We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Nearby Hotels
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk(San Antonio)
US$136
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$245
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$171
US$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni La Mansion del Rio(San Antonio)
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni San Antonio Hotel(San Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$314
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Contessa(San Antonio)
US$163
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$293
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$361
US$314
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,266)
Filter reviews
1,266 results
Traveller rating
650
392
127
57
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
650
392
127
57
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrozen margaritasthe rivergreat locationvalet parkingrooftop poolevening receptionlight dinnertwo bedroom suitefull kitchenconvention centerliving areawithin walking distancebreakfast and dinnersan antonio riverwalkgreat place to staycomplimentary breakfastwaffles
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
979 - 984 of 1,266 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I am staying at the Homewood Suites at the Riverwalk. If you want to be right on the best part of the Riverwalk, then do not stay at this hotel. It is only a few short walks to the shops and restaurants on the Riverwalk.
The rooms are a bit tired and the bathrooms (at least mine) show a lot of wear. The internet connection is only so-so, much like many hotels that you go to anymore
But, the good news is that the rooms are spacious-The staff (particularly the front desk folks) are just fantastic and so helpful and cheerful.
All in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christyjmccormick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd H, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback and we take it very seriously. To be fair, we may not be on what you would consider the "best" part of the river walk, but many of our guests prefer the peace and quiet that our location offers. It is nice to be able to leave the hustle and bustle of the restaurants and bars and come home to peace and quiet. Thank you for choosing Homewood Suites. We truly appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Homewood suites delivered as again! We had a group of six and had an awesome group business trip and the food was great! I especially like this location because it is close to all the riverwalk restaurants yet far enough away for seclusion and peace. The breakfasts were excellent as always.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Great location, right on Riverwalk, close to everything - LaVillita, Market Square, Majestic Theater. Easy walk to Alamo. Big rooms, good breakfast, and nice manager reception Monday-Thursday, actual meal not just appetizers and wine, beer, and margaritas. Friendly, helpful staff. Older hotel but well maintained.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Woke up Saturday morning, and decided for our 11th anniversary to take a trip to San Antonio. I checked web, all hotels booked or cost $300+ a night! Undeterred, we made the 3 hour drive. We arrived in the Riverwalk area and saw all the streets lined with chairs and people. We had NO IDEA it was Fiesta! That explains the booked hotels. Husband suggested we find our way to the Homewood Suites as we recalled a wonderful stay 5 years ago!

I walked up to front desk and asked if by ANY chance they had any rooms with two beds (we had our 9 and 7 year olds with us). Audra(?) was incredibly helpful and found us a WONDERFUL room - indeed a suite! She and Laura went out of their way to let us know about ALL of the wonderful festivities going on in the area. It was DIVINE intervention!

Why do we like this hotel? Location, Value and Service!

Location - It is right on the Riverwalk, but not the rowdy part. It's near the southwest end of the Riverwalk loop, and has a terrific view. Yet, since there are no restaurants in this section, it is nice and quiet. If you take the boat tour, you can see how the other hotels are in the thick of it all. Terrific for 24/7 partiers. Not so much if you (like us) need SOME quiet and down time.

The entire back wall of the hotel is glass - a giant window facing the river. So there is no such thing as a "bad view" here! In spite of the quiet, you literally are seconds away from the festivities and sights. You can either walk out of the front of the hotel (onto West Market St), go up 2 SHORT blocks and enter the Riverwalk by stairs just beyond the Aztec Theatre. You'll find yourself at the doorsteps of the Iron Cactus restaurant, and in the midst of the busy fun parts of the Riverwalk.

OR you can enter the Riverwalk just beneath the glass walls of the hotel (stairs off St. Mary Street) and meander your way through the quiet part of the walk, and work your way up to the ruckus (fun ruckus, none-the-less).

Value: In spite of the location, the price was quite reasonable! Indeed, it's at least $100/night less than the Westin (next door). Granted, the Homewood Suites doesn't have the high-end restaurants of the other hotels. But there were so many other places to eat within 100 feet that it didn't matter!

The suites are IDEAL for families - fully equipped kitchen, table and sofa sleeper. TWO TVs (so hubby didn't have to invoke "Daddy Privilege" to watch sports. Kids were able to go into the bedroom, shut the door, and enjoy). HUGE bathroom, and the sink OUTSIDE of the toilet/shower area made it easy for multiple folks to prep at once.

There were several young children in the hotel at the same time as our visit. The lobby is kid friendly! It was clean and tidy. I didn't have to worry about the children breaking anything pricey. Yet it was still very elegant and comfortable! Perfect balance of aesthetics and comfort!

There is a small but lovely pool on the rooftop, including a sling for those with disabilities needing help entering the heated pool. Plenty of loung chairs and tables (and towels). The view alone is worth the price!

Finally, the service. We were treated so well the last time we were there (five years ago) and recalled how helpful the staff was in giving us advice on how to navigate the Riverwalk with a stroller. Hence our reason for seeking out Homewood Suites again this round. SO GLAD WE DID!

Everyone - the valets, front desk, food service - everyone without exception was polite, helpful and responsive to our needs. Indeed the poor valets were stuck getting cars when a major storm hit the Flambeau parade, but they were uncomplaining. Soaked, but still smiling!

I am a Hilton Honors member (forgot to mention that when I checked in) which goes to show the staff provide excellent service to everyone! Not only their preferred members!

Thank you for making our anniversary weekend a very special time! As Laura told me (as we checked out), we should return every April so that the entire city of San Antonio can help us celebrate our anniversary!

I think we will!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drjomc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd H, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful review! I honestly believe you hit on every aspect of the hotel and your review was precise and accurate. Thank you for choosing Homewood Suites and we look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

The hotel was clean and crisp. The rooms were spacious and quiet. With the suite, it makes it very accomodating if you or your spouse can't sleep. One of you can move to the living/dining area and watch TV or read or whatever without disturbing the other.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd H, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with our hotel. I am very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We truly value your opinion and appreciate your business. We hope to have you as our guest in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews