We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Quiet New Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South
Ranked #53 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Clean Quiet New Hotel”
Reviewed 2 April 2009

This new all-suite hotel was a great find. It was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. It is right next to the airport but at no time did we hear any outside noises.
The staff was very kind, happy, and eager to help with anything. As we were leaving on checkout day the cleaning lady said "thank you very much for staying with us."
The area in front of the hotel was a fenced off vacant lot, but I didn't see anything in the area that made me feel unsafe.
There was a good selection of expresso drinks in the lobby in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sewtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amado M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
A. Julian M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    152
    55
    24
    28
See reviews for
248
101
31
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sillkgrl3ant
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2009

I booked this hotel after reading great reviews. I sacrificed cost for comfort. However, my stay here was not as expected. Check-in was easy, but once i got to my room...my sheets looked wrinkled as if someone had been sitting on them...looked closer and there were hairs, yellow crusty spots, perfume smells all over. Told housekeeping because they were in hallway, she promised me (loudly and lil irate) in the best english she could get that the sheets were clean. Traveling with 2 small kids & tired, i just throw off my dirty pillows and top sheets and worked with what i could. In the morning before adventuring off into the city I marked my sheets with mascara just to see what kind of practice this place has for sanitation. WOW. housekeeping made it look as if they had replaced my sheets but NO THEY DIDNT. ALL THEY DID WAS MAKE THE BED. MY DIRTY SHEETS REMAINED. How disgusting.
And so what, 2 HDTV's but no HD service. I could hear neighboring rooms taking baths and blowing noses, coughing. I could also hear the airplanes. Swimming pool is very very small, so is fitness room.
The breakfast buffet is the same daily. Cost $9.50 per individual no difference of age. I called ahead and asked for complementary breakfast, I suggest you do the same. The staff couldnt handle the morning traffic for the breakfast buffet niether could the seating.
I was choosing between the Pear Tree Inn by Drury or this place. I regret choosing Cambria, maybe Pear Tree would have changed my sheets?

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sillkgrl3ant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amado M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service.

Sincerely,

A. Julian M
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

The best thing about this hotel is the room! Has beautiful decor, nice bed, sofa bed, desk, free wi-fi, loved having a mini fridge and microwave. Everything that everyone has said positive is true. Went to visit family and stayed 2 nights. We didn't hear the planes.... not like in Houston airport hotels where you can definitely hear the planes come and go. Restaurants and shops are just south of hotel. My husband loved having 2 plasma tv's so one for him and one for me. We didn't eat at the onsite restaurant which offered buffet style breakfast (I think is was $10/person or so). Free parking is great! New hotel so not very crowded. Great location and convenient. We used priceline to book so we named our own price and was lucky to get this hotel for $40/night. I don't think the hotel was fully booked when we stayed. We hope to stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amado M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
A. Julian M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Corinth, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2009

This hotel is awesom !!! all of the staff are super friendly and helpful. the place is spotless clean (partly because it's brand new, but i have no doubt that it will stay that way). there is a huge lobby area with big comfy chairs, tv, and two computers for customer use. there is also a bar/bistro in the lobby and they offer a buffet breakfast for $9.95. the gym is full of top of the line equipment. just off the gym area is an indoor pool (small) and a large hot tub. the room was very nice. there is a couch/living area with flat screen tv, micro,frig,coffee maker..etc..very modern and functional decor. there is an excellent desk/computer work area with multible electronic connection ports.king bedroom had another flat screen tv.the view from our window (and from the front of the building)is not so great..an old abandoned parking lot/building site. but that may change in the future and it was not a big deal. as far as location: one block from I-410, mins. from the airport, and there are restaurants and stores a few hundred feet away. We love this place, highly recommend it, and we will return !!!

  • Liked — the staff and the room
  • Disliked — the view
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mainebasedneverhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amado M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
A. Julian M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, WI
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2009

Beautiful new hotel. Exceptional decor. I'd stay here again!

Business desk has lots of electrical outlets, with wired and wireless Internet. Beautiful vases, lamps and art-deco bathroom make this a perfect room for a romantic getaway, too. Two (2) flat screen TV's. VERY comfortable bed and pillows. Great service, friendly staff. I don't think I have ever rated a hotel as a 5-dot (excellent) before, but this place deserves it.

Very minor squawks: Rooms are well sound-proofed, but this is an airport hotel, so you will probably be waken in the morning by the noise from the jets taking off. I don't know why hotels don't run their bathroom ventilation systems, but no air moved in or out of our bathroom. (I don't know why many motels leave vent systems off so that the moisture build up in the rooms...) I wish there were a couple of coat hooks near the front door.

  • Liked — Very comfortable, restfull room with great decor.
  • Disliked — Airport noise, far from tourist attractions.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MidwestComputer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amado M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
A. Julian M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in December at this new hotel in San Antonio. Cambria Suites offers services and amenities far above other hotels in this price category. The décor is fresh and modern and the staff very friendly and accommodating. The lobby area was a pleasant surprise, with a barista as well as a full service bar, wide-screen television, business workstations, free wireless access and comfortable seating areas.

Our room was large, clean and stylish. It had a nice desk area with wireless access, convenient docking station and an ergonomic chair. The comfortable bed with quality linens was arranged to allow privacy and separation from the lounge area, each with their own Sony flat-screen televisions. The bathroom had a pleasing spa design, with a raised table-top sink, large plush towels and quality soaps and lotions from Bath and Body Works. I especially enjoyed having good lighting in the tub/shower area and the full-size hair dryer with a diffuser (instead of the cumbersome wall-mounted type).

Cambria has full service meal options. In the morning, we opted for the excellent breakfast buffet but could have had a meal cooked to order if we wished. Upon checkout, I just had to walk across the lobby to order a hot mocha latte for the road!

We will look to stay at this hotel again in San Antonio or in other Cambria Suites for future trips.

  • Liked — Amenities, comfort, staff, price, location
  • Disliked — No complaints!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amado M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
A. Julian M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Uptown Broadway
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport
Northeast San Antonio
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown Broadway
Four Points by Sheraton San Antonio Airport
Uptown Broadway
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South
Address: 8505 Broadway St, San Antonio, TX 78217 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Antonio Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northeast San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#89 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#96 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South, located less than half a mile from SAT Airport. We are pleased to provide such convenient amenities as onsite dining, meeting space, free WiFi, an indoor heated pool and complimentary shuttle service to San Antonio International Airport. Hotel guests enjoy easy access to nearby golf courses, shopping destinations and local attractions like The Alamo, San Antonio Riverwalk, Morgan's Wonderland and SeaWorld San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Hotel San Antonio
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson
Cambria Suites San Antonio
Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing