We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for Tourists”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Ranked #86 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Smyrna
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Convenient for Tourists”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Certainly agree with many of the previous positive reviews. Friendly and helpful staff; clean comfortable and large rooms; short, short walk to Alamo and Riverwalk entrance. Bistro is convenient but one can do better for breakfast -- seemed like mostly warmed up pre-prepared items. (Recommend Guenther House!) Room A/C was noisey -- apparently a problem related to this being a rehabbed building. Still, we had an overall good experience and would recommend.

Room Tip: Helps to be a member of the chain's reward program if you are looking for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    225
    69
    37
    31
See reviews for
149
215
39
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This small (95-room) hotel is a "Hidden Gem" in the area of The Alamo, and Riverwalk.

The hotel is the product of a recent and complete repurposing of a 100 year old former 7-story office building.

This mid-priced boutique hotel excels in several respects. First, the staff is exceedingly friendly and helpful, without becoming overbearing. From desk clerks to valets, housekeeping, and coffee shop staff, all were genuinely friendly; exemplifying "Texas Hospitality."

During my stay, I had an unforeseen need to use the hotel's conference room. Within 15 minutes, the hotel manager, and several employees had cleaned and prepped the room. You will never see this type of rapid response at most other hotels.

The second unique aspect of this hotel is the building. The structure was built around 1900 as an office building. The architects lovingly retained and restored most of the original ornate woodwork and floors. Modern elevators were constructed and are located a few feet away from the originals. But in a whimsical fashion, the designers retained the old elevator doors on each floor. The hallways of guest floors initially appear much as they might have 100 years ago when they were new (extensive woodwork and marble wainscot). However, when you open the seemingly antique office door to your room you are greeted with an Ultra Modern guest room. The contrast between old and new is executed perfectly, Well Done!

I will be back

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curious_Traveler_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndigoAlamo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Curious_Traveler_SD

We are very pleased to hear that Hotel Hotel Indigo Alamo is a "Hidden Gem" in the area of The Alamo, and River Walk!
It's also very nice to hear that you found our staff to be exceedingly friendly and helpful exemplifying Texas Hospitality. We certainly fully enjoy taking care of our guests and their needs and feel honored and excited to hear we accomplished that with you. Thank you for taking time to share your praise with us and the traveling community of TripAdvisor. We hope to see you back soon!
Angela Alvarado - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Indigo took over an old building and made a great hotel while keeping a lot of the original building charm. Beds are comfortable, staff is very friendly & the location is great! The Alamo is right across the street & the Riverwalk is only a block away!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GBCheesehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndigoAlamo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear GBCheesehead, Our boutique hotel actually sits in the original grounds of the Alamo. Many historians stop by pointing at specific areas where many important events actually happened!!! I'm glad you also enjoyed our location as we are just steps away from all the action. Very grateful for your visit and kind words, come visit us again! Angela Alvarado -GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I have found that just about every employee here is very helpful. Keren made me my own personal smoothie which wasn't on the menu, Amanda was extremely courteous and went as far as to carrying a fridge and microwave to my room with in minutes of me arriving. A valet member by the name if Jordan was top notch. Brought my vehicle and had even taken out all the trash which left me impressed. It doesn't hurt that there are bars and great restaurants around every corner.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arbitron01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Cool hotel in a great building. My room was clean and the location couldn't be better. The service was excellent. Easy check in and check out. The valet parking is fast and convenient. Thanks to the staff for being friendly and efficient. Especially Amanda at the front desk. Overall, it was a very good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NTXtrav22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndigoAlamo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Just steps away from the main area of the famed Riverwalk, Rivercenter Mall and right across from The Alamo! Safe, secure and close to everything Downtown San Antonio has to offer! Come see us again! Angela Alvarado -GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

In pursuit of the perfect "staycation" my wife and I decided to stay at the Indigo by the Alamo, this was a wise choice. The building is an old office building and has a lot of character and charm. There are old elevator doors that look amazing. The thing I really enjoyed was the old directory that had listings of actual folks who used to rent office space in the building. I learned a lot during this stay from taking tours in the area and from this building as well. This is a must stay for any history buff. The location is so close to a great deal of history.
The rooms are a little small but have all the modern ammenities that you would expect and a very comfortable bed. The staff was very friendly and accommodating so i would really recommed this hotel to amy traveler.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room on the 7th or 8th floor that has a view of the Alamo
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndigoAlamo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Herbert C - The history within and around our hotel is never ending! We work hard to preserve all the historic features inside our building and will gladly point out other sites you are yet to discover in our amazing neighborhood!
Angela Alvarado -GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

A friend and I stayed here in June during a weekend trip. We were in our room for about an hour before leaving for dinner and sightseeing. When we got back to our room that night around 11pm we discovered that the shopping bags we had brought with us were missing. We called up to the front desk who told us we must have misplaced them and nothing could be done until the morning. After hanging up we found that our electronics and many personal items were missing from our bags. We went down to the front desk and called the police to file a report. During the time that we were waiting, the front desk receptionist was very rude and unhelpful regarding the situation and was almost accusatory towards us. She would not refund our money because my friend had booked the room through her credit card company and only offered us a room change. The police officer who took our report found that the door to our room didn't shut completely and that is likely how the people got in. We checked out that night without receiving a single apology from any members of the staff. The hotel staff was very unhelpful throughout the entire ordeal especially after checking the door key records to rule out any staff members and the manager stopped returning email correspondence.

That said, the hotel was nice enough but that is negated by the poor customer service that was displayed. I would think they would be more concerned about the ability for guests or other people to get into the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Libbyhild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndigoAlamo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
As with this and any other issues you may encounter while traveling our hotel staff and management is always available to help you as much as possible. It is to the advantage of our guests that we have staff 24/7 to assist with all of your needs and situations no matter how unusual or complex these may be.
Angela Alvarado -GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Crockett Hotel
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
1,943 reviews
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menger Hotel
#24 of 358 in San Antonio
2,446 reviews
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo

Property: Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Address: 105 N Alamo St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1922
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#47 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#78 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
91 Room boutique hotel in a 1909 historic bldg. Hotel sits across the the street from the Alamo and 1/2 block from the Riverwalk. Close enough to walk to any and everything you will want to do in downtown San Antonio. Also home to the 1909 Bar & Bistro serving breakfast and dinner daily. Happy Hour specials every night. Let us be your home away from home on your next trip to beautiful San Antonio! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing