We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elevator was broke, but hotel was nice otherwise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area
Ranked #128 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Elevator was broke, but hotel was nice otherwise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Monique was AWESOME she took great care of us. The only bad thing was the elevator was broke and we had to carry our luggage up 3 flights of stairs in a very hot stairwell. We meet a lady that had been stuck in the elevator and she was not very happy. Hotel we clean, breakfast was good and hot. It was pretty cool to be sleeping in a former prison, the room had a nice printed out paper about the history of the hotel. My son wanted a copy of that for a souvenir and Monique made him a copy. It was hard to figure out where to park to register, then parking was $10. Not sure we would stay here again, the usual hotel we stay at was booked. This was not a bad hotel, just not thrilled with the elevator being out.

Room Tip: Hotel sign is not easy to see, we drove by 2x looking for it. Parking is an EXTRA $10 or $16 dependi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felipe G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Moe B,

I am sorry to hear of the elevator issues you encountered while visiting our Historic Hotel. Rest assured that we have and will continue to do anything in our power to correct any and all issues brought to our attention. I hope that you will give us another chance to show you our commitment to your comfort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    124
    64
    36
    21
See reviews for
119
101
17
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley, Washington
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed at the hotel for three nights. I did not get in until around 1 a.m. the first night. The next morning I awoke to realize my bathroom had no soap or shampoo. I went downstairs to eat breakfast and get some soap/shampoo. Breakfast supposedly started at 6:30 a.m. I was there at 7 and half of the food wasn't out. When I asked the attendant when she thought the rest of the food would be out she replied "sometime". I went back to my room and proceeded to get in the shower. There was a hairy half used bar of soap in there (yuck!). I got out and noticed toothpaste smeared on the walls, and just a generally dirty bathroom. The last day of my stay the elevator broke, so each time I went out of the hotel I had to climb 5 stories of stairs in the 95+ degree stairwell. Also, the parking was across the street in an open lot and cost extra. Each morning I got hit up by panhandlers as I tried to get into my car. On a good note the bed was relatively comfortable and the AC worked great. But I don't think I would stay here ever again. There are many other hotels to choose from in San Antonio...

Room Tip: Choose something on a lower floor so when the elevator breaks you don't have such a hike...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felipe G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Travellair,
,

Thank you for your candid review regarding your recent visit. We were disappointed to hear that we did not perform well regarding the un fortunate mis hap with our elevator.

As you may know with all mechanical equipment sometimes things go wrong and I am sorry that this was your experience while with us here at the Historic Holiday Inn Express Riverwalk area.Travellair you can be assured that we will be sharing your feedback with our team and management company to ensure the opportunities are addressed immediately.

We hope you will accept our apologies regarding this un fortunate experience while staying with us and we hope that we may have an opportunity in the future to show you just how great we truly can be.

Best regards

Felipe Gonzalez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The building is a registered historical building. Parking next to building is $16 nightly and you have to back out of the narrow parking lot since there is no turnaround area. Parking across the street is $10 nightly and fills up quickly. Hotel street is more like an alley than a street and we saw a couple of homeless people on the block. Location is walking distance (3 blocks) to the Market Plaza where you can purchase trinkets, blankets, etc with a Mexican flare. This area of town is old and run down and maybe only four blocks to the river but that does not get you to the attraction area of the river. No shuttle service is provided and trying to find parking downtown is horrendous. I would suggest find a hotel on the riverwalk near the Alamo, leave car and get around on foot. Just be sure to pick a better area. Our room here was in the second floor. The hall is dark and needed a good cleaning. The room was small and the carpet and a/c were old and dirty. The mattress was nothing fancy but it was clean and comfortable. One chair was located at the desk, no other chair was in the room because it could not fit. The bathroom was clean but small. A blow dryer is provided as well as a small fridge and coffee maker. The elevator is old and hot and for the first time ever, I was stuck on an elevator. We rang the emergency bell, tried to use the emergency phone in the elevator and it would not work. Thank goodness we had cell phones that had the hotel number programmed. Called the front desk and they sent someone that banged and banged on the outside of the door that would not open. Suddenly it started and went to our floor. But we never used it again. Room door handle would stick and took several attempts to get into the room on a few occasions. Front desk clerks were very nice and friendly but a bit understaffed at checkout.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austinwineoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felipe G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your candid review regarding your recent visit. We were disappointed to hear that we did not perform well regarding the certain issues expiained in your review. However you can be assured that we will be sharing your feedback with our team to ensure the opportunities are addressed immediately.

We hope you will accept our apologies regarding this un fortunate experience while staying with us and we hope that we may have an opportunity in the future to show you just how great we truly can be.

Best regards

Felipe Gonzalez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was a great hotel. Extremely friendly service, starting off with Priscilla at check-in. Right off the bat, she gave us free parking for our 5-day stay, told us the best place to eat, and gave us maps of local sites. It's a unique hotel, in that it used to be a jail - now it is restored and very comfortable. My kids loved the pool (heated). Great job with breakfasts, as well. We tend to hit it late, and the food was always well-stocked.
Thanks for such a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felipe G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Andi C,

Thank you for your kind words, I will be sure to let Priscilla know of her great job as well as breakfast! Thank you again and we hope to see you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceburg, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

My family was here for a wedding. The rooms were good and the breakfast was very good and plenty of it. The staff in the hotel were very helpful, especially Monica who worked in the kitchen preparing and keeping everything stocked. She was very helpful in locating areas to visit and just overall kind. The only downfall to the hotel was that the elevator was very slow. Enjoyed my visit there and would go again if the chance arrives. P.S. Very interesting that it used to be a jail.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felipe G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Mona,

Thank you for your recent review of the Historic Holiday Inn Express in San Antonio TX! I am sorry to hear of the elevator issues however due to the historic status of the building it is difficult for us to add on certain items. We do appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to San Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Small hotel in a historic building completely restored and up-to date. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Monique at the front desk went out of her way to make sure our stay was perfect. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet with variety enough for anyone and Monica works very hard to keep things fresh and flowing. Will stay here every time we visit SA.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felipe G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear TC,

Thank you for your kind words, we too hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hotel is clean and very nice. Staff was outstanding and also attentive. Pool is very small and the workout facility is almost non-existence. There were five people in our group staying in various rooms and two experienced strange activity with their rooms, not sure if ghosts or electrical surges...! Parking is difficult at best. The area is a good walk to the river walk. The area is a little rough and the hotel would benefit from having an off-duty officer on premise.

Room Tip: Watch your heads on 5 floor low ceilings if your over 6'0.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanShan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felipe G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear SeanShan,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Historic little Holiday Inn Express here in San Antonio TX. I will be bringing up your comments in our next corporate meeting and encourage others to let us know both the good and bad so that we may be the great hotel we know we are! Again thank you for your comments and we hope to have another chance to show our commitment to your satisfaction!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#127 of 354 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Arsenal
La Quinta Inn & Suites  San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area
Address: 120 Camaron St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Antonio Hotel Near a Variety of Attractions The historic atmosphere, excellent accommodations and friendly staff make the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Antonio, Texas near the Alamo, River Walk area, and Trolley perfect for both business and leisure travelers.Our hotel in San Antonio, TX is conveniently located within walking distance from the Alamo and the world-famous San Antonio River Walk. Visitors may enjoy shopping at La Villita Historic Arts Village, Rivercenter Mall and Market Square, the largest Mexican marketplace outside Mexico. Ride the local trolley to the many attractions within a mile of our hotel, such as the Tower of the America and IMAX theater.Business travelers benefit from the great location of this historic hotel in San Antonio, TX. We are situated near Valera Energy Corporation, Coca Cola and Pepsi bottling companies, Boeing and Fort Sam Houston. Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center and the Alamodome are a mile from our San Antonio, Texas hotel, which features free high-speed Internet access and a 24-hour business center.From the complimentary hot breakfast bar to the flow-regulated Kohler showerheads, our accommodations go beyond cheap hotels in San Antonio. Relax in the pool and whirlpool, work out in the fitness center and rest comfortably every night in a triple-sheeted bed with four pillows. You'll receive excellent service and amenities while lodging in our San Antonio, Texas hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio North Hotel San Antonio
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing