We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice value hotel in a decent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Ranked #12 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice value hotel in a decent location”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is clean, the staff is helpful, and the breakfast offered is excellent. The small, heated, pool and spa is nice and clean. Parking is easy, and the rate quite acceptable versus other locations nearby.

Rooms are clean and comfortable, and the double queen can truly sleep five. The location is OK, but not great. However, at the rate, the location is quite good. Four walking blocks to the rear of the Alamo, with two to three more blocks to the front or the Rivercenter Mall. However, the streets you have to cross are between quite busy and very busy. There are also a goodly number of homeless in the area, often. Begging for change. Taking a cab back to the property (the shuttle is a one way drop-off) is not a bad choice if you have young children (about $7 from Riverwalk/Alamo)

The parking is very acceptable, but you must remember the basics, don't leave anything tempting in plain view. And, as mentioned above, there are a descent number of beggars (all over the place as soon as you move away from the Riverwalk) and as other reviews have noted the neighborhoods to the east become very sketchy very quickly.

Would definitely consider staying again, a great value.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank UKLaTxDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
We appreciate your candid, positive review of our hotel. Our double queen suites are very spacious and comfortably sleep five guests and our King suites comfortably sleep three guests. It is great that you not only enjoyed our suites but also our heated pool and convenient parking ($15/day) located adjacent to the hotel. We also have a security guard who watches over our parking facility during the night, but we do advise against guests leaving belongings in their car as in any regular parking lot. We also provide our guests with high-quality, in-room safes ($1.50/day) that fit laptops for guests that want to be extra cautious with their belongings. We are glad that you had a wonderful experience overall at our hotel and that you are planning to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    238
    76
    27
    14
See reviews for
406
330
32
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Being our first trip to San Antonio, I wanted somewhere close to the Riverwalk, but at a good price. Because we were traveling with 5 children, as we often do, Comfort Suites was the logical choice. From the moment we arrived we were thrilled with our choice. The hostess, Georgia, introduced herself to my family and learned all of my children's' names. The room was incredible. Clean, organized, and we were given a larger room due to our family's size. The next morning, we planned to drive 30 mins away to visit my father, but we discovered that our battery had died on our car and Georgia went out of her way to find a pair of jumper cables to help with our car. More so, she remembered my kids' names and what we told her our plans were for yesterday. The following morning at breakfast, the dining room was packed and only left small tables to eat at. Georgia then opened a meeting room for my family to eat at. In addition, she turned on cartoons for my younger kids. Not only did they go out of their way to make us feel at home, but they literally saved me money (from having to call road side assistance) but they saved our trip and allowed us to have an amazing visit. We will absolutely return to Comfort Suites Riverwalk again. The location is a block or two further than other larger hotels, but they are absolutely worth the walk. Still close enough and save enough to venture to the Riverwalk and we will be returning without a doubt.

Room Tip: We stayed on the side facing the freeway and it was completely silent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you providing such a detailed review of your “fantastic stay” at our hotel. We are glad that you found our location convenient enough to walk to the Alamo and River Walk especially with five children, as we are less than a 10 min walk away to all the excitement in downtown. Beyond our spacious suites and amenities, it is amazing to hear that you enjoyed the service from our staff – including Ms. Georgia Rios, our Food & Beverage Director. Thank you again for the feedback, and we look forward to your future visits to the Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My kids and I just stayed one night, we were in SA to visit the river walk as well as other areas near there. The room was really nice, great breakfast buffet. It was very quiet, we had a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arika97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is delightful to hear that you were able to enjoy all the amenities you needed at our hotel as well as received a great night’s sleep. We truly do our best to provide our guests with the best complimentary breakfast experience possible, as we understand how crucial that is for our guests. We hope you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermillion, South Dakota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

PROS: Spacious rooms, super-comfortable bed, beautiful Spanish-inspired architecture, furnishings and artwork, delicious breakfast, manager's wine and cheese reception, friendly staff
CONS: Not very clean (1 inch of dust all the way around the room where it hasn't been vacuumed,dust on the corners of the sink counter top was piled up), only a one-way shuttle (they take you away, but won't come get you, and it doesn't run on Sunday, ridiculous), usually only one staff member at front desk so often have to wait for service at front desk, magnetic door keys timed out, leaving us locked out of our room for about 15 minutes until they could get it fixed (it happened to another couple staying there are the same time, so I don't think it was a fluke), rooms are dark and need more lighting, slow internet and hotel is not as close to attractions as one would believe from their advertising.
Overall: Overpriced and won't be staying here again. We had a four-day reservation and would have switched hotels had we had the option.

Room Tip: City view rooms give you a nice view of the adjacent Red Roof Inn and the interstate, don't fall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0807Chad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for giving us your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you encountered some issues during your stay at our property as these are rarities for our property such as with the dust in your room and the time-out on your room key. However, we do advertise our hotel as three blocks from the Alamo and River Walk as well as our ‘limited shuttle’ only dropping off guests from our hotel into downtown. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our “super-comfortable” beds, the décor of our hotel, the free full hot breakfast buffet every morning, and the complimentary wine & cheese reception we have every Tuesday-Thursday from 5-7pm. We hope that you give us another chance during your future visits to San Antonio, as I am sure we can make your next stay one to remember!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

I don't believe I've come across a more professional and caring staff among my travels. Not only was Aaron at the front desk, kind but also informative about local restaurants. Georgia went above and beyond with breakfast in the mornings. I would recommend to any teacher, business professional, or family that needed a place to stay with large rooms, great price for value, and you can't beat the location with everything you need to see in Downtown San Antonio within walking distance. A personal "Thank you" from this North Carolina teacher.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jkt1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
We truly appreciate your incredibly positive review of the Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk. All of our staff truly does their best to accommodate each and every guest in our hotel with the highest level of customer service. It is fantastic that you were able to experience this from several members of our staff. We also want to thank you for the positive remarks about our convenient location in downtown San Antonio, as well as recommending the Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk to all business professionals, teachers, and families. We are very glad that your robotics field trip was a success, and we hope that you return soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ironwood, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 7 days while on vacation last month. We chose San Antonio as our vacation destination this year and we were not disappointed. This hotel was near the Riverwalk and was very reasonably priced. We had a King Suite on the 5th floor, and the room was spacious and clean. The breakfast area offered a variety of food-there was something there for everyone. We were very close to the freeway-lots of traffic going by, but that is the downtown area. It is very busy. On Tues, Wed. and Thursday nights there was a "wine and cheese" social in the lobby area, which I thought was a nice touch.
We did not use the pool. The water was too cold for us, so I don't know if it was heated or not, however we did use the hot tub, which we enjoyed. My husband and I would recommend this hotel anytime. The staff was great and it felt very homey to us.

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of the Tower of the Americas, and some of the large downtown hotels. We th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanbern51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for providing us with such a positive review of your recent 7-day stay at the Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk. We are glad that you not only found our location convenient to all the famous downtown sites, but also that you found it an incredible value for a downtown San Antonio hotel. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed our Wine & Cheese reception that we have every Tuesday-Thursday from 5-7pm as well as the heated pool and hot tub. We truly try to create a home away from home feel at our hotel. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elon, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed with a group of 9 students and 7 adults at the comfort suites and our experience has been very pleasant. The rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable, especially the beds. The free breakfast was plentiful and offered a large variety of foods. Everybody was super friendly, flexible and very accommodating to our needs. The happy hour during the week was especially appreciated by our parents. The hot tub and pool were greatly appreciated. The hotel is close to everything in walking distance. I highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elke r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback about your stay at our hotel. We designed the hotel in order to accommodate large groups and families with our spacious suites, heated pool, high speed wireless internet, and free full hot breakfast buffet every morning. We are also glad you took advantage of our Wine & Cheese reception that we have every Tuesday-Thursday from 5-7pm. It is wonderful that you were able to pleasantly walk to all the attractions you wanted to see in downtown from our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to post these comments. We hope you return to downtown San Antonio soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,003 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Property: Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Address: 505 Live Oak, San Antonio, TX 78202-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverwalk & ALAMO 3 Blks. VOTED "BEST Value Downtown"!Even more with the Special Offer above includes Free Parking.This Mediterranean, boutique 3 STAR hotel gives the Traveler or Family seeking a unique experience the highest value downtown because every room sleeps up to a family of 6 and includes FREE breakfast buffet & FREE high-speed wireless internet throughout the hotel. Plus!FREE wine, beer, and hors d'oeuvres Tues-Thurs from 5-7pm during our complimentary Manager's Reception. NEW Tesla Charging stations and standard charging station was just installed! Comfort Suites Alamo Riverwalk is perfect for everyone, families, Monthly rates for Military, leisure, Corporate Suites, convention discounts. Riverwalk minutes away from our 89 suites with either 1 king bed or 2 queen beds, and all of the rooms come with a sleeper sofa, microwave, refrigerator. The beautiful property also boasts its' heated pool, hot tub, (brand new)fitness center, business center, & a putting green. Walking distance to everywhere downtown, 100 restaurants, a mall, art galleries, museums, festivals, parks and more! Perfect place for events like graduates from Lackland Airforce Base(Packages on our hotel site), Ft Sam Medical Courses(monthly rates), family reunions, "Sisters of the Traveling Pants" and more. SeaWorld and Fiesta Texas are only 20-25 minutes away, Ft Sam is one exit north and Trinity University and InCarnate Word University are one exit away. City transportation is great with a one day bus pass you can ride the bus to the San Antonio Zoo (SPECIAL ZOO PACKAGE ON HOTEL SITE), Witte Museum and San Antonio Museum of Art and the Pearl Brewery. Stay in San Antonio at the Comfort Suites for that "Unique experience". Owner operated by The Chaudhry's who designed and built this unique hotel for your personal enjoyment. Bienvenidos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Comfort Suites San Antonio
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing