We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was given an unkempt room and poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Ranked #11 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I was given an unkempt room and poor service”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

too expensive! For the same value you can go to another hotel. It was too crowded aswell and I had to ask for towels. Plus the sheets smelt like women's perfume.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mizmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    761
    242
    77
    28
    15
See reviews for
418
335
32
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I'm so glad we stayed here--the hotel is very elegantly decorated and obviously new. Such great value and the place was virtually empty so we were able to park right by the front entrance (parking is $10/day), get immediate service, and have the pool and business computers/printer all to ourselves! Our room was spacious with an excellent bed and pillow (and I loved the black-out curtains--I didn't even wake up till about 9am even though I usually wake up automatically around 7am). I appreciated that both the water temperature and volume were adjustable in the shower. All staff were immediate in helping us with any requests (e.g., couldn't connect to the wireless internet so they volunteered an ethernet cable). The complimentary breakfast was great: waffles, sausage, scrambled eggs, english muffins, oatmeal, yogurt, potatoes, etc. Great pool--though the hotel is located near a noisy freeway, the waterfall in the pool cuts out most of the noise and they had comfy lounge chairs. Covenient location: only a couple minutes from the Alamo and Riverwalk and about 30 seconds from the highway. Definitely would stay here again!!

Room Tip: Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roselle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleburne, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We found ourselves in San Antonio at 8 o'clock at night after a day at Sea World. After checking some of the other hotels downtown, we were very pleased with what we found at the comfort suites.

Staff - top notch, friendly service with a smile. Everyone we dealt with went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

Accommodations - wonderful, spacious rooms. I slept comfortably all night long. No hall noise, and surprisingly, given the nearness to the freeway, no outside noise to speak of. There was a dvd player in the room, as well as a small fridge and microwaveThe breakfast buffet kept my family going long into the day. Not just pastries, they had eggs, sausage, fruit, yogurt, cereal, waffles, and much more.

Price - I was able to get use my AAA discount to save a little $$, but these rooms might be a little more than some of the hotels nearby. But then go back and figure what it will cost for parking and a good breakfast, because both are free at the comfort suites

Location - ok, this hotel is not right across the street from the Alamo, but it is only a 10 minute walk or quick complimentary shuttle ride away.

I will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattL41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atwater, CA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Over the years I have stayed at high priced hotels on business. This Comfort Suites stands above them all. My wife and I spent four nights in San Antonio at this hotel. Ray Velaquez and his staff are tops. The breakfast spread is excellent and the evening Manager's Reception is hardly found anywhere except a few high priced hotels.

We appreciated the shuttle service to take us to places downtown. It will also pick people up if it is early enough.

Our room was spacious and very, very nice.

I know why this is the top rated hotel in San Antonio; it is OUTSTANDING. I am an Elite Diamond member of Choice Privledges and selected this hotel just by looking at Choice Hotels website; My wife and I are so glad we stayed there.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet, but were away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDeereJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Our stay here was great. We stayed 3 nights. Close to the Alamo and River walk, walking distance. We felt very safe in this area, even at night. The staff was very friendly and very helpful if you needed any assistance. The breakfast was very good also and the hostess's were very nice. The rooms are very spacious and Clean. Would definately recommend and would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: visit www.whatshotsite.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandRTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2011

A family reunion and vacation brought us to San Antonio, the hotel was well suited for our plans! The great breakfasts and delightful hostess and cook, Georgia, added to the pleasure of just sitting and visiting in the attractive dining area. We appreciated the hotel's general manager, Ray Velasquez's friendly and helpful manner and were impressed by the way he treated his staff We enjoyed the short walk to the Alamo and Riverwalk, were surprised at how easy it was to get there. The rooms were clean, the hotel quiet and though it's location right off the freeway seemed crowded we were glad we selected the Comfort Suites on Live Oak!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Our stay at this hotel was wonderful. From the minute we entered the hotel Ray Velaquez, General Manager, and his staff members made us feel right at home. Rooms are large and comfortable, and the manager's receptions were an especially nice touch. Breakfast was scrumptious, prepared by Georgia Rios, hostess extraordinaire. Using the shuttle bus made visits to downtown simple and easy, and the drivers were friendly and informative. Melissa Sanchez and her front office staff were welcoming and helpful, and we loved chatting with Delia Martinez. Meeting the owners explained the hotel's atmosphere - they have created "a home away from home" for their guests and take pleasure in ensuring this ambience is maintained. Kudos to everyone we met at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk; you have a gem and we hope to return again for another relaxing and fun visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,077 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Crockett Hotel
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
1,938 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Property: Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Address: 505 Live Oak, San Antonio, TX 78202-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#23 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverwalk & ALAMO 3 Blks. VOTED "BEST Value Downtown"!Even more with the Special Offer above includes Free Parking.This Mediterranean, boutique 3 STAR hotel gives the Traveler or Family seeking a unique experience the highest value downtown because every room sleeps up to a family of 6 and includes FREE breakfast buffet & FREE high-speed wireless internet throughout the hotel. Plus!FREE wine, beer, and hors d'oeuvres Tues-Thurs from 5-7pm during our complimentary Manager's Reception. NEW Tesla Charging stations and standard charging station was just installed! Comfort Suites Alamo Riverwalk is perfect for everyone, families, Monthly rates for Military, leisure, Corporate Suites, convention discounts. Riverwalk minutes away from our 89 suites with either 1 king bed or 2 queen beds, and all of the rooms come with a sleeper sofa, microwave, refrigerator. The beautiful property also boasts its' heated pool, hot tub, (brand new)fitness center, business center, & a putting green. Walking distance to everywhere downtown, 100 restaurants, a mall, art galleries, museums, festivals, parks and more! Perfect place for events like graduates from Lackland Airforce Base(Packages on our hotel site), Ft Sam Medical Courses(monthly rates), family reunions, "Sisters of the Traveling Pants" and more. SeaWorld and Fiesta Texas are only 20-25 minutes away, Ft Sam is one exit north and Trinity University and InCarnate Word University are one exit away. City transportation is great with a one day bus pass you can ride the bus to the San Antonio Zoo (SPECIAL ZOO PACKAGE ON HOTEL SITE), Witte Museum and San Antonio Museum of Art and the Pearl Brewery. Stay in San Antonio at the Comfort Suites for that "Unique experience". Owner operated by The Chaudhry's who designed and built this unique hotel for your personal enjoyment. Bienvenidos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Comfort Suites San Antonio
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing