We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area
Ranked #134 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Wonderful staff especially Monique at the front desk & Monica in the breakfast area. Great breakfast selection! They are very personable & helpful gave us bottled water for our daily walk downtown. This stay felt more like a bed & breakfast! Very quiet place to sleep at night. Very pleasant housekeeping staff that made sure we had everything that we needed (extra towels & caffeinated coffee in our room). Our son visited us at the hotel & the staff gave him a complimentary park pass in the lot so that we could enjoy his company while we toured the town without fighting parking. We walked everywhere from the hotel. No need to look for another hotel to stay ...this one is perfect!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Stuckinthemud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felipe G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you soo much for your Kind words, as an Historic property we do try our best to ensure every guest leaves satisfied and happy! It is good to hear that you were able to enjoy downtown San Antonio with your son and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed in this historic old converted prison. It was very clean, great breakfast, but most of all the staff was friendly and beyond helpful. The employee that ran the morning breakfast was outstanding and did every thing she could to make our stay enjoyable. She gave us great information on where to visit and eat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felipe G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you Greg for your kind words! I will be sure to let Monica know that she is doing a great job in Breakfast as well as the rest of the staff! Thank you again and we do look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We selected this hotel for us and all our guest to stay at during the weekend for our sons wedding and all were very very pleased with the hotel and all the staff. Very helpful and kind to us.
Thank You

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felipe G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Louise,

Thank you for your kind words, it is always great to know that our staff has satisfied another traveler visiting our Historic Hotel! Best wishes to your son and the rest of your family! We hope to see you again soon!

Felipe Gonzalez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, great staff, thank you Monica, Monique, and Jennifer for helping to make our visit wonderful! This place used to be an old jail so at night it was kinda spooky!!! The Manager Phillipe was a great guy too, he gave my children some juice even though it was at night and also gave us one of those orange jail shirts someone else wrote about earlier because we had some ac issues at start. All in all great stay, except for parking, oh well can't have everything you want in a downtown area hotel!!! :-)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank BizTrav12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felipe G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We always appreciate the positive comments left by the most important people in our world; our guests!

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff have gone above and beyond in terms of service. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you (and serving you) in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,

Felipe Gonzalez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I actually liked the location of this Hotel and I felt that for the price, it was a great place to stay while in downtown SA. Although I am sure at times the parking could be problematic, I personally did not have any issues with it and felt safe in this neighborhood. It was well within walking distance of the Riverwalk and El Mercato and also the historic sights of the Spanish Governor's Home and the wonderful Churches. I can understand that the elevator could be a problem - we found it to be slow and at the wrong side of the hotel for our room, so we walked and got good exercise! It actually was too cool to use the pool, but I did check it out and found it to be in a small courtyard. The lobby and breakfast area was small, but well stocked and I liked the fact that we could always get coffee or hot chocolate. The hotel staff were all friendly and helpful. No unexpected guests in our 4th floor corner room and no issues with showers or water. The room was squeaky clean and the bathroom was beautifully appointed. All in all, I enjoyed my stay in this historic building and definately would come back again! Thank you, Holiday Inn, for helping to make our girls week in San Antonio so memorable!

Room Tip: Try staying on lower floors - not as good a view, but if you have to use the stairs it is easier. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dasco474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felipe G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate both the great comments, and the 'no so great'
comments that our valued guests provide to us. It is based on this feedback, that we are able to deal with issues as well as pass along appreciation to our award winning staff.

We look forward to having you back to our hotel in the near future, where you will experience a completely newly renovated breakfast bar. It is another investment in our property, to enhance our guest experience!

Best Regards,

Felipe Gonzalez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Room was nice and comfortable, but only one elevator for 5 floors. We were in room 500 at the end of the hall...farthest away from the elevator located at the front of the building. The parking situation was bad. No parking on the property. Had to park across the street and was charged 10.00 for that. Excessive for an overnight stay. Staff was friendly and courteous.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Laurie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felipe G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your candid review regarding your recent visit. We were disappointed to hear that we did not perform well and you can be assured that we will be sharing your feedback with our team to ensure the opportunities are addressed immediately.

We hope you will accept our apologies regarding parking and we hope that we may have an opportunity in the future to show you just how great we can be.

Best regards

Felipe Gonzalez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was a very nice hotel in a good location. There are a lot of things to do in the one mile radius surrounding the hotel. I was impressed with the size of the room and overall cleanliness of the hotel. Hot breakfast and heated pool were a plus. I was disappointed with the fitness center (equipment did not work smoothly), but that was the only negative I experienced. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for parking fee to be waived
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dudefromIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felipe G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Your input, and the feedback from our guests is vitally important to us and we always want our guests expectations met upon arrival.

Per your comments, we've gone through the property's Fitness Center and have ordered to have someone come out and survey our equipment.

We've also shared your comments about the overall cleanliness of the guestroom to the housekeeping staff so that they may keep growing.

Thank you again for your feedback and may you have an exciting adventure on your next travels!

Best Regards,

Felipe Gonzalez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Crockett Hotel
#16 of 358 in San Antonio
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arsenal
La Quinta Inn & Suites  San Antonio Downtown
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area

Address: 120 Camaron St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: £74 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Antonio Hotel Near a Variety of Attractions The historic atmosphere, excellent accommodations and friendly staff make the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Antonio, Texas near the Alamo, River Walk area, and Trolley perfect for both business and leisure travelers.Our hotel in San Antonio, TX is conveniently located within walking distance from the Alamo and the world-famous San Antonio River Walk. Visitors may enjoy shopping at La Villita Historic Arts Village, Rivercenter Mall and Market Square, the largest Mexican marketplace outside Mexico. Ride the local trolley to the many attractions within a mile of our hotel, such as the Tower of the America and IMAX theater.Business travelers benefit from the great location of this historic hotel in San Antonio, TX. We are situated near Valera Energy Corporation, Coca Cola and Pepsi bottling companies, Boeing and Fort Sam Houston. Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center and the Alamodome are a mile from our San Antonio, Texas hotel, which features free high-speed Internet access and a 24-hour business center.From the complimentary hot breakfast bar to the flow-regulated Kohler showerheads, our accommodations go beyond cheap hotels in San Antonio. Relax in the pool and whirlpool, work out in the fitness center and rest comfortably every night in a triple-sheeted bed with four pillows. You'll receive excellent service and amenities while lodging in our San Antonio, Texas hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio North Hotel San Antonio
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing