We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Cantera Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great time!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great time with the family! Just recently moved back to San Antonio and wanted to treat wife with time away from packing the house. We've stayed here before for stay in town get a ways! Was very pleased with the service. Its always been good but this time, it felt special. Thanks La Cantera !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaughnweik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCR_PR_Director, Guest Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thanks for sharing your feedback, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience. The fireworks do make for a magical evening, don't they? We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,727
    664
    307
    160
    103
See reviews for
851
622
44
1,007
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cornelius, or
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We chose this hotel from a Travelzoo offer. The room was magnificently appointed and the Staff at the front desk were very welcoming. We had drinks and appetizers in the lounge on August 4th. The bartender was very aloof and seemed irritated when we asked for a drink menu. We had to wait a long time for our appetizers and the waitress was not very attentive. The customer experience in the bar could use some improvement. The valet staff were very helpful with directions.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jewellnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay here! The rooms we're very clean and nice. The pool doesn't offer as much as the JW does, but does live up to the hype. The hotel it self is just as good as the JW for a much lower price! Also it's across the street from Six Flags Fiesta Texas which is a blast to go to! I highly recommend staying here if you want a fun, enjoyable time!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CM2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

After reading through a lot of reviews, we decided to go ahead and book a room even though it was obviously going to be a gamble. It seems the reviews are either over the top favorable or completely unsatisfied.

My husband called the hotel at 2:30 pm while we were shopping and was told our room would be ready at 3:30 pm. We arrived at the hotel at 4:00 pm and not only was our room not ready but the room we had book, a double, was not available AT ALL. My husband could not get a straight answer out of anyone as to why the room we booked was not available. All they said was that they had a King and could bring in a rollaway. How accommodating for a couple and two 15 year old girls.

We started looking for other hotels in San Antonio and could not find anything with doubles. We had the time to look because the King room that we didn't want but were going to be stuck with was not ready either. We sadly had to make the decision to stay in a hotel with rude customer service in a room we had not reserved for over $350.00. Yes, we were and are still livid. At no consolation to us, we were not the only people who were getting the runaround at check-in. We finally got into the King room at about 6:00 pm.

Later that night, the girls and I decided to order dessert from room service. We each ordered something different. I ordered the "Assorted Seasonal Berries with Madagascar vanilla whipped cream". About an hour later, a man brought up the desserts. I looked down to see a bowl of berries. I asked about the whipped cream, which frankly makes it more of a dessert than breakfast, and I was told that they were out of whipped cream. I said that it was not what I wanted and my husband stated that he wanted it taken off of our bill. At any other high end resort, or just hotel that I have stayed in, someone would have called and informed me of their lack of whipped cream and if the dessert was still wanted. The man said he would bring back a new ticket. About thirty minutes later, the man returned to our room with a bowl of berries with the whipped cream that they were out of beaming that he had the chef whip some up. Excuse me? Why didn't the chef "whip some up" earlier when the order was placed? The theme of this "resort" is poor customer service!

My husband slept on the rollaway while I was stuck in the bed with two 15 year old girls. As you can guess, it was a horrible night's sleep. I would have rather driven the two hours back home than to stay in the hotel.

Our overall experience was miserable, save for Ashley and John who were servers at the adult pool.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Chrissy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCR_PR_Director, Guest Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent visit to La Cantera
Hill Country Resort. Our guests’ feedback is the most important tool we have in improving our service and your comments are truly appreciated. We strive to provide each guest with a relaxing and memorable stay and it is clear to me that we did not deliver this to you. On behalf of our entire staff, I apologize for your experience.

Laura Heathcott
La Cantera Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our family had a great time and loved all the views of the area. However for the price I expected the resort to be better maintained. The shower curtain, bottom of bathroom door, blanket on bed, and wall in the bathroom were stained. Our room was cleaned but I don't think the sheets were changed. We weren't given extra toilet paper or soap but they did give us more upon request. The pools were a little hard to navigate because they zigzag and don't really connect to each other. The pool needed to cleaned on a regular basis. It was always busy and it seemed like there wasn't enough staff to keep up with all the people in the pool area. I also noticed a lot of trash around the pool area and the chairs looked very old and beat up. The hotel charges a resort fee daily but is not maintaining the property as such. I've read other reviews and responses that the resort is going to undergo renovations but it should still be maintained with a high standard of care. We did have a great server at the pool on Saturday he was very attentive and friendly even though he was extremely busy. The property is gorgeous but we probably won't go back because the room rate and resort fees are way over priced.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCR_PR_Director, Guest Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay. We strive to offer exceptional customer service and a truly one of a kind hill country experience, I am sorry this is not what you encountered. I have passed your comments along to the our Directors of Housekeeing and Recreation so that the issue you experienced can be addressed for our future guests.

As you mentioned, we will soon be undergoing extensive renovations and we certainly hope to have a chance to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Laura Heathcott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Our deluxe king room was in good condition. The balcony overlooking the golf course. We were provided with a key for the mini bar if needed. Our bags, valet and roll away all arrived in lightning speed. The hotel bathroom offers a rain shower with all toiletries needed, the toilet is enclosed. The room had two bath robes. I usually never use them but these are a must! The mini bar fridge offers no room for your own milk, bring a cooler for snacks. Coolers are not allowed in the pool area but they have a bar and food service at your chair. Their convenience store offers, Starbucks, Very good sandwiches and homemade ice cream. The kids club is great for camp or to just visit. We went with our daughter for about an hour to play with their arts and crafts. You can drop off your children if you wish for $10 per hour. They have a seperate room for video games. The staff for the children are warm, engaging and professional. The pool area is small but it offered plenty to do including a slide that empty' into a 3.5 feet of water. They have safety slip mats all the way to the slide. They offer zero entry kids pool, water volleyball net, shallow lap pool, adult only pool and 2 jacuzzi's for both adults only an family. Pool towels are offered near the bar area. In addition golf and hiking is available. Breakfast buffet at "Brannon's" was very good with made to order eggs, omelets, an waffles. The service was fast and friendly. We also enjoyed a movie outside, they provide free popcorn and blankets. The fitness area has everything you would need to get in a good workout. The locker room has showers, sauna, toilets, coded lockers, hair dryer and all the items you would need to get ready for the day. The SPA staff is very snooty and territorial about the locker room. When you walk in they immediately ask to help you but it's only to assess weather you are their for spa services. They make you feel as a guest of the hotel that you are not welcome to use the locker room if you are not a paying guest of the spa. I used it anyway regardless of their snobby attitude. We stayed after checkout and had the hotel hold our bags until we were ready to leave. Valet was quick to deliver our car and bags. All was wonderful except their snooty spa associates who are paid such a high salary they can afford to offend hotel guests.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mabeyta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yborrego, Public Relations Manager at La Cantera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
I first would like to thank you for the generous 4 star review of your recent stay at our property and the detailed comments of all of the activities you were able to experience such as the pool, Kids' Club, movie on the lawn and fitness area. I would like to apologize on behalf of the resort for the experience you encountered when using the locker room. Our goal is to provide exceptional customer service to each of our guests across all outlets of the resort and it is clear that this is not what you encountered. I have passed your comments along to the Spa Director so that the issue you experienced can be addressed for our future guests.

I appreciate your valuable feedback and hope that you will allow us the opportunity to earn your business back.

Sincerely,
Yolanda Borrego
La Cantera Hill Country Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My family stayed in the casitas & had a great visit. The kids loved having the golf cart to explore the property.
The property was beautiful & the room was casita was large and comfortable. The resort offered a free shuttle to nearby restaurants & shopping at The Shops at La Cantera - really convenient.
Also enjoyed seeing the fireworks from nearby Six Flags each night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel9H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,561 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#17 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Resort & Spa

Property: La Cantera Resort & Spa
Address: 16641 La Cantera Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78256-2401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#51 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Resort & Spa is a 550 acre hill country oasis atop one of the highest points in San Antonio and is centrally located to the finest attractions the city has to offer. Luxurious accommodations offer every amenity in addition to separate adult and family friendly pools, Loma de Vida Spa & Wellness and 36 holes of on-site championship golf. Less than a mile away with complimentary transportation are the Shops at La Cantera with a variety of luxury shopping and dining options, The Rim shopping center, and Six Flags Fiesta Texas. Additionally, SeaWorld, downtown San Antonio, the airport and hill country adventures like antiquing, and wine tours are 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Cantera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Cantera Hotel San Antonio
Westin Cantera Hotel
La Cantera San Antonio
Westin La Cantera Resort
Westin San Antonio
San Antonio Westin
The Westin La Cantera Resort San Antonio
La Cantera Resort & Spa San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing