We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Experience”
Review of Hotel Havana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Havana
Ranked #108 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is my preferred hotel when staying in San Antonio. It's right off Riverwalk, if that is what you are into, but I prefer it because it's close to almost anything in SA. The restaurant, Ocho, is great for breakfast, lunch and dinner. But really Ocho is just a beautiful space. The bar downstairs has great cocktails and is nice and dark; certainly gives it a cooler feel during hot Texas nights. The rooms are great - love the bed/mattress and the mini-bar situation is amazing - check out the fridge.

Room Tip: Try the penthouse for a romantic experience or any of the rooms near one of the upstairs terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jo3699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was a cool hipster hotel downtown San Antonio. I arrived late in the evening is the hotel was quiet. It is very dark and clean and smells of incense. When I got to my room I was pleasantly surprised to find a Smeg fridge filled with glass bottled sodas, water, and alcoholic beverages.b what a nice added touch! I liked the antique architecture, hard wood floors, desk area, tile in the bathroom, etc. staff was welcoming and friendly. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VinoVixen1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel could charge $400 a night in NYC... The bones of the hotel are great and the renovation was not overly done. The sandalwood incense wafts throughout the lobby and rooms. I was worried about the noise from other reviews but we had a room facing the parking lot. A pro tip - don't spend $17 a day on parking when you can literally park across the street for $8.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Its unbelivable, but I got a room with windows facing the hotel bar "Ocho". There was loud conversation and laughing till 2am. To think I payed 200 dollars for a terrible stay it makes me so upset. The room was clean though,thats the only pro I can think.
Never again!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Dani& M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley C, Director Of Operations at Hotel Havana, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your comments on your most recent stay with us. We are pleased you found that the hotel was clean however; I do want to apologize for any inconveniences you experienced while staying with us with the noise from the restaurant. Unfortunately due to the 100 year age of the hotel you can definitely at times hear other things going on in the hotel. I offer that not as an excuse but an explanation. We have recently added ear plugs in all the rooms for our guest and continue to explore ideas to keep the noise level to a minimum. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Best Regards,
Ashley Ciomperlik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The bad things first. Loved the hotel a lot but some things could still be improved. We too stayed in Room 15 and our friends stayed in the room directly above us. We were lucky and knew they would not be up all night moving furniture and walking around but i can understand how a previous reviewer had problems from someone pacing all night-you can hear the floor squeaking a lot when they are walking around. I did not mind the large bottles of toiletries, but I hope they really check them out occasionally. Our lotion seemed to be old and smelled funny and not in a good way. Our bed was nice, but the foot board was too high to see the TV. My husband and I both laughed when we were watching it and both commented that we had to watch it in the reflection of the window and poster because we could not see because our view was blocked. So the TV should have been placed higher. No pool, but guests do get to use a nearby hotel's pool, but that was very tiny. Wi-fi was spotty and frustrating.

Now the nice...The location was good and quiet even though it looked like they had a nice crowd at the bar. OCHO is fabulous. Had drinks and breakfast, but they need to figure out more veggie options for dinner even though it is a small menu. Loved the SMEG fridge and all it was stocked with, the sitting area was nice and the whole atmosphere of the hotel is fabulous. I liked the incense in the common area, but my husband did not. Staff was very congenial and accommodating. A/C in the room rocks!

Room Tip: Not Room 15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Travel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I enjoyed my room in this recently renovated old hotel. It's part of a small Texas chain that has a lot of style. It's on the river walk and for my tastes a much better places than the international chain hotels a little more in the center.

Room Tip: Room 10 was my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewYorkarchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed in room 15 this weekend, and we were so impressed with Hotel Havana. It's beautiful and comfortable. You can tell that every detail was chosen carefully, and aesthetically it's hard to beat. The location is perfect, since it's on a quieter part of the River Walk. We had the unfortunate situation of having a downstairs room which would have been perfect and quiet except that the people above us were pacing madly for hours. I don't know what they were doing or why, but they seemed to be doing it in high heels. Really strange. I had asked if there were rooms available upstairs and they were booked, so no luck there. Anyway, it's a very beautiful hotel but it's so expensive that I probably will not choose to stay there again knowing that I may be awake for hours wondering what on earth someone could be doing in their hotel room that required so much walking. Are you a Fitbit addict? Did you not achieve your 10,000 steps per day goal? Did you drink too much caffeine? Anyway, I recommend staying upstairs if you can, and if you have the good luck to have an upstairs room please do your pacing in SOCKS.

Room Tip: Choose a room upstairs if you can. If you have the good fortune to have a room upstairs, please lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kittythedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 357 in San Antonio
3,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 357 in San Antonio
3,187 reviews
Menger Hotel
#21 of 357 in San Antonio
2,670 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 357 in San Antonio
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Havana

Address: 1015 Navarro St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#68 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £99 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Havana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a quiet stretch of the North Riverwalk known as the Museum Reach, directly adjacent from the Tobin Center for the Performing Arts, Hotel Havana offers elegant accommodations in the heart of San Antonio. From the studios to the Penthouse Suite, each of the 27 rooms and suites is uniquely appointed and designed for comfort. All feature original Bastrop pine floors and are decorated with antique furniture, Turkish rugs and vintage Cuban artwork with an emphasis on creating elegant but uncluttered space for a restful stay. Our luxurious bed linens are custom made and bathrooms are stocked with Red Flower body care products. Each room comes equipped with our signature mini bar featuring local and international snacks, drinks and souvenirs.Hotel Havana is also home to Ocho, a restaurant and lounge space serving drinks and food downstairs in the intimate hotel basement and upstairs on the riverfront. The property was reopened in 2010 by hotelier Liz Lambert and Bunkhouse Group and is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Havana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Havana San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing