We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Ranked #31 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very convenient”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is a convenient hotel with a central location. The service was excellent, the price very reasonable. Breakfast was poor with hardly any choice, no boiled eggs and no fruit. Coffee is free during the day. No hot meals are served over the weekend. Why?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd H, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for posting this review of your recent stay with us. I am glad you were provided with excellent service from our staff. Regarding breakfast, while we do serve a full breakfast on a daily basis, we do change menu items daily. We always provide an egg item such as scrambled eggs, omletes, and even an egg sandwich at times. We also always have fruit available in the form of bananas, oranges, and apples. We do not serve our evening meal Thursday-Sunday. This is actually a standard of Homewood Suites but it also gives our guests the chance to try out one or two of the many wonderful restaurants and the river walk. Thank you very much for staying with us. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    362
    115
    51
    38
See reviews for
398
240
34
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The hotel was close to many attractions which made it easy for sight seeing. The rooms for the most part were clean, my daughter slept on the pull out couch which was a little uncomfortable for her, but was nice because she had privacy and could watch her own television. The breakfast was nice and area was clean. Because we were so busy we never experienced the evening snack, but I am sure it was good. We would recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 411Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd H, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for posting this review of your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you pointed out, we are close to many of the downtown attractions and most are within walking distance. I hope you decide to stay with us next time you are in San Antonio and that you are able to partake in the evening meal. Thank you for your business, we truly appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

If you follow my reviews you will know that I love the Homewood Suites Brand.

This is one of the few times I have stayed at a Homewood Downtown, the only other time is in Chicago.

This property is ideal because it is right on The River Walk and near things like the Alamo. My wife who went for the trip really appreciated the location as she could walk everywhere.

The suites are huge with lots of room to lounge and work in. My wife commented on how clean the suites were.

We had breakfast there every morning and the food was good. It is nice to have the breakfast at the hotel as it saves money and we do not have to leave the hotel to find breakfast.

All the service people we encountered were very friendly.

The one thing that stands out for me is that we asked for two beds and we checked a number of times before the visit and they confirmed two beds. The surprise is when we got to the hotel there was two beds. You do not know how important this is to your clients that you deliver what you say you will. I have been to other hotels and they do not have the two beds and may have to move you the next day. Not a good start after a long plane ride. Great job Homewood San Antonio!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tempoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd H, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you very much for this review of your stay with us. Your feedback is critical to our success and you should know that we appreciate it. We do our best to make sure every guest received the bed types they reserve and I am glad you received the two beds you reserved. We truly appreciate your business and hope to have you back as our guests next time you are in San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I was surprised not only by the enormous size of our room but also by how much free food they serve down in the lobby! We were there for a wedding so weren't able to take advantage of the early dinners (everything from chicken parm with salad and breadsticks to beef stroganoff!) but the breakfasts were pretty incredible. My only regret is that the waffle line was so long :) Rooms were clean and staff very pleasant and helpful

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank justtojess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd H, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased you found our suites enormous and that you were able to partake in our breakfast buffet. Next time you stay with us I hope you are able to bet a Belgian waffle. They are really very tasty. Thank you for choosing Homewood Suites. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petoskey, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

It really was perfect for us. The front desk staff went out of their way to answer our every question and make great suggestions! The morning breakfast staff made sure we had apples and oranges to eat this morning on our way to the airport even though the regular buffet hadn't started. Location was convenient, the views of the river were fun. We would definitely stay there again!

Paul K

Room Tip: If you book the suite as we did, their policy is to only change bed linens once every two days. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd H, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is always great when we hear from our guests that our hotel was perfect for their needs. We also love to hear when our guests say they will stay with us again. Thank you for your business. We truly appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My family and I stayed at this property March 19-21, 2014. Upon arrival, at 3:15 PM, the valet greeted us with a smile and quickly and professionally assisted us in unpacking the car. This property's location is quite nice, it was quiet in the evenings however it was a quick walk to the action. The desk staff was friendly. The lobby was clean, nicely decorated, comfortable to lounge in, and smelled of "rose water."

We were told our room was not ready, that we could check the bags, and we would be called when the room was ready. We checked the bags, left a number where we could be reached and left the hotel to do some sightseeing. We returned to the hotel at 7:15-7:30, having heard nothing, to find the room ready. We booked a two room, three bed suite, as I have at other properties in the past. This particular room was nothing more than two separate adjoined rooms, which lends itself to an awkward layout. While housekeeping did a fine job, the room itself looked poorly kept. The furniture was well worn and "wobbly." The bed felt saggy and worn.The baths were small, worn and the caulking mildewed. We found breakfast lacking and underwhelming, more in keeping with a budget hotel. Had we been staying longer than two nights we would have moved to a different hotel. This room genuinely felt "old and worn."

After looking through the positive reviews for this hotel on this and other sites, it seems as we had the "family room." The room reserved for those travelling with children. A room beaten and bruised by tiny feet. I am disappointed in myself for spending $465.84 a night here.

In summary, the prime location was not enough to justify the premium price.

In comparison, the Hyatt House, two bedroom, three bed suite we stayed in on the last night of our trip at a THIRD the price, was twice the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd H, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased to hear our staff took great care of you upon your arrival. I apologize if you felt your suite felt "old and worn" and I will certainly share your comments with the ownership of the property. It is my hope that you mentioned your issues with a member of my team and they were able to assist you in making things right. If not, please feel free to reach out to me. We truly appreciate you staying with us and will work hard to earn back your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at the Homewood Suites several times and it's been consistently a great experience. The rooms/suites are comfortable and always very clean. The staff is polite and helpful. Great value for the price. Well managed -- we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd H, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your repeat business and hope to have you as our guest in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
East Side
Riverwalk Vista
Riverwalk Vista
#27 of 356 in San Antonio
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#12 of 356 in San Antonio
2,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Address: 432 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#27 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#45 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy being in the heart of scenic and historic San Antonio, Texas at our Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Antonio-Riverwalk/Downtown hotel. Situated on the famous Riverwalk, our all-suite hotel is convenient to historical sites, shopping and dining. Connect with home and the office with free high-speed internet access. Start your day with a hot full breakfast served daily. At the end of a long day, unwind with our evening dinner and drinks (beer, wine, margaritas) served Monday to Thursday. Both meals are included with your stay. Or, prepare your own meal in the fully equipped kitchen, featuring a refrigerator, microwave, two-burner stove top, dishwasher and utensils. Lounge in one of our one or two bedroom suites with a separate bedroom and living area featuring a sofabed and TVs with premium cable channels. Host a meeting or event for up to 90 people and use the services available in our business center. Relax in our rooftop pool or whirlpool, or work out on the latest fitness equipment. Shop at nearby Rivercenter Mall and El Mercado. Learn about Texas history at the Alamo and Governor’s Palace. Dine on local and international foods. Plan family activities at Sea World, Splashtown and the San Antonio Zoo. Business travelers will enjoy our proximity to the H. B. Gonzales Convention Center. Our multi-lingual staff will help you find the best options in San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Riverwalk / Downtown Hotel San Antonio
Homewood Suites San Antonio
Homewood San Antonio
San Antonio Homewood Suites
Homewood Suites By Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing