We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Visit ended with a SNOOTY SPA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Cantera Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Visit ended with a SNOOTY SPA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Our deluxe king room was in good condition. The balcony overlooking the golf course. We were provided with a key for the mini bar if needed. Our bags, valet and roll away all arrived in lightning speed. The hotel bathroom offers a rain shower with all toiletries needed, the toilet is enclosed. The room had two bath robes. I usually never use them but these are a must! The mini bar fridge offers no room for your own milk, bring a cooler for snacks. Coolers are not allowed in the pool area but they have a bar and food service at your chair. Their convenience store offers, Starbucks, Very good sandwiches and homemade ice cream. The kids club is great for camp or to just visit. We went with our daughter for about an hour to play with their arts and crafts. You can drop off your children if you wish for $10 per hour. They have a seperate room for video games. The staff for the children are warm, engaging and professional. The pool area is small but it offered plenty to do including a slide that empty' into a 3.5 feet of water. They have safety slip mats all the way to the slide. They offer zero entry kids pool, water volleyball net, shallow lap pool, adult only pool and 2 jacuzzi's for both adults only an family. Pool towels are offered near the bar area. In addition golf and hiking is available. Breakfast buffet at "Brannon's" was very good with made to order eggs, omelets, an waffles. The service was fast and friendly. We also enjoyed a movie outside, they provide free popcorn and blankets. The fitness area has everything you would need to get in a good workout. The locker room has showers, sauna, toilets, coded lockers, hair dryer and all the items you would need to get ready for the day. The SPA staff is very snooty and territorial about the locker room. When you walk in they immediately ask to help you but it's only to assess weather you are their for spa services. They make you feel as a guest of the hotel that you are not welcome to use the locker room if you are not a paying guest of the spa. I used it anyway regardless of their snobby attitude. We stayed after checkout and had the hotel hold our bags until we were ready to leave. Valet was quick to deliver our car and bags. All was wonderful except their snooty spa associates who are paid such a high salary they can afford to offend hotel guests.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mabeyta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yborrego, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
I first would like to thank you for the generous 4 star review of your recent stay at our property and the detailed comments of all of the activities you were able to experience such as the pool, Kids' Club, movie on the lawn and fitness area. I would like to apologize on behalf of the resort for the experience you encountered when using the locker room. Our goal is to provide exceptional customer service to each of our guests across all outlets of the resort and it is clear that this is not what you encountered. I have passed your comments along to the Spa Director so that the issue you experienced can be addressed for our future guests.

I appreciate your valuable feedback and hope that you will allow us the opportunity to earn your business back.

Sincerely,
Yolanda Borrego
La Cantera Hill Country Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,667
    648
    297
    155
    100
See reviews for
837
608
42
950
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

My family stayed in the casitas & had a great visit. The kids loved having the golf cart to explore the property.
The property was beautiful & the room was casita was large and comfortable. The resort offered a free shuttle to nearby restaurants & shopping at The Shops at La Cantera - really convenient.
Also enjoyed seeing the fireworks from nearby Six Flags each night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel9H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
162 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights in for a meeting. They did a great job with the meeting facilities. The resort is close to a nice mall with multiple dining options. Overall this was a good hotel but very neutral in terms of overall experience. Nothing good or bad quite frankly.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank gwera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Was travelling alone on business. This is definitely a FAMILY place. Toddlers, babies, children EVERYWHERE. I had opted for a room on the concierge floor thinking it would be quiet and private, but was awakened each morning by families staying on this floor. For some reason they would spill their children into the hallway at 7 AM and allow them to scream and cry. I suppose that is not the hotel's fault, but I usually find concierge floors to be more suitable to the business traveler than this hotel's concierge floor. Otherwise the bed was comfy, the room was clean. I used the fitness center every day and it was not crowded. The nature trail around the resort is a nice feature. The food was a little disappointing for this higher rated hotel, but maybe I'm too picky. It was all kind of mushy and generic. Conference rooms/center were fine.

Room Tip: Part of the hotel configuration is a "u" or horseshoe shape. So corner rooms that face th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavpav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We got there and my kids were very excited to get to the hotel at las Casitas which is expensive. Once arrived they lost my son's tempur-pedic pillow, called lost n found they never returned my call. Also, on bed medium size spiders (I jump off bed wow!!!). Rooms were not clean (a lot insects on floor as well as spider webs everywhere). Air condition too loud. At last I had it with room service when they knock to pick up the plates (the person was rude. Before when it was owned by Westin we had never experience anything like we did this time. It is a Great Resort but I was completely disappointed overall.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 09012014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yborrego, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your most recent stay at our property. Please allow me to apologize on behalf of the resort for the multiple issues that you encountered during your stay. I have passed along your comments to our resort leadership for review and I assure you that the issues you encountered in the Casita Village will be addressed. I am also in the process of following up with our security team about your missing pillow. If you can contact me back at 210-558-2263 or by email at yborrego@destinationhotels.com, I will be able to get more information on your lost item.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and I hope you will allow us the opportunity to earn your business back.

At your service,
Yolanda Borrego
La Cantera Hill Country Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Spent two nights at this wonderful resort with our 2 grand daughters. Everything was more than expected. The staff was extremely friendly. Check in smooth, room clean & nicely furnished. The view from our balcony was so beautiful. Friday evening my granddaughter and I stood on the balcony for about 15 minutes and watched the sun gradually fade away. There are lots of activities for kids, some incurred an additional charge. They had a blast in the pool and enjoyed the movie under the stars on the lawn. My husband and I enjoyed the morning walk along the trail. Would love to go back soon! Only had a meal at pool side, the usual fare.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noproblemSetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yborrego, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for the 5 star review and taking the time to post your feedback following your most recent stay at our property. I am glad to hear that you and your granddaughters were able to enjoy a selection of our activities and take in the beautiful views of the Texas Hill Country sunset. We hope to welcome you and your family back for a repeat visit soon!

Yolanda Borrego
La Cantera Hill Country Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was pleased with our choice of this hotel as it was good quality and in a good location just minutes away from Six Flaggs. It was clean and the beds were comfy - although double beds felt a little on the small side. We only had food in the hotel on one occasion - from the poolside bar and this was good for the type of food we were ordering.
The pool service was good and the drinks reasonably priced - the clean up service could have been better, there was not enough staff to clear away dirty plates and drink glasses. There was lots of activities for children if that is what you are looking for.
I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yborrego, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Janet, Thank you for taking the time to post your review and share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. We strive to provide a memorable and relaxing experience to each of our guests and I am glad that we were able to provide this to you. I appreciate you saying that you would return for a repeat visit and we look forward to welcoming you back for another hill country getaway very soon.

Yolanda Borrego, Reputation Manager
210-558-2263
yborrego@destinationhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,469 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,039 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#17 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Resort & Spa

Property: La Cantera Resort & Spa
Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256-2401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#51 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Resort & Spa is a 550 acre hill country oasis atop one of the highest points in San Antonio and is centrally located to the finest attractions the city has to offer. Luxurious accommodations offer every amenity in addition to separate adult and family friendly pools, Loma de Vida Spa & Wellness and 36 holes of on-site championship golf. Less than a mile away with complimentary transportation are the Shops at La Cantera with a variety of luxury shopping and dining options, The Rim shopping center, and Six Flags Fiesta Texas. Additionally, SeaWorld, downtown San Antonio, the airport and hill country adventures like antiquing, and wine tours are 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Cantera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio
La Cantera Resort & Spa San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing