We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sales rep ruined our stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Wyndham La Cascada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham La Cascada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vonore, Tennessee
Level Contributor
867 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 984 helpful votes
“Sales rep ruined our stay”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We are Wyndham vacation owners and have stayed at many of their resorts. We have no complaint with the room we had at La Cascada. We did think the valet fee was a bit silly in light of other free parking spaces available but it was a minor matter. The resort is not on the Riverwalk per se, and you do have to walk several blocks to the restaurants and attractions. There is a shuttle but check out the times it runs when you arrive and the last return. We used it, and the driver was pleasant.

The real issue was with the sales rep. He appeared in our room about a half hour after we arrived while we were trying to relax and wanted to set up a time to meet. We were only in San Antonio for two days and we told him we wanted to do a lot of sightseeing. After much pressure, we told him we would return the next day at 5 PM and meet him but we didn't want to ruin his day. The next day, he called us on my cell phone while we were on a tour and asked if we could return sooner. Annoyance no. 2 from him. We did make the meeting but he would not begin until my husband was there as well. My husband was not interested. (We are already gold members and told him we were not interested in buying more points and we also told him we had an only child and weren't interested in the plan to deal with multiple heirs.) The sales rep then told us we had points expiring which we knew was not true. We had talked to our gold rep and she explained why some points showed up as expiring when in fact they did not. The sales rep at La Cascad would not believe us. He was rude, pushy and quite frankly did RUIN our vacation at that point. We bought into Wyndham to have some fun, not to be harassed. If you are an owner and don't want another sales pitch be firm from the start and say "no I will NOT meet with you on this stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Torte_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    86
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
89
95
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My family and/or I have stayed here at least a dozen or more times over the last 2 or 3 years. We really enjoy it and have not had any complaints. I would definitely recommend it.

I've stayed at 6 or 7 different hotels on the Riverwalk and La Cascada is my favorite hotel. The rooms are very nice and spacious. More so than the hotels that are right on the Riverwalk as space is a premium and the rooms in those hotels seem to be smaller. This hotel is on the river but not on the busy, touristy part of the Riverwalk. You have to walk about 2 blocks to get to the main Riverwalk. Not something that has ever bothered us but if you want a room overlooking the Riverwalk and want to stay right in the middle of everything, you might look into another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucky_3_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our two boys (ages 11 & 6) and I can't say enough about this place!.We are very picky about where we stay on vacation and we loved this place! My kids did not want to leave! We had a 1 bedroom with a sleeper sofa and it was plenty of room. We were welcomed by staff and the room was very clean. We did have an issue with toilet seat loose and within 15 minutes of reporting it we had maintenance knocking on our door to fix the problem. We called for change of towels and again less than 15 minutes later we had fresh towels. We were only 2 blocks from Riverwalk and a few more from the Alamo. This place earned 5 stars from us. We loved it so much my husband and I are going back in 3 weeks without the kids!!!

Room Tip: I would ask for a room 3 floors or above and away from bldg. next door and away from dumpsters. I he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort, Texas
Level Contributor
201 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

A nice place to stay which is close to the Riverwalk and all that goes on there. Spacious well designed suites which make staying a pleasure. Not sure why they insist on valet parking. No restaurant on site but close by.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lengwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at La Cascada. The room was large with a lot of open space so we didn't feel cramped. Loved the big jacuzzi tub. The room has everything you need for a good stay. There's an outdoor heated pool and hot tub on the 6th floor which offers great views of the area.
The hotel is located with in walking distance of the Riverwalk and many other restaurants. A branch of the river runs behind the property. Wyndham offers a shuttle to El Mercado/ Mi Tiera, Riverwalk, The Alamo and several other places.
The staff was very helpful and friendly. The concierge helped us with special offers and answered any questions we had. Overall good experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigBear1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Just a short walk from the famous river walk, downtown San Antonio. Lots to do and many good restaurants. We would have enjoyed our stay more if the weather had cooperated! Breezy, cool and somewhat rainy the week we stayed. Very nice and helpful staff shared their favorite places to eat and hand out.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russellville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We booked this resort because we couldn't get availabilty at our favorite Spring Break spots. We weren't really all that excited about San Antonio, but thought we'd make the best of it. Boy was I in for a surprise! We arrived very late on our arrival date, but was greeted by Charles, who checked us in with a friendly an efficient manner. Valet was easy, even if 15 dollars per day.

Our condo was a two-bedroom deluxe. The view from the main living area was nothing to write home about (the building next door and the dumpsters in between) but the unit itself was gorgeous. It had two full bedrooms (secondary bedroom had two full size beds), and two full baths. The master bath contained a stand-up shower and a jacuzzi tub.

I highly recommend this resort because of its quality and proximity to the riverwalk.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. The two-bedroom deluxe units are on the end of the building with a poor view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeeRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
2,878 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
3,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
3,032 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
1,369 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham La Cascada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham La Cascada

Property: Wyndham La Cascada
Address: 226 Dwyer Ave, San Antonio, TX 78204-1005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Speciality Lodging in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham La Cascada 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham La Cascada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham La Cascada Hotel San Antonio
Wyndham San Antonio
Wyndham La Cascada San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing