We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't like location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Ranked #11 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Rooms were clean but need a bit of care. Wallpaper over beds was coming down a little from the ceiling. A bar in the bath tub would be helpful because it is a big step down when getting out of the tub. The hotel advertises that they have wifi. We were there for 4 days, we complained every day and were told by the front desk to call Time Warner! So, we placed a work order for the hotel! Still no internet! We were told that we could take the trolly back from the RIVERWALK and be let off at the Redroof Inn next door-- that trolly stopped 2 years ago! It is not safe to walk to the RIVERWALK. There are homeless guys under the overpass, front desk told us to just direct them to Days Inn, the guy there may hire them! The shuttle drivers, Don, and Christopher, were wonderful. Gloria that does the breakfast and wine and cheese party does a great job.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Makingmemories1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are glad to hear that our staff was very helpful during your stay. It is also great to hear that you were able to enjoy the free hot breakfast and our complimentary wine and cheese reception. We do apologize for any inconvenience you had with the wireless internet during your stay, as we are currently upgrading all of our internet hardware as well as our connection speed to the fastest speed offered in order to improve the wireless internet experience for our guests. Moreover, there is still a public trolley/bus service that picks guests up from downtown and drops them off near our hotel between the Redroof Inn and the Days Inn. We hope that you can give us another chance to exceed expectations next time you visit San Antonio, as all of our staff works diligently to provide each guest with amazing guest experience. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

The lobby & breakfast area in this hotel are nice. Good first impression. Area around the hotel....not so much. There are homeless people under the overpass nearby & the buildings across the street had been tagged. My sister & I didn't feel safe enough to walk to/from River walk area even tho the front desk people assured us that we would be fine. One staff member even told us that IF a homeless person approached us that we should tell them to "go to the Days Inn down the street as they might have a job for them". HUH??? The hotel does have a shuttle to take you to the Alamo or River walk, which you need to sign up for & it leaves on the hour. However there isn't a shuttle back so you have to take a cab back or IF the shuttle happens to be where you are & are dropping someone off, you can ride back with them. Cab fare back to the hotel is around $6. Our room seemed clean, but needed some updating. Wallpaper was peeling above our beds & in the bathroom. The ceiling above the shower was coming down & there were a couple of chunks out of the bathtub. You will be charged $1.50 for use of the in room safe. Wifi is a joke....never worked for us and when we questioned other guests, they also had problems with no connections. I spoke to the front desk who told me to "call the Time Warner number listed in our room". I did so & they had me go out in the hall where there was a WIFI hot spot to check it. My tablet still didn't work so they put in a work order. I'm still not sure why I had to call Time Warner instead of the employees!! After 3 days , it still did not work. There is no restaurant in the hotel & we didn't see any nearby.
Here are the positives! Some of the staff, specifically Chris, Don, & Georgia were GREAT!!! They went out of their way to make our stay better! Kudos to them! Georgia's breakfast & manager's reception were fantastic! Breakfast choices consisted of scrambled eggs, fried potatoes, sausage, bagels, toast, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, juice, coffee (I'm sure that I'm forgetting something). For the FREE wine reception there were 2 types of wine, beer, cheeses, crackers, fruit, and frito pie (Fritos with taco meat & cheese on top). The breakfast area was nice, and there was also seating outside. We didn't use the pool, but the area looked clean & nice. There is a business area with 2 computers & a printer. In our room there was a small refrig & coffee pot. The beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myls2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback. It is delightful to hear that you not only thought our hotel was beautiful but that our staff was also amazing. We are even more delighted to hear that you enjoyed many of our free amenities including the full hot breakfast buffet as well as the Manager’s Wine & Cheese Reception Tues-Thurs from 5-7pm. We are proud to say that we don’t have hidden fees when it comes to enjoying all that the Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk has to offer. We do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay, especially with the internet – as we are currently upgrading all of our internet hardware as well as our connection speed to the fastest speed offered in order to improve the wireless internet experience for our guests. Lastly, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your spacious suite and comfortable beds – and we will make sure to take care of the maintenance issues you experienced. We truly appreciate you choosing Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk and we hope to see you again during your next visit to San Antonio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

My family and I was looking for a hotel not for from the River Walk. My wife look at this hotel and I couldn't believe the gem that we've found. Staff was friendly down to earth people, they recommend restaurants for us to eat at and may I add they told us if we got lost just call them back and they will help out. In my opinion you just can't get better service than that.River Walk isn't far at all just 2 blocks away will stay here again and again and again. ...Bottom line my children loved it.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank antonio t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback online. It is wonderful to hear that you had such an amazing experience at our hotel and that you believe it is a gem among hotels in downtown San Antonio. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the convenience of our location (I-37 & E. Houston St. AKA The Alamo Exit) being only 3 blocks away from the famous Alamo and River Walk. Most importantly, it is great to hear that you found our staff extremely helpful and that the level of service you experienced was unbeatable. We truly appreciate your business and we hope that you continue to stay with us “again and again and again.” We look forward to your next visit to San Antonio, TX.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This was very comfortable. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was good. The walk to the River walk was a bit scary. You have to travel under a bridge and through a gate. We did have to hurry because we were being followed. The front desk people were not helpful and bugged when asked for help regarding our Choice Membership points. Also, when I called about needing help to connect to the internet, they were irritated. As far as accommodations, it was really nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antoinette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were in town for a family getaway weekend. The FDSR allowed us to check in a couple hours early, which was nice since we had come from out of town and had already done a few activities on our itinerary. The day we checked in they had a managers reception which offered free drinks and snacks, a mini happy hour. My fiance and I dropped by where we were warmly greeted by the hotel owner and the food and beverage manager Georgia, she was a doll! After heading back to our room we were getting ready to head to the River walk when we were surprised by a gentleman that brought us a complimentary bottle of champagne. Talk about wow factor! Beautiful hotel, close to tourist attractions, free one way shuttle, complimentary bfast, plenty to keep kids pleasantly occupied. Would love to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for city view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roxanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

From day 1 during our 6 night stay, the staff was amazing. The hotel was very clean and the location was great. We enjoyed wine and cheese and other goodies, which was very nice after dealing with the heat. What was even better, during one of the wine and cheese events the hotel owner was out with the guests ensuring our stay was ok. Although the hotel offers shuttle drop off service and not pick up, when my 6 year old and spouse fell ill at the Alamo, i decided to give the hotel a call to see if they would make a a trip for them. The front desk clerk was like no problem and the shuttle was at our location within minutes. Because of that i will always stay at this location when we are in San Antiono. A big thanks to the staff and owner, we loved our time with you all. From a friend at central reservations.....The Maldonado's

Room Tip: Amazing places to eat near the location, especially the spaghetti warehouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delmer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed one night here and were impressed with what we got! Staff was very friendly. They offer free breakfast and even a managers reception in the evening with free appetizers and drinks! The location was great. We just left our car there and walked a few blocks to the Alamo and Riverwalk...beats paying for parking and fighting traffic to and from the hotel. For the price..you can't beat the location!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MELPUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,112 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
2,002 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
3,137 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Address: 505 Live Oak, San Antonio, TX 78202-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £85 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverwalk & ALAMO 3 Blks. VOTED "BEST Value Downtown"!Even more with the Special Offer above includes Free Parking.This Mediterranean, boutique 3 STAR hotel gives the Traveler or Family seeking a unique experience the highest value downtown because every room sleeps up to a family of 6 and includes FREE breakfast buffet & FREE high-speed wireless internet throughout the hotel. Plus!FREE wine, beer, and hors d'oeuvres Tues-Thurs from 5-7pm during our complimentary Manager's Reception. NEW Tesla Charging stations and standard charging station was just installed! Comfort Suites Alamo Riverwalk is perfect for everyone, families, Monthly rates for Military, leisure, Corporate Suites, convention discounts. Riverwalk minutes away from our 89 suites with either 1 king bed or 2 queen beds, and all of the rooms come with a sleeper sofa, microwave, refrigerator. The beautiful property also boasts its' heated pool, hot tub, (brand new)fitness center, business center, & a putting green. Walking distance to everywhere downtown, 100 restaurants, a mall, art galleries, museums, festivals, parks and more! Perfect place for events like graduates from Lackland Airforce Base(Packages on our hotel site), Ft Sam Medical Courses(monthly rates), family reunions, "Sisters of the Traveling Pants" and more. SeaWorld and Fiesta Texas are only 20-25 minutes away, Ft Sam is one exit north and Trinity University and InCarnate Word University are one exit away. City transportation is great with a one day bus pass you can ride the bus to the San Antonio Zoo (SPECIAL ZOO PACKAGE ON HOTEL SITE), Witte Museum and San Antonio Museum of Art and the Pearl Brewery. Stay in San Antonio at the Comfort Suites for that "Unique experience". Owner operated by The Chaudhry's who designed and built this unique hotel for your personal enjoyment. Bienvenidos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Comfort Suites San Antonio
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing