We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Ranked #11 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Nekoosa, Wisconsin
1 review
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

The breakfast and manager's reception were excellent. The rooms were clean and close to all the major attractions.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    761
    242
    77
    28
    15
See reviews for
418
335
32
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I chose Comfort Suites because of the great ratings on Trip Advisor. The customer service is indeed outstanding. Free shuttle service to the Riverwalk and the Alamo, and all the amenities you could need in your room. The pool was small, but very beautifully done with a water fall effect. Complimentary breakfast too! Everything was sparkling clean, and I noticed that if anything was amiss, the staff were on it very quickly. The room didn't feel crowded or small. All I could wish for were better quality in all areas: sleeker furniture (instead of standard hotel style), salt water pool instead of chlorine, and the food, although free, tasted terrible- we skipped it and ate elsewhere. The coffee and the tea in the room, and the soaps could also use an upgrade. But where it counts, the bed was super comfortable, and I slept well.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trixiekiddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

My wife and I just returned from 4 nights at the Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk. I would have to agree with most other reviewers. This is an excellent hotel. I'm surprised that it would be rated the best, but it is very very good. The beds were not soft as we're used to, but were comfortable just the same. Everything was very clean. The breakfast was wonderful! It was like a buffet everyday with eggs, potatos and a meat. Georgia was there greeting everyone. They did an evening reception one evening with wine, beer, hot dogs and chilli. I think every hotel could take a lesson from this one. The general manager obviously works very hard to make this hotel what it is. While we were there, he drove the shuttle twice for us, got dirty pool towels from the pool area, assisted with the breakfast and the evening reception.

We arrived before 2PM. Check in was at 3PM. The manager checked us in with no reference to us being there early. Our room was ready for us. The room was clean and nicely furnished for a Comfort Suites. They have a shuttle that leaves on the hour 9 to 9 every day except Sunday. We did have an issue with the hot tub first night, but they had a massive rain the night before. The next night no problem. I have praised this property, the staff and the manager, so you're looking for the exception. That would be the description of the location. You are 5 to 6 blocks from the Alamo/Riverwalk area. The name would suggest that the hotel is closer to those attractions. The walk isn't really bad. We did it one day. The problem I have with that is that the hotel is set (with others) in a older, somewhat rundown industrial area. The hotel is right by the interstate. While we didn't hear any noise from the traffic, we could see some homeless under the overpass from our window. The shuttle compensates for the distance. I would just be aware of this issue. If you want to walk out of your hotel into the downtown attractions, this is not for you. On the other hand, if you are looking for a clean room, excellent staff, good free food at a great room rate, this is your hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodmanonradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Very new hotel with lots of nice amenities. However, this hotel is in EAST San Antonio, just on the other side of I37. The area looks a little sketchy. The price though is equivalent to hotels of similar quality downtown.

Other frustrating items: parking cost $10. There isn't a complimentary hotel shuttle from the airport; they recommend the airport shuttle.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleville, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at your hotel during a two week driving adventure. The hotel was clean, comfortable and very pleasant. Everything we wanted was within walking distance, day or night. Celina at the Front Desk and Augie in Maintenance were two of the exceptional members of an outstanding staff. Both well exceeded out expectations for service.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn Heights, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We spent one week at your hotel, and had the pleasure of superb dining experiences (breakfast and evening receptions) We felt as though we were in our mother's dining room because Georgia was very friendly and accomodating. She could not do enough, it seems, to please! Our hats off to Victor, Ray, and all the shuttle drivers who treated us beyond expectation. Your entire staff was very pleasant and friendly and went out of their way to accomodate our request. They made our stay most comfortable and enjoyable. We hope to return in the near future!

Thank you all staff members!

Room Tip: All rooms are great ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This hotel is very nice, clean and comfortable. It is within easy walking distance of the Alamo and the Riverwalk (through Macy's). They also offer a shuttle to the Riverwalk if you desire.
Their breakfast buffet, served cheerfully by hostess Georgia, would rival most upscale restaurants. She and her breakfast make a good start to your day.
Lynn

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,079 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Crockett Hotel
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Property: Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Address: 505 Live Oak, San Antonio, TX 78202-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#24 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverwalk & ALAMO 3 Blks. VOTED "BEST Value Downtown"!Even more with the Special Offer above includes Free Parking.This Mediterranean, boutique 3 STAR hotel gives the Traveler or Family seeking a unique experience the highest value downtown because every room sleeps up to a family of 6 and includes FREE breakfast buffet & FREE high-speed wireless internet throughout the hotel. Plus!FREE wine, beer, and hors d'oeuvres Tues-Thurs from 5-7pm during our complimentary Manager's Reception. NEW Tesla Charging stations and standard charging station was just installed! Comfort Suites Alamo Riverwalk is perfect for everyone, families, Monthly rates for Military, leisure, Corporate Suites, convention discounts. Riverwalk minutes away from our 89 suites with either 1 king bed or 2 queen beds, and all of the rooms come with a sleeper sofa, microwave, refrigerator. The beautiful property also boasts its' heated pool, hot tub, (brand new)fitness center, business center, & a putting green. Walking distance to everywhere downtown, 100 restaurants, a mall, art galleries, museums, festivals, parks and more! Perfect place for events like graduates from Lackland Airforce Base(Packages on our hotel site), Ft Sam Medical Courses(monthly rates), family reunions, "Sisters of the Traveling Pants" and more. SeaWorld and Fiesta Texas are only 20-25 minutes away, Ft Sam is one exit north and Trinity University and InCarnate Word University are one exit away. City transportation is great with a one day bus pass you can ride the bus to the San Antonio Zoo (SPECIAL ZOO PACKAGE ON HOTEL SITE), Witte Museum and San Antonio Museum of Art and the Pearl Brewery. Stay in San Antonio at the Comfort Suites for that "Unique experience". Owner operated by The Chaudhry's who designed and built this unique hotel for your personal enjoyment. Bienvenidos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Comfort Suites San Antonio
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing