We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio
Ranked #166 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed 22 July 2014

First impression was a musty smell every time we entered the room. Huge wet spot on the carpet when first entering. Went to store to buy Lysol spray and wipes, seeing as how if we chose to leave and find another hotel we would lose every penny they withdrew from our account the day we booked this hotel. Table was old and looked like something found at a garage sale, no chair for table, no covers for bathroom vanity light and bathroom fan/light, dirty carpet, hair found in every drawer of dresser and to top it off, there was no phone. My husband told the front desk clerk and he assured him he would have a phone put in. We never got a phone! 911? Better have a cell phone! Not much of a breakfast and have a huge sign out front about not taking any food back to your room. I sent my 16 year old on the last day of our 4 night stay to get a bowl of cereal for our 4 year old; he was stopped and questioned about ignoring the sign. Funny how several people smoked all throughout the court yard and pool area (Non Smoking) and others had loaded huge trays and we can't bring one bowl of cereal back. My husband went to get it and nothing was said to him. I have two nice things to say about this hotel. First, location was convenient in relation to Sea World, and Fiesta Texas. Second, the pool was a great size, pretty clean and located in an interior courtyard.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there are any good rooms to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus L, Director of Sales & Operations at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Jennifer,
I would like to apologize for the stay experience you had with us recently. It pains me when our guests do not have a great time during their stay. Our management team is working diligently to improve our property and make the necessary upgrades and improvements needed. We have a big selection for breakfast along with hot sausage and our freshly cooked eggs every morning. We have had many guest complain that other guests spill food in the corridors on their way back to their rooms and so we have tried to work on that issue and will continue too until a satisfactory solution is found. I am aware that some guests have sporadically been smoking in the interior courtyard - and we are a Fully Non-Smoking property. Because of this issue, we instructed our staff to make our guests aware that ALL the interior building and courtyard is non-smoking and signs are being placed accordingly to insure that everyone is made aware. Thank you for staying with us. Feel free to call me when you are coming back to San Antonio as I would love to have you stay with us again and make sure you have a great stay! Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marcus L, Director of Sales & Operations at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marcus L, Director of Sales & Operations at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The room was not worth the money. It kind of smelled and was not clean. The spa was cold and the door was broken. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Starla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus L, Director of Sales & Operations at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Starla S,

I appreciate you writing your review and stating your issues for us. We always respond to our guests concerns as quickly as possible. I personally went and checked your room and had our maintenance personnel shampoo and deep clean the carpets. We also recently began utilizing new Ecolab products that will help upgrade our room cleaning process. Our hot tub is in perfect working condition but it does require that you our guests ask the staff to turn on the heat for them. Lastly, we were working on installing a different locking mechanism on the pool gate at that time and it has now been replaced. We would love to have you come back and experience our beautiful hotel again and see the changes. Thank you for feedback and patronage, it is always welcome and greatly appreciated. Go HOJO & Go Happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marcus L, Director of Sales & Operations at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My stay was on 4 July 2014 I am disagreeing because the breakfast very poor,swimming pool green, bathroom very bad the shower has a mass of silicone in the corner,the cable tv outlet have the cap broken, the furniture have lot scratchy and old ,the building need remodelation.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank TONYMERCADO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus L, Director of Sales & Operations at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear TONYMERCADO,

We appreciate the time you took to review us and have looked into all of the issues you presented. Our breakfast is a great hot breakfast with freshly cooked eggs, hot waffles, sausage, donuts, bagels, coffee, juices and more. Your feedback is important to us so we can look at areas we can improve in. We apologize for the pool but my pool company assured us that everything was safe and the pool was ready to swim in. If I had any reservations about the safety or condition of the pool I would have ensured that it was immediately closed until the situation was corrected. My guests safety is always priority one. As for the silicone in the corner of the bathtub and the broken wall outlet the cable was on - we have addressed it and corrected it. We are in the process of updating many features at our unique hotel so I would love to have you come visit and stay with us again. Go HOJO & Go Happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Gladys O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marcus L, Director of Sales & Operations at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
North Central
La Quinta Inn San Antonio Vance Jackson
Northwest Side
M-Star San Antonio SeaWorld
M-Star San Antonio SeaWorld
#209 of 357 in San Antonio
36 reviews
Far North Central
Days Inn Suites San Antonio North/Stone Oak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Best Western Ingram Park Inn
Best Western Ingram Park Inn
#126 of 357 in San Antonio
436 reviews
Uptown Broadway
Red Roof Inn San Antonio - Airport
WoodSpring Suites San Antonio So...
#214 of 357 in San Antonio
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio

Address: 6901 W Interstate 10, San Antonio, TX 78213-3989
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: £43 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson- Suites by Wyndham offers their guests large, spacious suites that are designed to bring Comfort to any kind of traveler. Rooms are equipped with the following amenities: Microwave, Mini Fridge, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and room safe in every room. We serve a hot breakfast every morning. Complimentary High Speed Wireless & Wired internet access. Fitness and Business Center and guest laundry room available On site.Conveniently located off of Interstate 10 West near Loop 410, just minutes from all of San Antonio's favorite attractions including the Alamo, downtown Fine Dining, the famous River Walk, La Cantera Mall, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Sea World, South Texas Medical Center, The University of Texas, The University of the Incarnate Word and much more. Every Suite faces a tropical inner Courtyard view overlooking a Sparkling Swimming Pool and Heated Hotub. Four guest entry doors are secured by guest room key access. Choose The Howard Johnson Suites by Wyndham for a great stay at a quality price. As part of the Wyndham Hotel Group, Rewards members are always welcome! Don't forget to provide us with your Wyndham Rewards Number to get your points! Go HOJO & Go Happy!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio / Balcones Heights Hotel San Antonio
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Antonio / Balcones Heights
Howard Johnson San Antonio
San Antonio Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Balcones Heights
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Central San Antonio Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing