We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic”
Review of Hotel Havana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Havana
Ranked #102 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2012

If you love historic buildings then you will love the Hotel Havana. I stayed for one night at the Hotel Havana and I was blown away. The parking lot is to the right of the hotel. Parking is $17 a night or $25 for your stay. The location is not at the center of downtown but everything is in reasonable walking distance so the price of parking is fair. You will spend about $10 each time you park in a lot or parking garage. Right across the street from the hotel is access to the Riverwalk via a stairway. The center of the Riverwalk is about a 10 minute walk but the beauty and tranquility of the scenery makes the length of the walk unnoticeable. There are wood floors throughout, a winding staircase leading to floors 2 and 3 and each room had a beautiful wooden door. There is also an elevator available with access to all floors. I stayed in room 37, a studio room. From the doorway you step up to the bed area. The bed was really comfortable and the pillows were fluffy. There is a flat screen TV with basic cable. There are shuttered windows around the entire bedroom area and they all open. There are not any closets but there are two drawers and antique hooks on the wall for hanging. The bed is high enough that my suitcase fit nicely underneath it. There is a desk with a lamp and a night stand with another lamp and a radio that comes with an auxiliary cable. It was a small radio but the sound was of high quality. The refrigerator was fully stocked with sodas, beer, wine, liquor and snack foods. The items were pricey but that is to be expected of all hotels. The bathroom had plenty of towels and washcloths. The shower/tub had large bottles of shampoo, conditioner and body wash. The toilet paper was one ply so if you have a particular preference for higher quality toilet paper, you should bring your own. There is a pedestal sink and in the drawer in the bed area there is a hair dryer. There was not an exhaust fan so if you are travelling with others you may want to bring an air freshener. There is not an iron or ironing board in the room but room service will bring one up to you if you need one. It was a Shark brand iron. The Ocho dining and bar area was spectacular. I did not eat there but I did go into the Ocho lounge in the basement. This area was beautiful. It is dimly lit with red votive candles and there are several antique chairs and couches with coffee tables. The only issue I had was that the bartender was not very creative but he was friendly and honest about his limited abilities. He only knew how to make what was on their drink menu. For breakfast I ordered room service which arrived on time and was delicious. I had two eggs scrambled and the Toasted Jo's Banana Bread which was a thick sliced of banana bread topped with a thick layer of crunchy peanut butter, sliced bananas and drizzled with powdered sugar and honey. The only thing that could've been a problem was my room and 2 others wrap around an outdoor terrace with a table and patio furniture and it does not close so there could've been people out there at any hour. I had a great stay and would definitely be returning to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2012

Excellent. Awesome decoration, great location, great food and a splendid bar.
I stay for 3 nights and everything was perfect, even the merchandise of Havana is great!
The fridge in the rooms are extremely convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NAX N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This hotel was such a nice surprise in every way. It is beautiful, clean and cool. The staff was really sweet and helpful. I have read some reviews here saying that it is quite a walk in to central San Antonio so when came there we were really surprised of how close it was to everything. Riverwalk is just outside so you can walk on it. This part of the riverwalk is very nice to, not as hysterical.
Parking is 17$ per night but it was cheaper than many other hotels. Don´t miss the hotelbar "Ocho". It was lovely and had such nice light. Just a really cool place that I would go to even if I didn´t stay in the hotel.
The only bad thing i have to say is that there is nowhere to hang your clothes. No closets or hangers.
One more not so good thing was that the AC was really really loud. That brings down the rating on the sleeping quality.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I live in Houston and I took my daughter for a 2 day getaway to San Antonio and we stayed at the utterly beautiful, stylish, comfortable Hotel Havana. Liz Lambert is a genius with design! The hotel is warm, cozy, gorgeous with all the amenities you could want with a great personal touch - does not feel like a hotel, more like someone's beautiful home. It does not feel like Texas, actually does not even feel like the US. I feel like I am transported into a space that reminds me of a cross between somewhere in Paris and India... The Ocho Lounge has these incredible chandeliers with teal blue and yellow velvet couches....I would go back to SA just to stay at the Havana!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Hotel Havana is exactly what they advertise. If you like the B&B style it's for you. Beds are comfy, bath is nice and room is very neat and clean. You have a retro 40's fridge stocked mini bar and snacks in a basket. Now, the wardrobe to hang your clothes is a set of hooks on the wall. The room we stayed is had a lot of street noise. There was also no suitcase rack. The restaurant had a small but good variety of items. The bar was located in the basement and offered excellent drinks. Parking was not included in the room price. A fun place to stay, if you enjoy looking back in time!

Room Tip: Check the website for your choice of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joed6001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Bed was excellent. The bathroom meh, though. I understand that they were trying to keep the feel of the place authentic, but a new tub and maybe some tile cleaning would really go a long way. Breakfast was expensive but pretty damn good. Location wasn't ideal but still walkable to most of the main areas of the riverwalk. overall, i'd say it was a good stay... definitely could feel the san jose and st. cecilia vibe...if you like ll's other properties, you'll like this place...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Good location, not as far from the action as i had feared. We walked out the front, acrossed the street and walked down a flight of stairs to catch the river taxi. It was $5 ride for a ride into all the craziness. When we were done at night, it was a short cab ride back. Beautiful old building, tastefully decorated. We had a king suite- not huge, but very nice. Big, thick towels and nice bed linens, good quality toiletries. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We spent an hour or so in Ocho waiting for our room to be ready (we were early), and really liked it. (tip: this may seem silly, but check out the metal chairs on the patio. They are much more comfortable than they appear. I LOVE those chairs!). Here's the only cons: it was a bit loud at night- not something that is usually an issue for me. It seems like we heard every creak, door slam, and thunk in the whole building. I'm sure it has to do with the acoustics in an old house with bare wooden floors. Not much to do about that. Also, it would have been nice to have coffee in the morning. The suggestion to go outside, walk around to the back of the building and order coffee at Ocho is not too appealing when you're trying to check out and get on the road. A simple coffee urn in the lobby with some to-go cups would have been a thoughtful touch. Overall, a great hotel!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank gypsypermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,144 reviews
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 358 in San Antonio
3,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Havana

Address: 1015 Navarro St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#68 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £106 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Havana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a quiet stretch of the North Riverwalk known as the Museum Reach, directly adjacent from the Tobin Center for the Performing Arts, Hotel Havana offers elegant accommodations in the heart of San Antonio. From the studios to the Penthouse Suite, each of the 27 rooms and suites is uniquely appointed and designed for comfort. All feature original Bastrop pine floors and are decorated with antique furniture, Turkish rugs and vintage Cuban artwork with an emphasis on creating elegant but uncluttered space for a restful stay. Our luxurious bed linens are custom made and bathrooms are stocked with Red Flower body care products. Each room comes equipped with our signature mini bar featuring local and international snacks, drinks and souvenirs.Hotel Havana is also home to Ocho, a restaurant and lounge space serving drinks and food downstairs in the intimate hotel basement and upstairs on the riverfront. The property was reopened in 2010 by hotelier Liz Lambert and Bunkhouse Group and is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Havana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Havana San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing