We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio
Ranked #39 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“disappointed”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Rooms small, bathroom small. Dirty towels in bathroom when we arrived. No counter space in bathroom, toilet didn't flush well, and shower was short. Maybe this room hadn't received the facelift yet, although the tile in the bathroom did seem new. Wasn't aware of the additional charge to have a king sized bed instead of queen. We are 6'0" and 6'5", we don't fit in a queen sized bed. The refreshing of the room was done promptly, but coffee was not refreshed and we had to track down cleaning service to have in room coffee the next morning. The barber shop that the marketing brags about isn't open on the weekends. The hotel is pretty and the history is obvious, just not what I would expect from a 4 star hotel. With all the options available on the river walk we will go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smallen775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Smallen,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you to help us improve. We strive to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us, and regretfully in your case we failed to meet that criteria. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. Please contact me directly so I have a chance to follow up with your concerns. I look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back again.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Sheraton Gunter San Antonio
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    226
    98
    55
    26
See reviews for
172
235
40
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as part of a conference; this was the second time I have been a guest here. The hotel has been renovated since my last stay. The lobby is modern but still had the old world charm and style.
I remember having a small room and even tinier bathroom my previous visit. This time I was surprised with a large corner room with a king-size bed, chair, table, and plenty of counter space for my things.
The bathroom was HUGE. The toilet, while old, was in a little room in a corner, then a large marble vanity, then a shower. On the other wall was a garden tub (no jets, though) with a large window above it.
The conference facilities were nice although it got hot and stuffy in the room both days after lunch.
This hotel is conveniently located near the Majestic Theater and the Riverwalk. It was an easy stroll to the mall by the convention center although there isn't much shopping there.
Didn't eat in the restaurant.
Valet was expensive but quick and friendly. I have had valet parking before but never the type of system they had...I could send a text to a company number and by the time I got downstairs my car was waiting for me with the A/C already on.
I was on the third floor so I was close enough to hear the street noise, especially in the later hours when the drunks were leaving the Riverwalk. I just turned the fan on the A/C and put in earplugs (supplied by the hotel!) and slept just fine.
Overall, nice hotel!

Room Tip: I believe others have said get a room on the upper floors to avoid the street noise and I agree. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annmarie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Ann Marie,
I am pleased that you were able to join us for your conference. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am pleased that you liked your room and enjoyed the improvements we have made to the property. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Sheraton Gunter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenville, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The hotel is very pretty and the room was nice enough. There seemed to be a few too many problems, though. They couldn't get the room service menus straight. There was a Breakfast in Bed menu list on the bed when I arrived. Said to check off your choices and put on the outer door by 2 a.m. and to check off the time you wanted the meal to arrive. I posted mine by 11 p.m. - and nothing. Wasn't even picked up, much less delivered. Then that evening, my door key no longer worked and the A/C blew hot. TWO men came up and slid the key through the malfunctioning lock. Nothing. Seriously? My card sliding skills are impeccable, lol. It was the key - not me! Took over an hour to bring me a new key card - and the same thing happened two doors down to another woman. Those complaints said, the staff was always extremely polite and tried hard to be helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindiMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Cindi,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you to help us improve. I would like to truly apologize for the issues you had during your stay. We will use your feedback to monitor the quality of the key lock and A/C and will take opportunities to improve. I am pleased that the staff worked hard to ensure you had a pleasant stay. I hope that we have a chance to welcome you back again soon.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Sheraton Gunter San Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel is very nice, unfortunately it was being worked on. I had a room where it seemed a little old. The bed was nice and comfy, but the carpet seemed old and dirty.There was trash in the room when i arrived. The parking was across the street and I had to pay for it. I prob would not stay again until all the renovation is done.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dan,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you to help us improve. Please know that we will use your feedback as an opportunity to improve the guest room experience. We hope to have a chance to welcome you back again soon.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Sheraton Gunter San Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingwood
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have stayed here several times. They have recently remodeled their lobby and it still holds to the time it was built, but with an added uniqueness of current design. We love eating out by the street in their cafe. Very comfortable beds and conveniently located near Riverwalk, Buckhorn and Museum.

We informed them it was our anniversary and they delivered complimentary strawberries to our room. This was not expected at all!

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from the elevator and they accomodated us gladly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Monica,
I am so pleased that you were able to share your special anniversary trip with us! I am so pleased that you enjoyed our newly renovated space and found Market on Houston to be tasty! We look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to San Antonio.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Sheraton Gunter San Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

As someone who grew up in San Antonio, I was glad to see the renovations on this old historic hotel. The lobby, bar and restaurant all look great downstairs. The hotel is in a central location downtown and a very short walk to the River Walk. I'm not a fan of the rooms which is why my rating is as low as it is . The decor could use some serious updating. The bathrooms were small and dated but I expected that. The bed was comfortable and I slept well. Not a bad experience overall but I prefer something more modern.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Tim,
I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am pleased that you enjoyed the renovation throughout the public spaces and that you found the bedding to be comfortable. We have made note of your comments about the decor in the rooms for future refreshes and improvements. I hope that we have a chance to welcome you back again soon.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Sheraton Gunter San Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UAE
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were lucky to get a room at the last minute and were quite happy with our stay. The room was nice but I expected a little more "luxury" in the bath and vanity. That area could use an update! The lobby is lovely and the staff was very pleasant. However, the location is top-notch!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CuriousTraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Curious Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. Thank you for the feedback about the vanity area, we will use it for future improvements. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Sheraton Gunter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk
#48 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Property: Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio
Address: 205 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embrace history and timeless design at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio. 13 conference rooms and Grand Ballroom. Our flexible space can accommodate up to 500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Antonio
San Antonio Sheraton
Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing