We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, close to shopping and restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South
Ranked #51 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, close to shopping and restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Great hotel; very clean and comfortable. Nice linens and pillows and plenty of towels. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was good and plentiful. The hotel is in a decent part of town, not scenic but very convenient to shopping and many nice restaurants, and is very easy to get to. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    149
    52
    24
    25
See reviews for
241
95
29
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wautoma
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This Country Inn & Suites is the newest property I have stayed in. I understand it was a Cambria in it's prior life. I had a very well appointed corner room, large 2 plus rooms with 3 large windows and large bathroom. The first floor had a bar for refreshments and the morning breakfast was great with a lady who removed your dirty dishes.

Room Tip: The location is a few blocks from airport. It is setback from the main road with a large fenced unat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I was here on business recently and was pleasantly surprised by this new hotel. Past experiences with CI&S have been a little too "circa" but this is right up there with the best. Rooms are warmly laid out, beds a super comfy, TV has a great selection of channels including NBCsports network (for all you global football fans), breakfast is good, service excellent ++, and the gym has a full set of free weights up to 65lbs, a decent cable station, two benches, exercise balls and about 10 cardio machines. I never heard airport noise as the windows a double paned.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank passportravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Went to San Juan Tx visiting parents, stayed at country Inn on our way back to catch flight back home and It was very clean, room was excellent clean and with lots of walking room asked for a shower chair for my amputee spouse and this was there! TWO Tv's NICE! BEAUTIFUL!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gomezrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

If you need clean and reasonably priced lodging, this place could be fine, but the drawbacks make it impossible to give a better rating.
- Arrival: it is set on the far end of what looks like a parking lot for tractor trailers. Once you get into the lobby, it is actually fine, but on the drive into the parking lot, I said out loud "oh h*ll no". The "owner assumes all risks" signs in the parking lot should tell you something.
- Front desk: very friendly staff.
- Room: GREAT layout, and comfortable bed. The A/C was NOISY all night long, as were the neighbors. Thin walls. Not good.
- Internet: I had to check out early and find alternate lodging (HUGE inconvenience) because the internet was SO SLOW that I could barely get online, let alone do the business that I came to do. I had read a manager comment that the internet speed had been addressed, but it seems that her idea of high-speed internet is quite different than the rest of the planet.

Bottom line: I was disappointed because this could be a great place...but because they didn't live up to the promises that led me to book here, I cannot recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlson Hotels C, Carlson at Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

If you would like to discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Traveling here for a conference that was hosted in the heart of downtown San Antonio. I was able to use some of my points and stay here for 1/2 the cost of downtown. Free parking vs $29/day. Complimentary breakfast (that was actually good) vs. the $6.00 for a bagel that my daughter paid staying downtown. 1 mile from the airport and close to the freeway. The staff are all wonderful. Room is clean and practical. No complaints!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatesville, TX
Level Contributor
426 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We booked this hotel through hotwire without knowing which hotel we would receive. After staying here last weekend, we were quite impressed. The hotel offers a huge lobby, extremely nice quiet suite rooms with good beds, plenty of space, couch, refrigerator, updated decor, and modern bathroom. Then there is the abundant and really great breakfast served in a rather large space with plenty of tables and chairs.

This hotel is heavily booked which means you might as well check in at 3pm instead of wait for an hour or so like we did for the rooms to be cleaned. However, the front desk staff did a wonderful job keeping us informed and making us feel welcomed guests.

Even though the location is at the airport (a bit hard to get to - make sure you get good directions) it was a snap to get into downtown and the AT&T Center, which is were we attended a WNBA basketball game. I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Check in at 3pm or you may have to wait since the hotel is booked up most nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasCatBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northeast San Antonio
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio Airport
Uptown Broadway
Pear Tree Inn San Antonio Airport
Uptown Broadway
Four Points by Sheraton San Antonio Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown Broadway
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South
Address: 8505 Broadway St, San Antonio, TX 78217 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Antonio Airport)
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northeast San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#89 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#96 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South, located less than half a mile from SAT Airport. We are pleased to provide such convenient amenities as onsite dining, meeting space, free WiFi, an indoor heated pool and complimentary shuttle service to San Antonio International Airport. Hotel guests enjoy easy access to nearby golf courses, shopping destinations and local attractions like The Alamo, San Antonio Riverwalk, Morgan's Wonderland and SeaWorld San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Hotel San Antonio
Cambria Suites San Antonio
Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing