We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“explore your other lodging options in the area before booking here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area
Ranked #129 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“explore your other lodging options in the area before booking here”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I checked in very tired and needing a quick nap before I had work obligations. I discovered I had no shower curtain. I called the front desk. About 15 minutes later I told a housekeeper on my floor. It ended up taking almost an hour to get a shower curtain. No Nap. The closet door won't stay closed. The next day as I am working at the desk using my laptop, my desk chair was swapped out with a clean one so mine could be cleaned. The new chair is fabric and padded.....and was soaking wet from being cleaned. I guess they thought I needed to stop working for a couple hours. Noise carries too well in this hotel. The rooms are very small. The internet seems slow.

The interesting part of this hotel, to some people, is that it used to be a jail. Executions were performed at the jail. They did the hangings on the second floor utilizing a trap door.

End result is that I am checking out 1 day early and will be staying at another hotel chain and won't be staying at this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: The best way to get a good room is to stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felipe G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Henry B,


We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay
a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service
to all of our guests at reasonable prices. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you've left unhappy.

Please accept my sincere apology.

I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our
guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're
doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

Please be assured that the housekeeping issues you've raised have been addressed, and the appropriate action has been taken.

Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us.


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    123
    64
    36
    21
See reviews for
118
101
17
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Funky hotel blocks away from the Riverwalk. One elevator for 5 floors which made it a long wait at best. Staff preoccupied with personal calls or visits from boyfriends blocking the parking lot. Room was fine though a bit scrunched maybe due to being a county jail years ago. And the hallway had a distinct odor of mold or mildew. Not a great hotel but was somewhat inexpensive for this city. We would go elsewhere in the future.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the parking fee to be waived. If you are a HIE regular, they will do it for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyfaberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear johnnyfaberdeen,

Thank you for the candid feedback. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve the quality of product and service that we offer.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nacogdoches, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This hotel has an interesting history. Rooms were older but very clean and comfortable. Location is fair, you can easily walk to riverwalk and the market. The staff here is awesome, friendly and helpful. Breakfast is exceptional for a small hotel. Overall i would stay here over and over again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arc1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felipe G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Arc1969,

Thank you for your feedback! We are so happy to be your hotel of choice while in San Antonio! We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Had a 2 night stay here and really enjoyed the connivence and location. Its 2 blocks from the River walk on a quiet street and close to plenty of restaurants for after work.

Wifi is slower than at other Holiday Inn Express hotels but other than that its the experience I come to expect. Clean spacious room, and quick checkin/out. Staff was very friendly and gave me directions to the couple places I needed to go.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni I, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Steve,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Historic Holiday Inn Express Riverwalk. In addition thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel Wi-Fi and it's performance.Steve you can be sure that this is something that we will be taking care of right away so that we may prevent it from happening again to another future guest. It is feedback like this that enables us to better serve our guests' needs. Thank you for taking the time out to leave this wonderful review for us and we do look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is a great pick for value near the riverwalk. It's only a couple blocks walk to the riverwalk and the cost is significantly more affordable than staying right on the riverwalk. The rooms are decent, both in size and cleanliness. the windows are the coolest feature, original to the building and casting a long shadow at night, very cool. I'll definitely stay here again; I'm an IHG priority member and was pretty happy with the stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni I, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Historic Holiday Inn Express Riverwalk. I am so glad to hear that your visit to San Antonio was both relaxing and productive! We hope to see you again soon and thank you for being a beloved Priority Member!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Jennifer is an asset to your establishment. She was very helpful and went above and beyond. Thank you for the great service Jennifer! Location is very close to information office allowing you to get trolley/bus day tickets.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jashcod74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni I, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Riverwalk. I'm glad to hear that Jennifer was able to take care of your needs. We hope to see you again soon both in San Antonio and at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Point New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Each morning, we had to ask one of the staff walking around to spray deodorizer. Beds made, but for 5 days, no new sheets. Towels were ok. Showers did not have hot water...Breakfast...the only good thing. The catch is you have to pay $16 a night to park in a vacant lot across the street~they don't watch it, so it is basically, telling anyone walking around to see if your car is open, because there is no security. Don't leave anything in it or visible. We got the nights free because I was a priority club member~f not it would have cost me and extra $80...not great for no supervision, there is no parking and if the hotel is full and you come home after 8 you are s.o.l.

Room Tip: Don't ask for room 202. It had mold above the bed and 307 smelled musty and damp.room 202 right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyof534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Familyof534,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#126 of 354 in San Antonio
689 reviews
Arsenal
La Quinta Inn & Suites  San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area
Address: 120 Camaron St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Antonio Hotel Near a Variety of Attractions The historic atmosphere, excellent accommodations and friendly staff make the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Antonio, Texas near the Alamo, River Walk area, and Trolley perfect for both business and leisure travelers.Our hotel in San Antonio, TX is conveniently located within walking distance from the Alamo and the world-famous San Antonio River Walk. Visitors may enjoy shopping at La Villita Historic Arts Village, Rivercenter Mall and Market Square, the largest Mexican marketplace outside Mexico. Ride the local trolley to the many attractions within a mile of our hotel, such as the Tower of the America and IMAX theater.Business travelers benefit from the great location of this historic hotel in San Antonio, TX. We are situated near Valera Energy Corporation, Coca Cola and Pepsi bottling companies, Boeing and Fort Sam Houston. Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center and the Alamodome are a mile from our San Antonio, Texas hotel, which features free high-speed Internet access and a 24-hour business center.From the complimentary hot breakfast bar to the flow-regulated Kohler showerheads, our accommodations go beyond cheap hotels in San Antonio. Relax in the pool and whirlpool, work out in the fitness center and rest comfortably every night in a triple-sheeted bed with four pillows. You'll receive excellent service and amenities while lodging in our San Antonio, Texas hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio North Hotel San Antonio
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing