We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Location in San Antonio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area
Ranked #124 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good Value and Location in San Antonio”
Reviewed 12 March 2011

I don't know why they call it the San Antonio "North", because it's pretty much due West of the Alamo and the Riverwalk. After a short walk of maybe 10-12 minutes I found my favorite Irish Pub on the Riverwalk. It's not the most centrally located hotel, but it's not far from the best spots.

The hotel is an old jailhouse that has been restored. You would have no idea the building is 100 years old, because everything looks brand new. My room was on the 2nd floor and was adequate in every way. It was quiet and I had no trouble sleeping.

At least 2 people told me there is a ghost in the hotel (a prisoner in the jail who hanged himself), but I didn't see or hear anything.

The only negative was the breakfast. The food was great but there is limited seating. I got lucky and was able to sit down, but lots of people were taking the food back to their rooms.

I paid about $100/night which is a great value for downtown SA. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelMorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ttribby, Owner at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, 17 March 2011
Thank you for taking time to write a review of our Holiday Inn Express hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to find your favorite pub! Even though we are an older building we pride ourselves in having a updated look. There have been many reports of ghost activity...maybe on your next visit you will get to experience that. We hope that you will consider us in your future visits to downtown San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    126
    65
    36
    21
See reviews for
119
102
20
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

it seems from reviews that there are two different Holiday express ins near the river walk the best one by far is on Cameron street it used to be an old Jail and it is an historic building . The management and staff are top rate on a previous stay on the same day as the reservation I canceled and they even refunded my points that I use to pay for the room with only two hrs notice to the this is where you want to stay a comfortable walk to the river walk breakfast is standard Holiday express fare room very nice and clean and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff98777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianHIXRW, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, 13 February 2017
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
A. Julian M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We were a little unsure of what we were in for as most reviews for all the hotels in the Riverwalk area were good and bad. So we booked the HIE on Cameron St. and were not disappointed. The staff was very friendly. Even the housekeeping crew was nice. Breakfast, although we have had better was sufficient, hot and fresh. Coffee all day long was great.
We used taxi's to get around and anytime we needed one the staff called for us and we never waited more than ten minutes. Really enjoyed the Riverwalk area, really unique. We also visited the Alamo (not sure why anyone would talk this down) thought it was very interesting and inspiring. We loved the Tea Gardens and the Zoo was really nice. Also visited the San Antonio Mission (the largest) and found it interesting also. Food overall was good and priced what we thought was inline with tourist fare.
As first time visitors to San Antonio I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnfasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianHIXRW, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, 13 February 2017
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
A. Julian M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

I stayed at this hotel for one night of a business trip. I arrived in the late afternoon and was given a room on the 5th floor. It is about 5 blocks to the Riverwalk area and although that does not seem like a long way, it is when you’re walking by homeless persons and are asked for money. I walked home by myself around 9:30 p.m. and I would not recommend it.

When I arrived back at the hotel in the dark, I noticed that my 5th floor room was the only one with lights. When I asked the hotel clerk if I was the only one up there, he immediately expressed concern and asked me what happened. Come to find out, two weeks prior there was a lady on her honeymoon who experienced her leg being lifted up in the middle of the night, while she was sleeping next to her husband. The clerk went on to tell me that the usual haunting occurrences occur on the 3rd and 4th floor. I thought he was pulling my leg in anticipation of Halloween.

After arriving in my new reassigned room on the 1st floor, I checked the windows and found them to be wide open. This is an old building and the windows are ceiling to floor without screens. Needless to say, I did finally get to sleep that night.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank ChrisFromOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianHIXRW, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, 13 February 2017
Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Sincerely,
A. Julian M.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We stayed here from Oct 12th till 15th and had a wonderful time with no complaints. The staff was terrific, breakfast food (which is one of the main reasons we stay at Holiday inn Ex)was great and the lady working in the area offered her assistance to make our breakfast more enjoyable. In most hotel the housekeeping staff are usually not very friendly. The ladies here kept our room in great condition and they were very cordial and friendly, a real asset to your Hotel. We joke and tell people we spent three nights in jail while we were in San Antonio. Location is a little far from the Riverwalk, but we senior citizens had no problems even coming back late at night. If you don't like walking take a bus which is convenient to the hotel.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank richar37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ttribby, Owner at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, 29 October 2010
Thank you for your review of our Holiday Inn Express! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithtown NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

I struggled up 8-10 steps to arrive @ front desk, there was no assistance from staff.
Our first room was very musty, with a strong smell of mold, mildew and disinfectant spray.My colleague has allergies so we were moved to another room that was better. We appreciated the staff in accomodating this request promptly, the 2nd room was still musty but OK. Very nice beds & comfortable. Bathroom VERY CLEAN.
The woman overseeing breakfast service was helpful , & pleasant. Tthe front desk staff also. For the price of hotel it was fine. Not a great location for my meetings ( convention center) but this was my fault for not checking this more carefully. In comparison to other Holiday Inn express hotels this was not as nice but again, the price was reasonable for overnight stay with breakfast.. The building needs some upgrade: paint, new lobby furniture and find source of mold/mildew odors.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TImetraveler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianHIXRW, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, 13 February 2017
Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Sincerely,
A. Julian M.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Surrounded by floodlights, cracks in curtains the lights illuminate the walls and ceiling of our bedroom. The fridge ticks and burps loudly all night. Removed previous guest's hair grip from near the bed. Had to evict a cicada from the bathroom. But worst of all we loaded the washing machine in the laundry room and then lost our 4 quarters trying to get washing powder from thee dispenser. Reception returned the dollar and told us where to go to get our own washing powder. Sorry we run out! No effort at all. And they removed our personal soap from the bathroom!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nostromo1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#122 of 354 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Arsenal
La Quinta Inn & Suites  San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area
Address: 120 Camaron St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Antonio Hotel Near a Variety of Attractions The historic atmosphere, excellent accommodations and friendly staff make the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Antonio, Texas near the Alamo, River Walk area, and Trolley perfect for both business and leisure travelers.Our hotel in San Antonio, TX is conveniently located within walking distance from the Alamo and the world-famous San Antonio River Walk. Visitors may enjoy shopping at La Villita Historic Arts Village, Rivercenter Mall and Market Square, the largest Mexican marketplace outside Mexico. Ride the local trolley to the many attractions within a mile of our hotel, such as the Tower of the America and IMAX theater.Business travelers benefit from the great location of this historic hotel in San Antonio, TX. We are situated near Valera Energy Corporation, Coca Cola and Pepsi bottling companies, Boeing and Fort Sam Houston. Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center and the Alamodome are a mile from our San Antonio, Texas hotel, which features free high-speed Internet access and a 24-hour business center.From the complimentary hot breakfast bar to the flow-regulated Kohler showerheads, our accommodations go beyond cheap hotels in San Antonio. Relax in the pool and whirlpool, work out in the fitness center and rest comfortably every night in a triple-sheeted bed with four pillows. You'll receive excellent service and amenities while lodging in our San Antonio, Texas hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio North Hotel San Antonio
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing