We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Tour of the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of San Antonio Walks

San Antonio Walks
Ranked #19 of 57 Tours in San Antonio
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: San Antonio - Revealed as never before! 8 Top Rated Tours: Missions, History, Sightseer, Private VIP, King William, Architecture, Teacher's Edition, Food Tours, Cooking Classes. In-depth, unique and fascinating tours of discovery that will alter your perception of San Antonio, Texas History, and the Battle of the Alamo!
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
“Excellent Tour of the City”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My fiancé and I had never been to San Antonio and were looking for a way to learn about the city and orient ourselves for the remainder of our stay, so we decided to book the San Antonio Walks Historic tour. Our guide Gary was Fantastic! All facts said were researched from first hand testimonials of people who were there, not text books which gave this tour a different feel than ones I had taken in other cities. The guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and truly in love with the history of the city. I would highly recommend this tour - we are looking forward to taking the San Antonio Walks Fork in the RIver Tour with him next time we visit!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    5
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“I LOVE the atmosphere”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

It's a great place to just hangout and do nothing. the scenery was amazing and there is plenty of shade to block the TX sun. Nice restaurants to walk to as well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pinkness3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good tour”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We recently enjoyed the San Antonio walking history tour. Our guide was very knowledgable. Our only reservation was that it was too much about the Alamo, with which we were already very familiar. Perhaps a tour could be offered that would take history from after the Alamo to a more recent time. But if you are interested in history, I recommnd this tour to you.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank gigiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent informative guide.”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Highly recommend San Antonio walks! Gary our guide was incredibly knowledgeable, brought everything to life. A good introduction to San Antonio!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Max26154995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
239 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Incredibly informed tour guide”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We took the SanAntonioWalks historic San Antonio tour after reading about it on TripAdvisor.com. I'm so glad we did. Our guide was incredibly informed and made the history come alive. The tour was $16 each and lasted 2 hours. It was the best money we spent on our trip. If you like history, don't miss it.

We just happened to be the only ones to come for the tour that day, so we wound up with a private guide. This must be how the other half lives!!

Don't forget to go to the Menger Hotel bar for a drink afterwards. It's right next door to the Alamo. You'll be parched after your tour and will need a medicinal beer! The bar is where Teddy Roosevelt recruited his Rough Riders and there is lots of memorabilia to see.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bauercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Antonio Walks also viewed

 

Been to San Antonio Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing