We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio
Ranked #175 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
San Antonio
1 review
“nice for the price”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

although we had a good experience with this hotel if we are ever in the San Antonio area again we would not stay here because of its location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Wm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Valued Geust,
We are not happy to hear that. We hope that you would reconsider since we do value every guest. Though we cannot move our location, maybe we can compensate - let us know what would be fair. Thank you for staying.

Sarah Stefano
Sales Director
2107381100
hojosalessa@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    115
    71
    75
    72
See reviews for
267
86
35
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The staying at this hotel cost me $260.00 and for those $260.00 I got a room that smell like sewer, a burned carpet, a few roaches, dusty and sticky furniture, and a horrible attitude from the front desk person. Also the hotel is in horrible condition, is old and outdated, people take their dogs in and wile there is nothing wrong with a pet friendly hotel there were guest with dogs and this guess let their dog pee in the hall way, I informed two different font desk people about this and no one did anything about it I left and the hallway smell horrible and the stain was there. When I address my situation about the poor hygiene and the sewer smell in my room, the front desk clerk say she was going to take care of it, I was on vacation so I just ask her to call and let me know what we needed to do, I never got a call, when I got back to my room that night nothing was taken care, i spoke to a different person in the front desk and she tell me they were planing to move me to another room but I came back super late (I am sorry if I did not come back, I did not know I had to plan my vacation around your inconveniences). When I check out and the firs front desk agent (I know the name but I will not disclose it) whenever I was addressing my issues to the manager she interrupted when I say nobody call me the day before to informed me the situation of my room, her answer was, "like I say, I got really busy yesterday". I just couldn't believe the poor professionalism and the deplorable conditions of the facilities, bottom line this hotel was not worth $89 a night. I do not recommended this hotel to anyone. I also have pictures that I will love to post but the website is not allowing me post them, I guess is a good thing for the hotel, so they people wont see how nasty it was.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam0618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisville, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Super helpful and sweet desk staff. The breakfast was great, although ending at 9:30 was kinda not cool. The room was huge, it had 2 green beds and a sitting area with a couch and coffee table. It fit me, my mother in law, and 3 kids very nicely. It really felt like home. I loved the nice courtyard and wished it was warmer so we could use the pool. Im not sure what the nightly price was because I booked it through vacations made easy and it was a package deal with seaworld tickets. As a package deal though I was super impressed. They were fully booked but you would have never known. The gps wasn't a fan of the area so we did get lost and circle around a bit. I guess my only complaint would be that there wasn't an elevator. I would defiantly stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin-213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for being our guest at the Howard Johnson suites Central. We are always glad to hear from Guests who enjoyed their stay. I look forward to seeing you on your next visit to San Antonio. We appreciate you taking the time to give us you positive feedback!

Sincerely,
Sarah Stefano
Sales Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I was in San Antonio for the Organo Gold Project 50K for a 3day weekend... Me and the whole group got a great "Group discount" on rooms. We will definetely come back to "Howard Johnson Inn and Suites" in San Antonio, TX. We received a great customer service and an every day morning breakfast.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good, but I'll definetely recommend any second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrmzlona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you to the Entire OrganoGold Group that stayed with us this year! Your Group was more than pleasant- the ideal guests in my opinion. Thank you so much for the review. By the way we Loved your product! We look forward to seeing you guys and having you stay again!

SINCERELY,
SARAH STEFANO
SALES DIRECTOR
HOWARD JOHNSON SAN ANTONIO CENTRAL
6901 W INTERSTATE 10
SAN ANTONIO TEXAS 78213
210-738-1100
HOJOSALESSA@GMAIL.COM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The room had a stale odor. There was a large stain in the carpet. The electric outlets were not fitted to the wall and only 2 worked,.the one with the tv at the end of the bed and one at the bedside The furniture was horrible, the Jacuzzi wall was hanging like it would fall into the tub. The mirror around the tub reflective mirror portion was peeled away. Chairs were torn and you SUNK to a 45 degree angle on the sofa like it would swallow you whole. The desk chair was stuck to the lowest position, great for a 4 yr old. We even found a black and mild cigars under the table and chair. Hows that for a clean room? we had I/3 of a roll of tissue in the restroom and no extra roll.. .Breakfast.. eggs were rationed as well as the sausage patty. I spoon of eggs and 1 patty. Guests asked for more but were told no. There was no milk in the pitcher in the fridge. this was 8:30 in the morning. We left and went to Denny's All this for $223 on Valentine's day. People could not get into their room. The people in Rm 114 were cursing and kicking their door trying to gain entry We figured the lock out... you had to pull UP on the door handle not push down on the lever. I told them on parting that the wall around the tub was coming off the wall. BEWARE of room 218..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chubsterSanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for the feedback you have provided in your review. We are always looking for ways to improve. Please allow us to apologize for the inconvenience with your stay but please know we are currently remodeling our Jacuzzi suite for ultimate guest satisfaction. As for the breakfast, during a busy morning you can understand we replenished items as quickly as we can though it can be frustrating sometimes to have to wait, we ask for your patience and understanding. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the newly remodeled Jacuzzi room which we know you'll love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I was in San Antonio for a conference, and this Howard Johnson was a great place to stay. I will definitely come back again for my future visits. The staff was very friendly and the accommodations were excellent (Pool, Gym, Breakfast). The lobby is beautiful and the grounds are really well kept. Really a gem

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mithila V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for being our Guest at the Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central. We appreciate the positive feedback you provided regarding your stay. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to San Antonio. Thanks again!

Sarah Stefano
Sales Director
Howard Johnson Suites Central
6901 W. Interstate 10
San Antonio Texas 78213
2107381100
hojosalessa@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Uptown Broadway
Red Roof Inn San Antonio - Airport
North Central
La Quinta Inn San Antonio Vance Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far North Central
Days Inn Suites San Antonio North/Stone Oak
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#152 of 358 in San Antonio
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio

Property: Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio
Address: 6901 W Interstate 10, San Antonio, TX 78213-3989
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson- Suites by Wyndham offers their guests large, spacious suites that are designed to bring Comfort to any kind of traveler. Rooms are equipped with the following amenities: Microwave, Mini Fridge, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and room safe in every room. We serve a hot breakfast every morning. Complimentary High Speed Wireless & Wired internet access. Fitness and Business Center and guest laundry room available On site.Conveniently located off of Interstate 10 West near Loop 410, just minutes from all of San Antonio's favorite attractions including the Alamo, downtown Fine Dining, the famous River Walk, La Cantera Mall, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Sea World, South Texas Medical Center, The University of Texas, The University of the Incarnate Word and much more. Every Suite faces a tropical inner Courtyard view overlooking a Sparkling Swimming Pool and Heated Hotub. Four guest entry doors are secured by guest room key access. Choose The Howard Johnson Suites by Wyndham for a great stay at a quality price. As part of the Wyndham Hotel Group, Rewards members are always welcome! Don't forget to provide us with your Wyndham Rewards Number to get your points! Go HOJO & Go Happy!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio / Balcones Heights Hotel San Antonio
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Antonio / Balcones Heights
Howard Johnson San Antonio
San Antonio Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Balcones Heights
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Central San Antonio Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing