We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful facilities - ignore the sales staff”
Review of Wyndham La Cascada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham La Cascada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Currently at the end of our weeklong vacation and we have enjoyed our stay in San Antonio. This resort is beautiful and the rooms clean, spacious and have great furnishings. It is much closer to Riverwalk than we thought and have walked many miles this week. The resort offers a complimentary shuttle but the times aren't always what you need. In most cases, you can walk to or from. It's in a safe area, the court house is just up the block and the National Treasury is across the street. If you don't like noise, do not get a room facing the courthouse/Drury hotel. The dumpsters are emptied at 4:15 a.m. and there are 4 dumpsters! Most people aren't used to being banged awake at that time as most don't live in NY! The only major complaint is the incessant calling of the sales/service reps to get you to come to an "update" of your benefits of being a Wynham owner. I finally unplugged the phones. However, to get the blue armbands to ride the shuttle, they hit you up for a meeting if they haven't been able to contact you by phone. The guy came to the room for a quick info session and then scheduled us for a more in depth meeting the next day. It's all a game to get you in the sales center that is not called a sales center. Just ignore all attempts to get you hooked and you'll be good to go. NEVER believe that the 45 minutes will be 45 minutes!!! All other staff were friendly and always spoke on our way in and out. We would stay here again should we return to San Antonio.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the alley side of the hotel --that's were the dumpsters are located -- very no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gowake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2011

This place is a hoax. There are representatives there who lie to your face and get you in debt even when they complete figures that show you can not afford the property. Then they use someone you know with good credit to secure the deal before you can blink an eye, you have been charged with an excessive amount of debt that you can not pay for.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Josephine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The condo/room was just wonderful, great staff, so accessible to everywhere by bus or walking. Provided a shuttle that took you to various areas of the city. Rooftop pool and spa, very kid friendly. Nice inexpensive grocery store attached, just a great place to relax and see San Antonio. Will go back here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cow3girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My parents are owners with Wyndham Vacation Resorts and they gave us 5 days at the Wyndham La Cascada as an anniversary gift. After reading some of the reviews I have to say I was a little nervous. We had none of the problems that some other people have talked about. We stayed in a 1BR deluxe on the 6th floor. It was very clean and set up really nice! My only complaint is that the couch isn't the most comfortable piece of furniture. We weren't there to sit around though and we headed out to start exploring. The resort is about a 15 minute walk from the main part of the Riverwalk but is about a 7-10 minute walk to the La Vallita area. If you are into art and jewelry this is a must see area. We walked at night and did not feel unsafe. In fact there were bike police out at all times of day around there. Hippos is a nice little grocery and while their prices may be a little higher than what you pay at home I didn't think they were out of line at all. You are paying for convenience! A few people complained about the sales pitch. We recieved one phone call, were asked to go on the tour/sales pitch in exchange for dinner certificate and our boat ride tickets, and were told in advance that it would be 60-90 minutes. We agreed to go because who doesn't like free stuff. We told the guy up front we were not buying anything and he respected that and didn't waste our time - we were out of there in an hour. We were not harassed and never heard from the sales staff again! The front desk staff was super nice and very helpful. All in all it was a great stay in a beautiful resort and we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lori32779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

The suite was beautiful, very clean, comfortable & quiet. There is a nice roof top pool on the sixth floor which was windy in the later afternoon. A short walk from the hotel to the River Walk (turn left when you come out the front door and you are right at the River Walk; and a few short blocks to the restaurant/shopping area. SA was warm (mid 90's) and humid. There is a shuttle during the day, bad thing is that it starts after 8 AM and stops running at 5 PM. The hotel charges $15/day for parking (unlimited in/out), parking is inside & secure. The valet always brought the car to us within a few minutes, or you can call & it will be waiting for you. The front desk staff was not friendly or very helpful (didn't seem to know the area, or willing to take the time to answer questions). No restaurants in the area other than the River Walk Area and we found those to be mediocre at best. There is an over priced deli at the hotel and grocery stores are a long drive so pick up what you will need when you drive in to SA. Our room had a full kitchen which is a standard with Wyndham Resorts.

Room Tip: Call be for arrival to see about anupgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank High-Dry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We really enjoyed the La Cascada but unfortunately the sales presentation we very reluctantly agreed to go to put a damper on our stay. We will never agree to go to one again, in my opinion there is nothing they could compensate us with that would make up for how we were treated by the sales staff here. On the other hand, the suites are beautiful, the location is good, and the regular staff is wonderful. So, I recommend staying here, just don't agree to the sales presentations unless you intend to purchase or upgrade, it's not worth it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank luv2trvl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

The facility itself is quite nice and very clean. For that part we'd likely return. I do believe that the folks with bloody sheets and black feet must have stayed elsewhere. The locale is not as near the Riverwalk as one might like but probably close enough.

The problem for us and yes we are owners was the member services/sales staff. We were subjected to a marathon by some idiot trying to get us to "upgrade" our ownership. For that reason alone we will likely never return. As this is written we are in contact with Wyndham regarding our stay and the resort manager is quite apologetic. We will see how it all turns out.

So be advised, stay away from any and all welcomes, owner training classes, gifts or any other promotions.

Room Tip: Stay away from the member services/sales people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelertoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Contessa
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,348 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 358 in San Antonio
4,130 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Wyndham Riverside Suites
#191 of 358 in San Antonio
167 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham La Cascada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham La Cascada

Address: 226 Dwyer Ave, San Antonio, TX 78204-1005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Speciality Lodging in San Antonio
Price Range: £131 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham La Cascada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham La Cascada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham La Cascada Hotel San Antonio
Wyndham San Antonio
Wyndham La Cascada San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing