We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Above and Beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Ranked #13 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Rogers, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Above and Beyond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at the Comfort Suites for 5 days and was so pleased with everything about this place. To begin with every one that worked there was so helpful and very pleasant. They all seemed to enjoy working there, The breakfast was awesome with something different every day. Even the owner of the motel came out and met with us to make sure that our stay there had met all of our needs. We were withing walking distance of everything on the riverwalk. We will stay there again when we came back to San Antonio. The place was so pretty and modern . We can only say good things about this place. !!!!! So much more than we had expected..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for providing us with very positive comments about your recent stay at the Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk! We are ecstatic to hear that you found our staff very helpful and pleasant, as they do their very best each and every day to satisfy our guests. It is always wonderful to hear that a guest’s experience was above and beyond what was expected – we strive for this. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our free full breakfast buffet every day. We do our best to ensure there are always plenty of breakfast options for our guests both hot and cold, and we like to vary the hot items each day so that guests enjoy plenty of variety during their stay. We hope that you come back to San Antonio soon and continue to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    236
    76
    27
    11
See reviews for
400
322
32
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ponchatoula, Louisiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Upon arrival, as well as during our stay, the staff was very courteous and helpful. The breakfast was fabulous.
Being in walking distance to all the attractions we wanted to see, made this hotel the perfect place for us to stay. We enjoyed it so much, that we extended our stay another night.

If we ever find ourselves in San Antonio again, I know exactly were I will go for a good nights rest.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itzalark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We are extremely pleased to hear that you found our staff to be very courteous and helpful – they are the heart of our hotel and we are very proud of them! It is also a delight that you thoroughly enjoyed our free full hot breakfast buffet every morning. We hope you had a chance to try one of our flavored Texas-shaped waffles! Even though we are only three blocks from the Alamo and River Walk, it is fantastic to hear that you were able to conveniently walk to all of the attractions in downtown with no trouble – many of our guests enjoy the short walk as it provides them with an opportunity to take in more culture from San Antonio when passing the boutique shops and delicious restaurants and food vendors. We sincerely appreciate your business and your candid kind words about our hotel and staff. We can’t wait for you to return to our hotel next time you are in downtown San Antonio so that we may exceed your expectations again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We split our time in San Anton between the Comfort Suites and a B&B in the King William District (also reviewed).
The good: I thought both the exterior and indoor areas of this hotel were attractive. Our room & bathroom were quite large and clean. Though the hotel seemed busy/booked, we were on the top floor and never heard anyone around us or in the hallway. When pulled, the draperies kept the room very dark during the night/early morning. The hotel is within definite walking distance to The Alamo and Riverwalk (we walked everywhere & never moved our car from the lot). The hotel provides a free shuttle to downtown/Riverwalk. There's an outdoor patio where you can eat breakfast or drink complimentary evening cocktails. The patio is walled for privacy - unfortunately, the wall can't block out the traffic noise from the freeway.
Which leads to the bad....
The freeway and an exit ramp are literally right outside the hotel's parking lot, so the traffic noise is disruptive to trying to enjoy the outdoor space. The traffic might also be an issue to people wanting to walk downtown, as you have to cross the exit ramp, though it wasn't an issue for us. Actually, the traffic noise in the room was surprisingly minimal, given the close proximity of the freeway. Our shower water pressure was pretty bad (low). The Wi-Fi was non-existent in our room; it was fine if I went down to the lobby - and sometimes (weirdly!) I was able to log onto Wi-fi from the hotel next door, but that was very hit or miss and frustrating.
Though our room & bathroom at the Comfort Suites was much bigger and though we paid $35/night more at the B&B, we preferred the B&B. However, that's a matter of taste and circumstance - we weren't travelling with kids, etc.

Room Tip: Wi-Fi on top floor was non-existent; it was fine in the lobby. Maybe it's better on lower floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshineallthetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback! It is great to hear that you were very satisfied with the décor of whole hotel as well as the quality and cleanliness of your room! It is true that we are located at the corner of Interstate-37 and E. Houston St., and so we put in the extra expense of constructing our hotel out of solid concrete as well as using Pella double-paned windows in all the rooms in order to muffle the sound of the freeway – and we are very pleased that you noticed this and had no problems with noise in your room. We do apologize for any internet issues that you experienced; however, this is not the norm considering we have the fastest wireless internet speed available to a commercial business by Time Warner Cable. If you do decide to stay with us in the future (and we hope you do!), you should be pleasantly surprised with the speed of your internet connection anywhere in our hotel. Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor, and we hope to you see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed for two nights. Not quite near the Alamo or Riverwalk but def. in walking distance. The only downside was the view from the room. The hotel is right off the highway but there was really no highway noise in the room which was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fletch80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay! We are glad that you had wonderful stay at our hotel and that you were easily able to walk to all of the famous attractions in downtown San Antonio from the Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk. It is also great that you were not disturbed by any traffic noise near our hotel, as we built the hotel in a way to ensure this was not an issue for any of our guests. We hope that you do return to San Antonio soon and that you continue to stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowanesque, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Very good price, even with the extra parking pay but only small walk to riverwalk/Alamo. Staff was very friendly and room very nice. Breakfast was awesome and put out very nice spread...loby area/kitchen was wonderful. Was here on business and will make this a normal stop over.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grantbagpiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We are very delighted to hear that you, as a business traveler, found our hotel to be an exceptional value and a wonderful hotel to stay at in order to enjoy all that downtown San Antonio has to offer! It is also fantastic that you thought our breakfast was ‘awesome’ with a vast spread of hot and cold options for all our guests. Breakfast is one of the centerpieces for our hotel, as we put every effort into providing a variety of options that differ every day and is offered completely free to all of our guests – saving everyone money that could otherwise be spent on margaritas on the River Walk! We truly hope that you do continue to make the Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk a normal stop for you, and we will continue to exceed your service expectations! Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed four nights at this hotel last week and were treated very well. All the staff was helpful and courteous, and Georgia Rios really made us feel welcome! Loved the Tues-Thurs wine and cheese parties!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for your candid feedback! It is wonderful that you were able to spend four nights at our hotel and that you enjoyed every one of them! Our Manager’s Wine & Cheese Reception on Tuesday – Thursday from 5-7pm is a great opportunity to guests to mingle as the enjoy complimentary beer, wine, cheese, and snacks prior to venturing out for a night on the River Walk! We are glad you loved these receptions. We hope that you do return to San Antonio soon and that you continue to stay at the Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I’m quite puzzled by the rest of the reviews, I don’t quite get it, looks as if I was in a different hotel
Location is not bad, but not the best, there’s a lot of noise from the highway and service very friendly but inefficient if you really need something other than directions and greetings.

Rooms are good size, clean and comfortable BUT next to the highway and it’s very NOISY at night, for me it was the noisiest hotel I’ve been to (traffic wise), whether the building is made of concrete or not you have the highway in front of you and, at least my room, was flooded with traffic noise at night (I don’t know if all the rooms are like this). I know there’s not much they can’t do about that other than not building a hotel next to a highway .. or give these rooms a a very discounted price

Location: a short walk not far from The Alamo and the start of all the touristic area (having said that there are over a dozen hotels in the area that are closer to the main attractions in the area ).

Service: We booked a crib, on arrival (we didn’t went to the room straight away) we asked if the crib was ready the lady at reception said ‘ I believe it is but if not I’ll make sure it’s ready by when you come back” few hours later when we went to the room there was no crib, I asked again for it and they told me I had to pick it up my self from reception (where is the great service??)…
Other than that everybody was friendly and willing to help with directions

Breakfast: standard very basic buffet in PLASTIC plates/cups/cutlery. I can’t understand that anybody says it’s good (may be compared to McDonalds?)

So if you don't need a crib (or any room service), don't care about food and traffic noise doesn't bother you this hotel is a good option to visit San Antonio

Tip for parking: there is a public parking next to this hotel for $2.5 (for day use as it expires at the night) and overnight for $10 next to the Rivercenter Mall (prices as of Easter 2014) although it looks to me they change the price depending on the occasion.

Room Tip: Far from highway, it's very noise at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterson76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you found our location to be very convenient to all the major attractions in downtown San Antonio – we are only three blocks from the famous Alamo and River Walk! We do apologize for any traffic noise that you may have heard in your room, but we made every effort to prevent this, and this is actually not an issue in most of the rooms. We hope that you reached out to our guest service staff during your stay in order to let them better accommodate you with a room a little further away from the freeway if the noise was a significant issue for you. Moreover, we do apologize for the service issue related to your requested crib and we have made sure this will not happen in the future – once again we do apologize for this. We hope that you do decide to give our hotel another chance during your future stay in San Antonio, and I am sure you will be surprised by how we exceed your expectations! Thank you again for your candid feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#19 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Property: Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Address: 505 Live Oak, San Antonio, TX 78202-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverwalk & ALAMO 3 Blks. VOTED "BEST Value Downtown"!Even more with the Special Offer above includes Free Parking.This Mediterranean, boutique 3 STAR hotel gives the Traveler or Family seeking a unique experience the highest value downtown because every room sleeps up to a family of 6 and includes FREE breakfast buffet & FREE high-speed wireless internet throughout the hotel. Plus!FREE wine, beer, and hors d'oeuvres Tues-Thurs from 5-7pm during our complimentary Manager's Reception. NEW Tesla Charging stations and standard charging station was just installed! Comfort Suites Alamo Riverwalk is perfect for everyone, families, Monthly rates for Military, leisure, Corporate Suites, convention discounts. Riverwalk minutes away from our 89 suites with either 1 king bed or 2 queen beds, and all of the rooms come with a sleeper sofa, microwave, refrigerator. The beautiful property also boasts its' heated pool, hot tub, (brand new)fitness center, business center, & a putting green. Walking distance to everywhere downtown, 100 restaurants, a mall, art galleries, museums, festivals, parks and more! Perfect place for events like graduates from Lackland Airforce Base(Packages on our hotel site), Ft Sam Medical Courses(monthly rates), family reunions, "Sisters of the Traveling Pants" and more. SeaWorld and Fiesta Texas are only 20-25 minutes away, Ft Sam is one exit north and Trinity University and InCarnate Word University are one exit away. City transportation is great with a one day bus pass you can ride the bus to the San Antonio Zoo (SPECIAL ZOO PACKAGE ON HOTEL SITE), Witte Museum and San Antonio Museum of Art and the Pearl Brewery. Stay in San Antonio at the Comfort Suites for that "Unique experience". Owner operated by The Chaudhry's who designed and built this unique hotel for your personal enjoyment. Bienvenidos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Comfort Suites San Antonio
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing