6pm! We didn't even get the room that was promise by Richard. Ruin our son birthday ! said they would deliver cupcake which never showed! Room smelled of smoke! Still fighting over charges on our credit card. They gave us a room for 4 , with 2 double , the beds are so small they can't fit 2 adults . The bedding is so scratchy and the beds are hard.

Room Tip: Wait until Jan 2015 after everyone is trained and they are up and running.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank seenewthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yborrego, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay at our property and for being a return guest with us. Please accept my apologies on behalf of the resort for the multiple issues that you encountered. We strive to provide an enjoyable experience to each of our guests and it is clear that this is not what you encountered.

Our accounting department is working to correct your bill inaccuracies and will be in contact with you as soon as that is complete. I will also be contacting you directly to further discuss your experience. I hope you will allow us the opportunity to earn your business and trust back again.

Yolanda Borrego, Reputation Manager
210-558-2263
yborrego@destinationhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,098 - 2,104 of 3,303 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Our family of 5, 2 adults and 3 teens, stayed at La Cantera over the weekend of July 25 through the 27th. We had stayed at this resort on multiple occasions in the past and it's clearly not as good as it once used to be. New
ownership has taken over La Cantera and it appears to be aged and less attentive to service in general. To mention a few faults, we had to call on Sunday after 4:30 PM to have our room cleaned as it had not been attended to. The pool was generally dirty and packed with children with almost no service around the pool. The parking situation is no better than it used to be however there were almost no shuttles available to pick patrons up from the lower parking lots particularly after shopping with bags in our hands. This was not a problem on our previous visit. Understandably so, they were very busy because of the proximity of the resort to Six Flags and two golf courses. Perhaps they need to hire more staff. The resort fee is very steep at $29 a day and for this type of money I believe the grounds should be kept very clean including the pool and surrounding area and there should be plenty of shuttles available to pick up the guests. We probably would possibly give it one more try in the future but would certainly consider other options in San Antonio as well. It is very hard to find a parking place in the evening without driving around for a while. What is the $29 a day resort fee for if you can't find a parking place?

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank matcait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yborrego, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

I would first like to thank you for being a loyal guest visiting our property on multiple occasions. I appreciate your valuable feedback as it will be shared with our resort leadership and used in our ongoing process improvements. We strive to provide unparalleled customer service to each of our guests and it is clear to me that we did not deliver this to you. Please accept my apologies on behalf of the resort for the experiences you encountered with self-parking and for your room not being serviced in a timely manner.

The resort fee that you mentioned does include self-parking as well as the following: standard Internet access in guestrooms, Wi-Fi access in public areas, use of the fitness facilities (including tennis court), local and domestic long distance phone calls, golf bag storage/transfer between the resort’s two courses and a 20% discount on golf range fees. Resort fee also includes shuttle service to selected locations as well as resort activities that include fitness classes, access to Discovery Junction, fireside s’mores, family movie displays and more.

I appreciate you saying you will possibly give us another try and I welcome the opportunity to speak to you personally to learn how we can ensure this return visit from you and your family. My contact information is listed below. I look forward to speaking with you at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely,
Yolanda Borrego, Reputation Manager
210-558-2263, yborrego@destinationhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful property, great staff, wonderful stay. Self parking was not a big deal. They run around in golf carts and will take you back and forth for free. They hotel layout was a tad confusing. They have free shuttles with literally no waiting to take you to the shops at La Cantera or the Rim, where there are also restaurants. The hotel has an adult only pool with great views. The bar service there is slow, but the sweet waitress had a long trek to the bar. I heard with the remodel, there will be a bar at the adult pool. Cant wait to visit the resort again after the remodel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stimmer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yborrego, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your "wonderful stay" here at La Cantera Hill Country Resort and for the 5 star review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our shuttle service and our close proximity to the Shops at La Cantera. As you mentioned, we are planning an extensive transformation that will be starting later this year that will include almost every part of the property. I am glad to hear that you are excited to visit us after this time and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Yolanda Borrego, Reputation Manager
210-558-2263
yborrego@destinationhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

upgraded our floor and wow, we really enjoyed it. view of fireworks, evening snacks which was a meal and so was breakfast, free drinks (sodas) was a huge treat for kids. pools are small but still refreshing and room to move around. homemade ice cream is great, must try the peanut butter. check in/out was alittle slow, had a charge from mini bar and didnt even take key but was removed after we called to advise. staff was all friendly. love to go back and do walking trails, smores at night were another nice treat. movie had blankets for all to sit on and free popcorn. we felt like roayalty and hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yborrego, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Alisa,
Thank you for the 4 star review of your recent La Cantera Hill Country Resort stay and for sharing photos of your experience with our TripAdvisor community. We strive to provide a memorable and enjoyable experience and I was thrilled to read that you "felt like royalty" while you were with us on our Royal Hacienda floor. The view of the fireworks from Six Flags Fiesta Texas is exceptional and I am glad that you and your family were able to enjoy that together.

Please allow me to apologize on behalf of the resort for the incorrect mini-bar charge on your final bill. I am glad to hear that our team was able to correct that for you. My contact information is listed below should there be anything else that needs to be addressed. I appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to our property soon to experience the La Cantera Nature Trail and so much more.

Sincerely,
Yolanda Borrego, Reputation Manager
210-558-2263
yborrego@destinationhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is an absolutely beautiful facility to hold conferences in. It is convenient to San Antonio Airport. The location in the hill country along with Six Flags next door provides great opportunities for families to truly enjoy. The food and service were wonderful. The golf course is breath taking.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank boxshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yborrego, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your most recent stay at La Cantera Hill Country Resort for the NIB National conference. I am thrilled to read that you found our property to be an "absolutely beautiful facility to hold conferences." I will pass along your kind words to our event specialists so that they know it was a job well done. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back as a return guest soon and possibly get you out onto the golf course for a round or two!

Yolanda Borrego, Reputation Manager
210-558-2263
yborrego@destinationhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our La Cantera experience was a class act from start to finish. Came for a short stay and it was the perfect breather during a busy summer. The property and views are gorgeous and we had no trouble securing a hill country view room at check-in. The entire staff was warm and accommodating, from the front desk to housekeeping, room service, valet, kids' club, spa and poolside service. For being an "older" property, we were impressed with the amenities and everything seemed to be in good shape. The room was comfortable, clean and QUIET, the bathroom was super spacious, room service always arrived in a consistently timely manner and the food was yummy. (We were also able to order Dominos one night and it was delivered in no time at all, which was nice for our picky kiddos.) We utilized the shuttle to get to The Shops at La Cantera. It was right on time picking up and dropping off, it was also clean and well air conditioned. The Shops did not disappoint. The Kids' Club exceeded our expectations and our children didn't want to leave, the staff/child ratio was awesome and the activities were inclusive and exciting for both kids, even with a pretty wide age range (4 and 10). Discovery Junction was also well-staffed and our kids enjoyed it. We went for deep tissue massages at the spa- ask for Tammy, she's fantastic! The spa experience was a treat and the atmosphere was serene and professional. S'mores by the pool and the nighttime movie on the lawn were really fun. The pool was the highlight, my singular complaint was that the pool area was SO popular that it seemed the staff had a hard time keeping up with the trash bins/ left-behind drink cups, etc. around the pools, at least in the family section - specifically near the water slide. There was also a bit of a problem with mud and water on the path in that area but they did their best to remedy that by laying down some mats for traction. That being said, it was pure heaven sunbathing in the lounge chairs with a mai tai. Poolside, it was faster to initiate service at the counter but the food got to us quickly and was great! We spent most of our time on the water slide, it was staffed 100% of the time for safety and that made a good thing even better. The family pools were lively but not loud or out of control, everyone was just having fun and respecting everyone else. We heard that La Cantera will be undergoing a major renovation later this year and we can't WAIT to come back and experience an updated version of this already fabulous resort. Minor complaints, overall positive, relaxing and kid-friendly experience. Our family's new favorite in-state getaway!

Room Tip: We heard the city view is awesome, but being from the city, we went for the peaceful hill country/go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 892mjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yborrego, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

WOW thank you for the generous 4 star review and detailed feedback regarding your stay. Our team strives to provide a memorable and enjoyable experience to each of our guests and I am glad that we were able to provide that to you. I will be passing along your comments to our resort leadership for review so that the mentioned departments can be recognized and the issues you detailed can be addressed for our future guests. As you mentioned, we will be undergoing an extensive transformation later this year that will touch almost every part of the resort. We look forward to your return so that you and your family will be able to experience all that La Cantera will have to offer.

Yolanda Borrego, Reputation Manager
210-558-2263, yborrego@destinationhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband and I just returned from La Cantera a couple of weeks ago. We stayed for a short weekend. Hubby played golf on the Resort Course while I spent the day at the pool. He loved the course and always finds it a great challenge. As for the pool - it really is small for such a large property. I got some inside scoop from one of the workers there that they are about to go through a big renovation this winter, so hopefully the pool will be part of that plan.

When I called to book, the reservation person suggested we book one of their Casita rooms. This is a little "village" of accommodations near the golf pro shop. Each of these "bungalow" type rooms is built around a small pool in a very rustic setting. Each casita is assigned a personal "golf cart" to help you get back and forth between the village and the main building. It was a great spot to get away from the hustle and bustle of the main hotel building. Being as this is the height of summer, there were lots of families here. They have a free shuttle to take you back and forth to Six Flags Fiesta Texas across the road, as well as the high end La Cantera Shopping Mall.

I'm looking forward to seeing what they do during their renovation... I'm sure we'll be back!

Room Tip: Spring for a room in the Casita Village if you want to get away from the chaos of the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Scream9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yborrego, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for the generous 4 star review of your recent stay at La Cantera Hill Country Resort. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Casita Village and that your husband enjoyed his time on the Resort Course. As you mentioned, we are planning an extensive transformation of the property later this year that will update and enhance almost every part of the resort including our pools, spa, dining experiences and so much more. I am thrilled to hear that you will be back and we look forward to welcoming you once again!

Yolanda Borrego, Reputation Manager
210-558-2263, yborrego@destinationhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
2,000 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,918 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,243 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
3,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Resort & Spa

Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256-2401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#51 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £148 - £426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Resort & Spa is a 550 acre hill country oasis atop one of the highest points in San Antonio and is centrally located to the finest attractions the city has to offer. Luxurious accommodations offer every amenity in addition to separate adult and family friendly pools, Loma de Vida Spa & Wellness and 36 holes of on-site championship golf. Less than a mile away with complimentary transportation are the Shops at La Cantera with a variety of luxury shopping and dining options, The Rim shopping center, and Six Flags Fiesta Texas. Additionally, SeaWorld, downtown San Antonio, the airport and hill country adventures like antiquing, and wine tours are 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your La Cantera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio
La Cantera Resort & Spa San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing