We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh, so promising but so lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio
Ranked #152 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Oh, so promising but so lacking”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Liked this location due to close proximity to the medical center area. You can get there via Fredericksburg and avoid the traffic jams on the highways. The hotel are going through a makeover so it looks updated ... however ...
now all the windows are sealed as well as the hallway end windows. No discernable air exchange and no makeup air at the ends of the hallways. Ergo, stale dead air and you can tell the construction dust, paint fumes, adhesive fumes, etc... lingered and will be there forever. Room air quality likewise suffered and with underpowered window PAC units, it gets warm during the day and only cools off after midnight. Coffee machine only manage to brew half a cup at a time with water still half full in the fill area. Showers gets lukewarm, never hot so may be an issue during winter time.

TV is nice that it has some HD contents so kept the kids entertained with their cooking and kids channels. Seems to take some warming up time or channel would freeze or skip and not lock. Not a show stopper but kinda irritating.

We asked for a shock treatment as the PAC unit is putting out stale musty air when AC is not running but alas the ozone unit "does not work". That would mean Febreeze every day in closed unventilated areas. With the weekend late night partiers, you can definitely tell walking down the hallway what happened the night before.

Breakfast was uninteresting with no variety, lacking in fresh fruit compotes, dead waffle machine, yogurts running out early in the day, watery fruit juices, and extremely low grade coffee. I was never so glad a Starbucks was just across the street.

Outside pool is so so, kind of small size so you can splash but not really do laps. Hot tub is nice option but not so hot when you get in, I would think water temps should exceed average body temps of 98.6 degrees F to qualify as "hot" tub. Not many qualified for various excuses/reasons.

Not sure about the dogs barking at the back, but the front facing I-10 with the frequent trucks blasting by above the din of the struggling ac may require some forms of sleeping aids to get you started on your night rest.

If this is growing pain, I feel for them and hope it improves and turns out better for future guests. Staff seems to be doing their best so no complaints on the service end.

I'm guinea pigged out at the moment.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Can N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSanAntonio, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Can N,

We sincerely appreciate that you took your time to write the details of your stay. We value all of our guests' feedback and use it to evaluate what can be done to improve our hotel as well as what we are doing right.

Thank you for acknowledging our efforts to make your stay comfortable. It is just saddening that you were not satisfied with your room and our accommodations did not exceed your expectations. Rest assured with the changes that are ongoing, our hotel will deliver better services and enhance better customer experiences to our future guests. Please do consider us again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    24
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
32
15
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

If your room is facing the back of the hotel, you will hear dogs barking all night long (the hotel borders private backyards). Also, the coffee maker is sitting on a shelf next to the toilet!!! This is disgusting!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VicUSofA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSanAntonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear VicUSofA,

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience during your stay. Your feedback is indeed of great importance to us. It is our goal to provide the best lodging experience to our valued guests. Your valuable feedback will help us improve in delivering excellent services to our guests. Rest assured that your comments regarding the barking dogs at night and coffee maker shelf will be handled accordingly to ensure that you’ll have a much better stay in the future. Thank you very much for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I was a little concerned when we pulled into the parking lot and security cameras were everywhere, but we decided to go inside. Once inside, there were more cameras giving me a feeling that they must have safety/security issues, but we were pleasantly surprised. The lobby was modern and the staff was very friendly. The 4th floor did smell smokey, but the room was great! Very clean and modern with a huge bathroom. I loved the bath and bodyworks amenities and the breakfast was good. We parked by the door and felt safe. Overall we would stay here again.

Room Tip: The 4th floor smells smokey. Not sure if the other floors do as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel4memories_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSanAntonio, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear travel4memories_9,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our Hotel. We are pleased to know that you had a surprisingly wonderful experience with our excellent accommodations and superior staff services. Your safety is important to us; we do everything necessary to ensure that you are secured and comfortable. Your feedback regarding smell in the 4th floor will be assessed for a more satisfying stay in the future. It has been a pleasure serving you and we look forward to you next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our rooms were not ready on arrival ,so had to wait a bit. The keys were given at front desk but tried to use the entrance closest to the room and it did not work so walked to the next entry point and then it worked.
Thankfully the front staff kept us informed and we got our room.

Hotel room and breakfast all were up to the standard of this chain.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LimReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSanAntonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear LimReviewer,

We appreciate you giving your feedback about your experience. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Guest satisfaction is most important in our hotel. Rest assured your feedback will help us in improving the services we offer to our dear guests. Our staff will always be pleased to assist you in every possible way to make your stay satisfying and comfortable. Your feedback helps to improve our quality of service, thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

We arrived late to the hotel and were worried because there was broken glass in the parking lot, but after a long flight, we chose to keep our reservation. We checked in to a clean 4th floor room (although a very smokey hallway) and everything was good, except missing springs on the pull out couch, this made for an uncomfortable nights sleep for one. The room was quiet, there were plenty of children in the hotel and I didn't hear any from my room. The breakfast was good, eggs sausage, yogurt, pastries the usual. When we went to pack up the car, a car in the parking lot had been broken into, seperate from the glass the night before. I notified the front desk but they seemed to not be worried about it. There is supposedly security for the parking lot, but I didn't feel "secure"

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arenee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear arenee14,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the behavior of the local community prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed for 4 nights. Staff excellent. Mr. Bryan Hathi, Mr. Lupe, and FD lady (Sorry- forgot the name).
Poor house keeping.
Careless maintenance or as good as no maintenance. Jacuzzi, Business center, etc.. don't work
NIce breakfast.

Room Tip: Just check your room for surprises about clean beds and linens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSanAntonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear urvee,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our property. We are sincerely thankful that you’ve appreciated the efforts of our staff to make your stay comfortable. We’ve also shared your comments to our Housekeeping staff to ensure that cleanliness in our Hotel is observed at all times. Feedbacks like these are taken seriously as we want you to have a more likely experience during your stay at our Hotel. Your business is very important to us; we sincerely hope that we may be given a chance to change your perception of our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Had to book last minute through hotels.com. Showed up to find out the room didn't exist that we had paid for. Had to pay another $50 out of pocket to get a room that would accommodate our family. The suite was supposed to have a sleeper sofa that 2 teens were going to share. Springs were broken so bad that we put up with the attitude of the front desk and telling us that they only had one rollaway bed left. So we hade to make one teen sleep on the sofa. The "free breakfast Buffett" was 3 hot items, cold foods and bananas. We spoke with the manager about the sleeping arrangements and got no apologies. He explained that their only have a part time handyman. So we paid $200 for one night of the worst holiday inn express experience we've ever had.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationGeraldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear VacationGeraldin,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

I am disappointed to learn that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. I sincerely apologize for the troubles you had with your reservation and for the shortcomings you have encountered in your room.

Your experience is definitely not reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with. As such, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future improvements where possible. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
North Central
La Quinta Inn San Antonio Vance Jackson
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio ...
#177 of 356 in San Antonio
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Antonio Medical Center North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio
Address: 102 Spencer Ln, San Antonio, TX 78201-2109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Medical Center/Crossroads, the cultural gateway to the Southwest and a popular tourist destination. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is conveniently located only 5.5 miles west of the Alamo and the River Walk in downtown San Antonio and 3 miles east of the South Texas Medical Center. The premier location of San Antonio s newest hotel is perfectly accessible to all area attractions and businesses: TexSan Heart Hospital, CTRC-Cancer Therapy & Research Center, Christas Santa Rosa Health Care, UT Health Center, Verizon, Toyota, Bank of America, and Wachovia are just a few of the companies that call San Antonio home. The city has a strong military presence as well it is home to Fort Sam Houston, Lackland Air Force Base, Randolph Air Force Base, and Brooks City-Base. The hotel is centrally located in San Antonio just minutes from Six Flags Fiesta Texas, SeaWorld San Antonio, Splashtown Water Park, the Historic Missions, Breckenridge Park, the Alamodome, AT&T Center where the successful San Antonio Spurs play basketball, and the Marion Koogler McNay Art Museum. Guests of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Antonio stay connected with our complimentary high-speed wired & wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, relax in our outdoor pool and spa, or work out in our well-equipped fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Antonio
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing