We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, good location = happy guests!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Ranked #10 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

This was the nicest Comfort Inn/Suites we've ever stayed in. Had more of a Hampton Inn feel, but less expensive total, even with parking ($15). And you can park under the interstate in the shade, which was nice in the San Antonio August heat. Parking area was clean and close to hotel. The lobby was nicely appointed, with a very comfortable dining area (big high back cushioned chairs and granite table tops). The breakfast had all that you'd want, with scrambled eggs, potatoes and ham, as well as waffles and the usual cont. breakfast items.

The room was nice and quiet. We were right next to the elevators and had no distractions. No problem with interstate noise, either. Very clean with comfortable beds. The four of us slept well. The only complaint we had was the wifi...didn't work well in the room. But, we were all so beat from our day in town, that it wasn't a big deal. It worked just fine in the dining area and lobby, which we appreciated during breakfast.

Traveler Tip: When staying here it's about a four or five block walk to the Riverwalk. Beat the heat by using the Macy's entrance to the River Center Mall off of Bowie St (taking Houston St to Bowie St). You can cut through Macy's to the mall and enter the Riverwalk from there. This way you get out of the sun sooner, as the mall is air conditioned, and shade is readily available on the Riverwalk with all the trees overhead. Much more comfortable.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Darin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 1,168 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

We spend 3 nights and this is a very clean, quiet, and comfortable hotel situated close to all the attractions downtown. We walked to River Center, River Walk, and the Alamo. Good hot breakfast, but the unexpected highlight was the appetizers and drinks in the evenings. They served both hot and cold appetizers with wine and other drinks. Such elegance. We even met the owner, which was a pleasure. I recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DSmith3755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We spent two days at the hotel the first week of August. The property was well maintained and the service was very good. There was plenty of parking but a $10 fee seemed excessive. (Look for special code to have the charge waived) The location is only 3 blocks from the Alamo, but right beside the interstate. The room was comfortable and clean. Being in San Antonio, considering the rate and room, we considered it a very good value.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My mom and I stayed at this hotel for four nights while we were visiting San Antonio. From the name of the hotel, we thought that it was ON the riverwalk. We should have checked a map first because it's at least a good 15 minute walk from the riverwalk. The walk isn't bad though, but I wouldn't recommend doing it at night.

The staff was very friendly and the free breakfasts and Tuesday through Thursday free snacks and drinks were a definite plus for the hotel. Our room was okay but there was something sticky on the fridge door handle and that grossed me out. The room was also very humid compared to the hallways and lobby of the hotel. While the air conditioner was ON, it wasn't dehumidifying the room. This was annoying. The fitness room was very good. I didn't venture into the pool but my mom did. The free shuttle into the city was very convenient, and again I reiterate how nice the staff was.

One of the biggest minuses of this hotel is its location. There are NO restaurants within a 10 minute walking distance. While that might sound silly to complain about restaurants within a walking distance, you have to understand that this hotel is alongside the interstate overpass and there are only a few other hotels and parking garages, along with warehouses and some vacant buildings, in the entire area. NOT the most inviting environment in which to walk around once it gets dark. So the one night we wanted to to eat local, we ordered pizza that was delivered from a pizzeria somewhere not too far away.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here for my son's BMT Graduation at Lackland AFB. It was perfect place to stay for us. 5 minute walk to the Alamo. 10 minute walk to the Riverwalk. Close to everything. 20 minutes to Lackland. Traffic not a problem. Close to the highway. We got Free parking with a special code and booked early. Staff was amazing(Aaron and Megan especially). Tues- Thurs snack was a wonderful treat! Room was great size for our family and company to visit in. All 8 of us. Pool and putt putt golf course was small but nice. Don't hesitate. Book at this hotel. I will stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjjjja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Spent three nights at the hotel in early August and was impressed with the quality of the facility. Pictures throughout the hotel reminded you were in the heart of the city. Rooms were spacious, clean, cool, and well appointed. The towels were bright white and very fluffy. The staff, especially Georgina R and the owner made every effort to make guests
feel welcome and were so helpful with directions and recommendations. The variety of breakfast options each day was amazing.
In addition, the wine and cheese were a welcoming touch after touring the city sites.
We did not have a coupon and were surprised when we paid 15.00 for a handicapped spot.
All in all, I say this is a quality facility. Van service provided by the hotel made travel to the sites easier. The van ran every hour and you just had to sign up for the service.
San Antonio is a vibrant city and the location of he hotel allows you to be close enough and yet quiet enough to get away and relax.
I would definitely recommend this location and would return again when visiting San Antonio.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms provide a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daiseymae10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Was in town for 2 nights and thought this hotel was great, service from the staff was exceptional and went above and beyond. Short walk to the riverwalk and Alamo. Rooms were big and well maintained. Room faced the freeway but had no issues with noise

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Crockett Hotel
#17 of 357 in San Antonio
2,061 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 357 in San Antonio
3,162 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#16 of 357 in San Antonio
3,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Address: 505 Live Oak, San Antonio, TX 78202-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £81 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverwalk & ALAMO 3 Blks. VOTED "BEST Value Downtown"!Even more with the Special Offer above includes Free Parking.This Mediterranean, boutique 3 STAR hotel gives the Traveler or Family seeking a unique experience the highest value downtown because every room sleeps up to a family of 6 and includes FREE breakfast buffet & FREE high-speed wireless internet throughout the hotel. Plus!FREE wine, beer, and hors d'oeuvres Tues-Thurs from 5-7pm NEW Tesla Charging stations and standard charging station just installed! Comfort Suites Alamo Riverwalk is perfect for everyone, families, Monthly rates for Military, leisure, Corporate Suites, convention discounts. 89 suites and all of the rooms come with a sleeper sofa, microwave, refrigeratorheated pool, hot tub, Walking distance to 100 restaurants, a mall, art galleries, museums, festivals, parks and more! Perfect place for events like graduates from Lackland Airforce Base Ft Sam Medical Courses(monthly rates) SeaWorld and Trinity University ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Comfort Suites San Antonio
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing