We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We could have done better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites near Medical Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites near Medical Center
Ranked #156 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We could have done better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We got a good price for the hotel ($89) booking on expedia. The hotel had good ratings and was recommended. Our room was smaller than I expected and was dirty when we checked in (trash under bed chairs and carpet need vaccuuming). We did enjoy the breakfast but guess we expected a more comfortable room (guess we've gotten spoiled and need to dish out a bit more cash :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    42
    21
    11
    15
See reviews for
57
35
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We made the booking at the last moment, for the other hotels were full up the days being a weekend. The location is good midway between Sea World and Downtown, however the rooms are a bit musty. Service is just acceptable, for $145/night I would expect a better value for my buck.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Krishnan Iyer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I booked this hotel during our cross-country trip. We were driving from Tucson to San Antonio but made it as far as Ft. Stockton. The nice clerk at the Comfort Suites there called this location to see if we could transfer our reservation. The nasty little man on the phone informed her that they were not corporate owned and had a strict 24 hour cancellation policy. We didn't know 24 hours before that we wouldn't be there. My crystal ball was on the fritz that day. So we are out $100+ for a room we never made it to.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank CKing67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very often I chose a hotel because the chain it represents is reliable but not true for this Comfort Inn. This hotel was dirty. We checked in and noticed the stool for the desk clerk to sit at was falling apart. The elevator floor hadn't been cleaned in some time. The phone did not work and blinked all night. The door latch did not close properly and I felt most insecure all night. The closet knob was missing and the floor was filthy. The couple who was traveling with us asked for another room because their room simply stank. This place is a dump and should be closed as a Comfort Inn franchise.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CutestCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at this location because it had rooms that would allow our family of 6 to stay in one room. When we arrived the air conditioner in the hall on the third floor was turned off, so it was very hot. The air conditioner in our room was not on either so it took quite a while for our room to cool down. The beds were comfortable and linens were clean, but the tv stand was falling apart. We used the pool but wished we hadn't because there was way too much chlorine. The breakfast was OK for the most part but the biscuits were as hard as bricks and for some reason the waffle maker did not cook the waffle all the way. I would probably not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjfowle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Let me preface my rating by letting everyone know that I attempted to write a review on the website of this particular hotel; however, apparently, they deleted my confirmation number, which prevented me from writing my review on this hotel. Therefore, I am writing my review on here and on other review websites, so that others will be warned in advance, in making their reservations. This was an AWFUL hotel!! Honestly, this is the worst hotel that I have ever stayed at, EVER!!!

I am extremely upset, after staying at this hotel, Comfort Inn & Suites, 6039 IH 10 West, San Antonio, TX. 78201. I attempted to speak with the front desk "Daniel the evening of June 17, 2014, via telephonic, but he kept interrupting me and was not being attentive at all, nor was he comprehending and digesting everything that I was trying to explain to him about my horrific and scary stay! Therefore, I will outline all of the discrepancies/issues, in writing, that I encountered during my recent stay at Comfort Inn and Suites 6039 IH 10 West, San Antonio, TX. 78201:

I arrived on June 16, 2014 and a person by the name of "Danny" checked me in. Upon calling the hotel to find out the exact location, I was lied to, by the person that guaranteed my reservation ("Daniel"), as he stated this particular hotel was in a "great" area of San Antonio. He was very dishonest and he knew he was lying to me. This hotel is in an awful and dangerous area of the city.

Initially, "Danny" assigned my room and I went into the room, before I unloaded my luggage, only to find out that the toilet wouldn't flush and was close to overflowing. Also the air conditioning didn't work well at all and stunk really bad, plus, there were cobwebs in the AC vents on the unit. The room stunk really bad!

Shortly after seeing the first room, I immediately returned to the front desk & spoke with "Danny" again, explaining the situation with that room. He then assigned me to a different room (#116).

As soon as entered that room (#116), I noticed that someone had been laying in the bed, as there was pink lint and crumbs all over the sheets and the bedspread was all crinkled up. Also, there were light bulbs missing, so I didn't have much light at all, the microwave didn't work, etc. Once again, I returned to the desk and spoke with "Danny" about the situation with the sheets and he had housekeeping come in and change them. However, the damage had already been done & the room stunk really bad too!! There was a lot more wrong with the room, than just with the sheets.

Behind the bed, on the wall, nearest to the phone, on the nightstand, there's something green that is stuck on the wall, close to the head of the mattress. That was gross, especially having to sleep right in front of it! That was so sick!!

The air conditioning was filthy, with what looked like, little white cotton balls flying around and cobwebs in the vents & it was a very loud unit, which interrupted my sleeping. I had to actually put earplugs in and it still did not completely diffuse the sound!

The shower/bath tub was despicable!! The conditions were deplorable!!! There was black hair all on the bottom of the shower and mold in the corner, growing! I couldn't even stand to look at it and had to close it off. I ended up having to sponge bathe because there was no way that I was going to get in that shower! Disgusting!!

The floor was very dirty and wet. As I was walking with my socks on, after only a few minutes, my socks were black on the bottom, because of the filth, wetness & dirt on the floor!

A short time later, I was wanting to warm something up & the microwave didn't even work! It was plugged in, so that wasn't the cause of it not working. I went to the front desk and spoke a person by the name of "Helena" and told her to make sure she puts in a work order for that microwave because I really need it to work, so I can warm up my food. I ended up having to use the microwave in the breakfast room, which by the way, was filthy & very dirty on the outside of the microwave, with smeared fingerprints everywhere! On a positive note, "Helena" was a very nice person. She was the only person that was friendly. Upon my departure/check out from the hotel, I let her know that my stay was awful and that I would be writing a review about my experience.

I had already checked out of my room that morning and the only way that they could "slightly" make up for my horrible stay is to refund my FULL amount that I paid for due to the horrible conditions I endured! Well, in the beginning, apparently, they charged my credit card TWICE! I disputed this with the manager of the hotel and one of the charges dropped automatically, as I later found out that charge was the charge when they guaranteed the reservation and then, when you check in, they actually charge your card, which essentially means, your "available" balance will be less doubled the amount of your stay, which is not good because you will not have that money available to use until after the "pending" amounts are dropped, which takes approximately, 3-4 days. I complained to this person named, "Linda Westermann," via email and all she eventually agreed to do is charge me half of the regular charged amount. I cannot believe they expect for a guest to pay when the guest is very dissatisfied AND also brought up the problems immediately, upon check in, trying to give them a chance to correct it, but in reality, there was no way possible that they could correct it, unless they closed the hotel and did some heavy duty cleaning. YES, it was THAT BAD !!!! I am appalled that I am being charged because they are very much aware that I was miserable during my stay!

Think twice before you make a reservation at Comfort Inn & Suites 6039 IH 10 West, San Antonio, TX. 78201, because this a very bad hotel! Also, if you do stay here, which I don't know why anyone would stay there, after reading about my horrific experience, PAY WITH CASH !!!!!
I don't write reviews very often, but this time, I just couldn't overlook all the problems that I had at this hotel and feel very strongly in conveying to all of you reading this about my VERY BAD experience.

Room Tip: NONE of the rooms at this hotel property are good, in my opinion and of many other opinions of forme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I had a pretty great stay here for about a week. The only downside was when another visitor to the hotel decided to hang their clothing on the sprinkler system in the room which set off the fire alarm multiple times in one evening.

It would have helped if there could have been some type of announcement or someone going to rooms and announcing that there was no fire. Instead we kept waking up and checking to see ourselves if there was something going on.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#142 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Northwest Side
Comfort Suites Medical Center near Six Flags
Northwest Side
Comfort Suites Near Seaworld
Comfort Suites Near Seaworld
#158 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn N.W. Medical Center
#197 of 353 in San Antonio
3.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
North Central
La Quinta Inn San Antonio Vance Jackson
Northwest Side
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Antonio Medical Center, TX
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites near Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites near Medical Center

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites near Medical Center
Address: 6039 W Interstate 10, San Antonio, TX 78201-2104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites near Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 100% non smoking Comfort Inn & Suites opened late 2008 and offers a free HOT breakfast, free wireless high speed internet, indoor pool and hot tub, exercise room and service you will remember with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites near Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Medical Center San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing