We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Havana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Havana
Ranked #82 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I live in Houston and I took my daughter for a 2 day getaway to San Antonio and we stayed at the utterly beautiful, stylish, comfortable Hotel Havana. Liz Lambert is a genius with design! The hotel is warm, cozy, gorgeous with all the amenities you could want with a great personal touch - does not feel like a hotel, more like someone's beautiful home. It does not feel like Texas, actually does not even feel like the US. I feel like I am transported into a space that reminds me of a cross between somewhere in Paris and India... The Ocho Lounge has these incredible chandeliers with teal blue and yellow velvet couches....I would go back to SA just to stay at the Havana!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    89
    24
    21
    6
See reviews for
25
187
20
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Hotel Havana is exactly what they advertise. If you like the B&B style it's for you. Beds are comfy, bath is nice and room is very neat and clean. You have a retro 40's fridge stocked mini bar and snacks in a basket. Now, the wardrobe to hang your clothes is a set of hooks on the wall. The room we stayed is had a lot of street noise. There was also no suitcase rack. The restaurant had a small but good variety of items. The bar was located in the basement and offered excellent drinks. Parking was not included in the room price. A fun place to stay, if you enjoy looking back in time!

Room Tip: Check the website for your choice of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joed6001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Bed was excellent. The bathroom meh, though. I understand that they were trying to keep the feel of the place authentic, but a new tub and maybe some tile cleaning would really go a long way. Breakfast was expensive but pretty damn good. Location wasn't ideal but still walkable to most of the main areas of the riverwalk. overall, i'd say it was a good stay... definitely could feel the san jose and st. cecilia vibe...if you like ll's other properties, you'll like this place...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

Good location, not as far from the action as i had feared. We walked out the front, acrossed the street and walked down a flight of stairs to catch the river taxi. It was $5 ride for a ride into all the craziness. When we were done at night, it was a short cab ride back. Beautiful old building, tastefully decorated. We had a king suite- not huge, but very nice. Big, thick towels and nice bed linens, good quality toiletries. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We spent an hour or so in Ocho waiting for our room to be ready (we were early), and really liked it. (tip: this may seem silly, but check out the metal chairs on the patio. They are much more comfortable than they appear. I LOVE those chairs!). Here's the only cons: it was a bit loud at night- not something that is usually an issue for me. It seems like we heard every creak, door slam, and thunk in the whole building. I'm sure it has to do with the acoustics in an old house with bare wooden floors. Not much to do about that. Also, it would have been nice to have coffee in the morning. The suggestion to go outside, walk around to the back of the building and order coffee at Ocho is not too appealing when you're trying to check out and get on the road. A simple coffee urn in the lobby with some to-go cups would have been a thoughtful touch. Overall, a great hotel!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank gypsypermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunt, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We have visited San Antonio many times as it is not that far from where we live. For our anniversary we decided to try something different and stayed at the Hotel Havana. Our daughter and her husband have stayed there several times and recommended it. What a great place! They have renovated this lovely old building with charming hardwood floors and furnished it with antiques, retro fridg, and unique accessories. We had a King Suite on the first floor and it was very quiet. HHl is away from the busy hussle and bussle of the main river walk which was a nice change. On the night we arrived we took a stroll along the new river walk area close to the hotel. It was not crowded and the landscaping was beautiful. The hotel has several verandas for visiting or sharing a meal or drink. The OCHO lounge was a great place for dinner and wonderful breakfasts! We dined inside for the hot evenings and had breakfast on the patio in the mornings when cooler. All the food we had was excellent. Highly recommend the churros! Only con was the parking area was small and tight if you have a larger vehical.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsue5246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Having just returned from a wonderful week long trip to the sunshine state of Texas and in particular San Antonio I felt compelled to highlight a lovely boutique hotel called The Havana....this should be a priority for anyone wishing to experience the delights of a break from the norm of the main chains and the staff provide not only a warm hospitable welcome but also look forward to making your stay as enjoyable as possible...also worth popping round the corner to OCHO to sample the delights of a light breakfast snack, an extensive lunch menu or just to sit and relax alongside the River.....special note of thanks to Alex, Sandra and John who all made my stay that little bit extra special....looking forward to seeing you all in 3 - 4 months

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Hotel Havana is everything I've ever thought an historic hotel should be. They strike a perfect balance between vintage and modern. The lobby is sparcely decorated with antique furniture that has been upholstered in modern fabrics. There are beautiful hardwood floors and area rugs throughout. We stayed on the 2nd floor in a queen suite and there were 2 different common area verandas to choose from. One is at the back of the hotel and the other at the front, right outside of our room. We were supposed to meet some friends from San Antonio while we were there, and ended up just having them over to the hotel where we sat on the veranda and had drinks and talked the entire evening.

The room was very hip and furnished with antiques and a vintage style fridge. The high ceilings and vintage details make you feel like you've stepped back into the 1930's. The bed was unbelievable. The wifi was easy to connect and very fast.

The only "cons"? 1. A coffee maker in the room would've been nice. 2. We ordered a very expensive breakfast from room service that ended up being very mediocre. 3. When I came down the elevator at one point, a member of the maintenance staff appeared to be taking a nap (was lying down) on the bench at the base of the staircase.

All-in-all, they have done an unbelievable job with this hotel. Everything is very tastefully decorated and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snroberts11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
2,877 reviews
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Havana

Property: Hotel Havana
Address: 1015 Navarro Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#68 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Havana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a quiet stretch of the North Riverwalk known as the Museum Reach, directly adjacent from the Tobin Center for the Performing Arts, Hotel Havana offers elegant accommodations in the heart of San Antonio. From the studios to the Penthouse Suite, each of the 27 rooms and suites is uniquely appointed and designed for comfort. All feature original Bastrop pine floors and are decorated with antique furniture, Turkish rugs and vintage Cuban artwork with an emphasis on creating elegant but uncluttered space for a restful stay. Our luxurious bed linens are custom made and bathrooms are stocked with Red Flower body care products. Each room comes equipped with our signature mini bar featuring local and international snacks, drinks and souvenirs.Hotel Havana is also home to Ocho, a restaurant and lounge space serving drinks and food downstairs in the intimate hotel basement and upstairs on the riverfront. The property was reopened in 2010 by hotelier Liz Lambert and Bunkhouse Group and is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Havana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Havana San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing