We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Motel 6 San Antonio Downtown - Market Square
Ranked #274 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Although this hotel was quiet at night---- that would be about the only thing positive I would have to say about it. The surrounding area was dirty and the hotel was not much better. We are not Motel6 customers but were traveling with friends and pets this trip and decided to stay here because of the proximity to the River Walk (a somewhat short walk away)

Checkin went fairly smoothly although the girl at the front desk checked us in under the wrong name, which she corrected. Asked for a quiet room close to our friends which we received but upon entering the room it smelled of urine so badly it was making me ill. The others in our party were not able to smell it, so I figured for one night I would buck up as we were close to our friends. The room itself was in disrepair nothing like the online pictures. Cigarette burns on the counters and tables in our non smoking room and the bed was questionable to say the least. In the morning when I went to take our dog out, someone had dumped their garbage all over the stairs, this is not the nicest area in San Antonio so don't expect much.

One note our fiends room was fine it actually looked nice and smelled clean. Must have been just the king room I asked for which most Motel6 don't have.

A note: The River Walk was very disappointing and I will definitely bypass San Antonio next time on the way to South Padre Island

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vroomin61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 San Antonio Downtown - Market Square, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Dear Guest,

The room condition and odor issues you described are not consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6. We apologize for your negative experience and appreciate your bringing these issues to our attention. Please contact our guest relations department so we will have a record of your experience to help us better address these issues: 1-800-557-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    17
    22
    21
    23
See reviews for
31
19
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We enjoyed our stay here at Motel 6. The rooms were recently updated and are very modern and clean. The service was wonderful, great group of employees that were always friendly and happy to help us. We were surprised at how spacious the rooms were. The hotel is located near downtown San Antonio, not too far from the Market Square and the Riverwalk. The area around the hotel is a little rough, lots of people walking around looking for work I'm assuming, but never had any problems with it they kept to themselves. Overall great hotel for the price and great service!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrufener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This is the first Motel 6 I've stayed at that's the "new" version. I had my cat with me and he was sick of traveling across the country, so I was glad that the room was pretty big for a Motel 6 and he had room to run around.

The room was interesting. It was sort of a weird modern theme with fake bamboo linoleum. It had a giant bed with lots of pillows and it was quite comfy. Especially compared with other Motel 6 beds. I specifically chose this motel because I wanted to go check out the River Walk and Alamo while I was there, but didn't want to stay in a fancier hotel since I was just passing through. It was a short walk to the downtown area, but walking back alone at night was a little sketchy. The parking lot is shared with a McDonald's and it practically under a freeway. Lots of interested characters hanging around. At one point after I'd gone to bed I heard someone yelling outside. I went to check and it was a guy outside McDonald's yelling at his shopping cart. I was a bit worried about having my new car with all my belongings parked there, but it was well lit and I think they had a security guard.

So, overall this place is fine for a one night stopover, but based on the location I don't think I'd leave my car there for longer than that. It got 4 stars based on other Motel 6's, not on other hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmberRiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somewhere south of the middle
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We were in San Antonio for the Rock-n-Roll Marathon in November and found this Motel 6 pretty convenient to get to the downtown area fairly quickly. Unlike other reviewers, we didn't walk to and from downtown, just drove. The McDonald's is literally next door and that was nice. I didn't care for the room decor as it's too austere for my tastes, but it was clean. The light in the bathroom didn't work and the front desk offered to change the bulb out but we could still see from the vanity area lights, so I declined. I thought it was nice that the front desk called us a few minutes after we got in the room to see if everything was alright.

The only "scary" thing was there was a knock on the door in the middle of the night and I woke up thinking it was my friend (staying in another room at the same motel) letting us know it was time to get up and get ready for the marathon. When I looked at the clock and saw it was the middle of the night, I refused to go to the door and they never knocked again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laffindog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I paid $50 for the room, but I was very, very happy to be in a room that was centrally located downtown and in a CLEAN room! The new decor has easy to clean laminate, faux hardwood, flooring as opposed to gritty carpets with stains. Everything was inches above the floor so I could easily verify there were no roaches, insects, etc. After staying in San Marcos the day before in an Executive Inn with cockroaches and hair in the tub, I reveled in the cleanliness of the room. It was quiet as well so I didn't have any noisy neighbors disturbing my sleep. The staff was GREAT!!! The young man and middle-aged woman behind the desk gave me helpful tips and recommendations about the downtown area as well as money saving coupons. I live in Irving (Las Colinas) and will be job hunting in the area and I will be staying here again on my next trip!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSalloum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Haaa. When I got to this motel, they found my reservation but did not have any room available. They told me they could not honor the reservation and I was on my own. They gave me the phone number of another Motel 6 ten miles away.

After calling the central reservation phone number, they finally found a room. The room was moldy ans stinky. I hate the colors and plastic flooring they now put in the "refurbished" rooms of this motel chain.

The hotel is not too far from the Riverwalk. You can walk there but this hotel is in a sketchy area of the city.

I would personally avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crew347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Antonio hotels

Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

It was a last minute decision to stay in San Antonio and the Motel 6 Market Sqaure was the right place.

The room was modest with the "new" Motel 6 decor but it was very relaxing and refreshing after shopping in San Marcos and a long days drive. You park just outside your room. The area is not a tourist area like the Riverwalk but not too bad. Market Square with Mi Tierra is a short walk away. A good convenience store is a block the other way.

And at $42, it hit the spot for quick stop!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2DogsCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Best Western Alamo Suites
#84 of 358 in San Antonio
497 reviews
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Plus Downtown North
#109 of 358 in San Antonio
63 reviews
East Side
La Hacienda Inn Alamodome/Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Antonio Downtown - Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Antonio Downtown - Market Square

Property: Motel 6 San Antonio Downtown - Market Square
Address: 211 N Pecos La Trinidad, San Antonio, TX 78207-3170
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Antonio Downtown - Market Square 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 San Antonio Downtown - Market Square is within 2 miles of the famous Riverwalk, the Alamo, U.T. San Antonio, Alamo Dome, and much more. All rooms have a modern new look. Wi-Fi available for $2.99 per 24 hours. Outdoor pool open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 San Antonio Downtown - Market Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Antonio Downtown - Market Square Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing