We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay in San Antonio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Ranked #13 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Bluffton, South Carolina
1 review
“Fantastic stay in San Antonio”
Reviewed 7 February 2011

All personnel were most helpful from the owner, the General Manager Ray Velazquez, Augi and John (handyman, shuttle drivers, etc.). Flew in from Savannah via Charlotte and rented a car at the Airport. Although there was a $10 a day parking fee, if I had known better I would have gotten a taxi from the airport and saved the parking fee as the Inn's Shuttle took us wherever we wanted to go....and they picked us up to return to the Inn!

The breakfast spread was out of this world! One fantastic "meal"! And, the "Manager's Get To Know One Another (for lack of a better term)" was beyond one's expectations with cheeses, fruits, and some libations to please all.

The rooms were most comfortable and quiet. The motif was designed for the Southwestern area, including all the normanl amentities.

Everyone was "down-to-earth" and easy to talk with and enjoy; We met the owner (a most attractive and well meaning woman) who blended in well with the "customers".

The next time we (my wife and I) go to San Antonio, we're staying at the Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muffy9614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    241
    77
    28
    15
See reviews for
413
333
32
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Convenient
Clean
Spacious
Good Breakfast
Helpful staff
A few minutes walk into the centre of San Antonio

Our room had 2 large beds along with a separate sitting area with a large bed settee, so could sleep 6 people in total, which meant that as a party of 3 we had plenty of space. The hotel also had a 'social evening' for guests where we had wine, beer, cheese, fruit and nibbles, which was a great idea. The riverwalk at night with all the lights and outdoor restaurants has a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayDreaming3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2011

My stay was amazing the room was beautiful!
The pillows are so soft that as soon as your head hits one your ASLEEP!
The restroom was huge and it was super clean!
The location was perfect for exploring the Downtown area!
They even had wine in the room free of charge! GREAT WINE!
The parking was accessible and survalanced.
Friendly staff and great tasting breakfast!
My boyfriend and I felt like a King and Queen.
Its like a home away from home!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleNicole138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Convenient 5 min walk to Riverwalk.Rooms spacious and comfortable. Good large breakfast area.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subithere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Rio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2011

I stayed at this hotel in late Jan 2011 with my family. I cannot say enough about the top notch customer service and quality of this hotel. They run a very convenient shuttle service and are willing to help make your stay amazing in any way. I highly recommend this hotel. We will be staying here during our next trips to San Antonio!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelRioJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clackamas, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We are on a lengthy road trip and have stayed in countless hotels. This has been by far the nicest, most accommodating, best valued hotel we have been at. The room was great and the beds were hard to get out of in the morning. Every single person from the shuttle driver to the desk employees to the housekeeping personnel went out of their way to ensure a great experience and it was successful. We will search for you in our future travels. Hopefully the other comfort suites are as fantastic! Regardless thank you for the best hotel stay for all three of us! We will recommend you

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sledheadchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

I wish there were 100 ways to praise this hotel. We looked at a lot of hotels on here before we chose where we would stay. We needed something close to the Alamodome for Bowl Week, and we found it. We travel a lot and we always look for the best bang for the buck -- and this time, we found it 10 fold. My most often complaint about any place we stay is staff. Not this time. The hotel staff is amazing, helpful, courteous - and there are not enough wonderful ways to praise them. Breakfast every day is awesome, satisfying, hot and ready to go -- definitely not your usual "bagel and coffee" that everyone else offers .... if they offer it at all ! and free!!! Awesome coffee -- that's big for me. Usually hotel coffee is bleah. Hot tub and swimming pool are heated and year round -- and open until 10! we went out last night and swam at 9 o'clock and it was chilly outside, but the water was toasty warm. Awesome! So many things within walking distance -- Alamo, Alamodome, so many other things .. but the hotel has a shuttle that will take you within 1 mile of the hotel from 9am to 9pm! and IT'S FREE! There is also a wonderful San Antonio public transit service - yellow/blue/red line bus as well as trolley -- and only $4 for a whole day pass!!! or 1.10 to get on and off -- there isn't much you can't get to off of those routes. If you fly in, take a cab to the hotel and it'll cost you about $30 -- don't rent a car. You don't need it (unless you plan to really go all over the place - to other cities or other surrounding towns. If you are staying in the center -- the routes are sufficient. There is a putting green and they provide the putters and golf balls. Today is Thusday -- there was a wine/beer reception with lovely snacks. IT WAS GREAT! Guest laundry is about $4.50 to wash/dry 1 load. They sell soaps in a little shop at the front desk -- you can also get sodas, waters, candy, etc. Also, there is an ATM machine in the lobby if you need it. Wonderful guest business center if you want to look at something you need to print (which we did :) But otherwise, free WIFI IN THE ROOM! Smoke free -- no pets. VERY CLEAN. VERY friendly. It's right off of the highway, easy to get to. The decor is gorgeous, and feels very vacation and authentic with beautiful art and a wonderful dining area to eat breakfast or just kick back and watch the big t.v.

Very generous size rooms with great space and bathroom size is awesome too. VERY comfy bed!

Refrigerator and microwave in the room so any dinner leftovers saved us $$ at lunch the next day because we could put them in the fridge and warm them up! so between that, and the wonderful fantastic delicious breakfast -- we only paid for 1 meal a day!

Fitness center is just big enough.


They are also eco-friendly and give options to help the environment; i.e., you can elect to have sheets not changed on a particular day, or if you happen to have towels you didn't use and don't need to swap out.

Don't waste your money staying at some place double the price --- this place is awesome and Ray and Crew we heart your hotel!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avbcmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#5 of 356 in San Antonio
3,052 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 356 in San Antonio
1,906 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 356 in San Antonio
3,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Property: Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Address: 505 Live Oak, San Antonio, TX 78202-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverwalk & ALAMO 3 Blks. VOTED "BEST Value Downtown"!Even more with the Special Offer above includes Free Parking.This Mediterranean, boutique 3 STAR hotel gives the Traveler or Family seeking a unique experience the highest value downtown because every room sleeps up to a family of 6 and includes FREE breakfast buffet & FREE high-speed wireless internet throughout the hotel. Plus!FREE wine, beer, and hors d'oeuvres Tues-Thurs from 5-7pm during our complimentary Manager's Reception. NEW Tesla Charging stations and standard charging station was just installed! Comfort Suites Alamo Riverwalk is perfect for everyone, families, Monthly rates for Military, leisure, Corporate Suites, convention discounts. Riverwalk minutes away from our 89 suites with either 1 king bed or 2 queen beds, and all of the rooms come with a sleeper sofa, microwave, refrigerator. The beautiful property also boasts its' heated pool, hot tub, (brand new)fitness center, business center, & a putting green. Walking distance to everywhere downtown, 100 restaurants, a mall, art galleries, museums, festivals, parks and more! Perfect place for events like graduates from Lackland Airforce Base(Packages on our hotel site), Ft Sam Medical Courses(monthly rates), family reunions, "Sisters of the Traveling Pants" and more. SeaWorld and Fiesta Texas are only 20-25 minutes away, Ft Sam is one exit north and Trinity University and InCarnate Word University are one exit away. City transportation is great with a one day bus pass you can ride the bus to the San Antonio Zoo (SPECIAL ZOO PACKAGE ON HOTEL SITE), Witte Museum and San Antonio Museum of Art and the Pearl Brewery. Stay in San Antonio at the Comfort Suites for that "Unique experience". Owner operated by The Chaudhry's who designed and built this unique hotel for your personal enjoyment. Bienvenidos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Comfort Suites San Antonio
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing