We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Girls Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Ranked #13 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Girls Getaway”
Reviewed 24 August 2010

My mom, grandmother and I stayed at this hotel on a Sunday night. It was extremely quiet at the hotel and they didn't have their shuttle running to the Riverwalk, but what a gem! Michael at the front desk checked us in and gave directions and recommendations for dinner. He was helpful in printing our boarding passes for our flight the next day since the business center printer wasn't working. I work for a hotel management company in Minnesota and I am extremely picky because I see the inner workings of hotels every day and this hotel exceeded all of my expectations. It was very quiet even though it sits next to the freeway, I never heard any noise all night or the next morning. The breakfast was great from a nice clean area to the choices of food. I didn't mind that we had to drive downtown because my grandmother couldn't walk the 5 blocks to the Riverwalk, but if I stayed with other family it would have been an easy walk downtown. I cannot rave enough about this hotel and the service. I would recommend this hotel to anyone heading to San Antonio for business for leisure. Thanks for making the last night of our girls only trip wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    236
    76
    27
    11
See reviews for
398
322
32
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DeSoto, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2010

It was roomy..Clean..Staff were friendly..Internet was down in rooms..I enjoyed my stay..I don't like the part that my card has been charged 4 times for a one night stay..We left the second day cause we wanted something a lot closer to the riverwalk so we didn't have to walk so far..Other than that it was a good night..We got there late..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hrpierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2010

The Comfort Suites has nice spacious rooms, a great breakfast and good customer service. The hotel is also elegantly decorated with Thomasville Furniture and a beautiful lobby. Also, a shuttle to the local attractions.
But, after the initial fee for the room they add on a $10 per day fee for parking, either underneath a highway or in their small (can only fit 6 or so cars) lot outside the hotel. . Also, if you plan on doing laundry--you should make sure you have lots of quarters--laundry is $2.50 to wash and $2.50 dry one load. Also, the hotel is not necessarily on the river walk, do not be fooled. It is next to the highway, about a 5 minute walk to the river walk. Also, although they do have a pool and a 5-hole putting green they too are "under the bridge" --- the bridge being an on ramp to the highway. So, while swimming and golfing, make sure you bring your air plugs. The pool is also very narrow, it almost looks like a lap pool. The pool can only fit about 10 adults.
The Comfort suites is a nice place to stay but just be aware of the small issues. We were able to have a wonderful stay despite the small issues. The breakfast buffet was wonderful- they had a wonderful breakfast room and the room was very well appointed. The hotel will give you a nice theme of San Antonio. Rates are higher if you book ahead, but you can get a deal if you book last minute.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel6911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2010

The only place I will stay when in San Antonio. The staff is nothing short of first class in service and friendliness. My wife and I have stayed in many Comfort Suites, but this hotel is our favorite. The rooms are spacious and relaxing. The gathering room is warm and comfortable, with the Thursday night wine and cheese social becoming the highlight of a busy week.

The Riverwalk may be a little further away, but the hotel makes up for this small inconvenience with excellent service and accomodations. I highly recommend the Comfort Suites in downtown San Antonio.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cianna02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We came to San Antonio with 13 boys ages 7,8 and 9...so you can only imagine how hectic that can be. The hotel staff has been amazing! Each and every request has been answered quickly and professionally. From the staff who cleans my room, the staff the serves the most amazing continental breakfast to the manager, Ray, who provided me batteries when my camera way dying as we were waiting to take the boys to their game......can't say enough about the Comfort Suite at the Alamo/Riverwalk. Thanks for making our trip that much more comfortable.

Cher Crum

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chercrumlmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Upon arriving late I was greeted by the evening clerk by name, which was refreshing. The breakfast was wonderful and the kids enjoyed the pool. The location of this hotel was close to our desired areas. Fortunately the hotel had a shuttle for transportation, as well as the hotel was within walking distance as well. Definitely would stay here again. Friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soccermomsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2010

The hotel itself was very nice, very spacious rooms, LCD TV, decent size bathrooms, Fridge and coffee maker in room. The decor of the hotel is very appealing. The breakfast included hot eggs and potatoes as well as a waffle machine, fruit and yogurt, and other items. The hotel includes a small pool with a spa, which was very relaxing after a day at the Riverwalk. The location was mentioned by several reviewers, and I have to agree, it is not so nice to have to walk under a highway to the entrance of the hotel. But it is close to walk to the Alamo and River walk, about 10 minutes. Even though it is located right beside the highway, we did not hear any traffic noise in our room. The beds were very comfortable, and the rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jschamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
3,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#19 of 354 in San Antonio
1,746 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Property: Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Address: 505 Live Oak, San Antonio, TX 78202-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverwalk & ALAMO 3 Blks. VOTED "BEST Value Downtown"!Even more with the Special Offer above includes Free Parking.This Mediterranean, boutique 3 STAR hotel gives the Traveler or Family seeking a unique experience the highest value downtown because every room sleeps up to a family of 6 and includes FREE breakfast buffet & FREE high-speed wireless internet throughout the hotel. Plus!FREE wine, beer, and hors d'oeuvres Tues-Thurs from 5-7pm during our complimentary Manager's Reception. NEW Tesla Charging stations and standard charging station was just installed! Comfort Suites Alamo Riverwalk is perfect for everyone, families, Monthly rates for Military, leisure, Corporate Suites, convention discounts. Riverwalk minutes away from our 89 suites with either 1 king bed or 2 queen beds, and all of the rooms come with a sleeper sofa, microwave, refrigerator. The beautiful property also boasts its' heated pool, hot tub, (brand new)fitness center, business center, & a putting green. Walking distance to everywhere downtown, 100 restaurants, a mall, art galleries, museums, festivals, parks and more! Perfect place for events like graduates from Lackland Airforce Base(Packages on our hotel site), Ft Sam Medical Courses(monthly rates), family reunions, "Sisters of the Traveling Pants" and more. SeaWorld and Fiesta Texas are only 20-25 minutes away, Ft Sam is one exit north and Trinity University and InCarnate Word University are one exit away. City transportation is great with a one day bus pass you can ride the bus to the San Antonio Zoo (SPECIAL ZOO PACKAGE ON HOTEL SITE), Witte Museum and San Antonio Museum of Art and the Pearl Brewery. Stay in San Antonio at the Comfort Suites for that "Unique experience". Owner operated by The Chaudhry's who designed and built this unique hotel for your personal enjoyment. Bienvenidos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Comfort Suites San Antonio
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing