We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst motel stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Motel 6 San Antonio Downtown - Market Square
Ranked #278 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“worst motel stay”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

First of all, motel is by jail and maybe homeless shelter there were men and some women hanging out around cars and corner.Its close to the Market within walking distance Our sink got clog then our tub and it drained very very slow .Didn't have enough towels and when housekeeping made the beds it looked like they did not change the sheets we rated the pool about a 5. We will never stay there again and do not recommend it.The room also had a weird smell.

Room Tip: Don't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim20202014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    17
    21
    21
    23
See reviews for
31
19
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Upon walking into the room you are hit with a musty stale cigarette smell. There was several cigarette burns on the bed. Room was not very clean. The girl at the desk didnt know how long we were staying which luckily was only one night!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethanyspraggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This place has changed quite a bit! The last time we were here several years ago it was a lot better. The rooms didn't look like they had been cleaned well. They're are all sorts of sketchy people hanging around asking for money. I won't be staying here again even though the location is great, within walking distance to the market. Glad we only had to stay one night. Definitely not worth the price!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katlexpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnolia, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This Motel 6 is in the worst ever area of San Antonio.There is nothing there but drug dealers,homelessand no telling what else.How do I know this?My wife came out of the bathroom at 1AM to find 2 men smoking crack inside our room.Knocks on the door from homeless people looking for their friends.Homeless people walking and checking every door to see if any were open.Homeless sleeping on the walkway next to our room.This I saw with my own eyes.This motel is NOT family friendly.The swimming pool was filthy.The whole place should be condemned.Iwould only recommend that no decent person go to this motel.

Room Tip: Go to another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My girlfriend and i stayed here for one night, it was supposed to be two. If we could have gotten out of the one we would have, however, because we went in the room for more than ten minutes, we could not get a refund. Horrible doesn't begin to describe it. The room they gave us initially was on the back side of the motel- scary. We discovered it is a block away from a large homeless shelter and the jail. Lots of scary people walking around. Desk clerk said it wasn't safe to walk around in the evening. Room was sterile and questionable on cleanliness. Worst, most depressing stay i have ever had in a motel. Never again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevierville
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Yes, we know..it's Motel6 and you shouldn't expect much. A hospital bedroom has more charm than the room we had in this motel 2 ( king size bed, 2nd floor, no - smoking) . One of the new rooms motel 6 is advertising and it was big...with no furniture in it and the bed tucked in the corner. A ball room dance floor is small in comparison. The neighborhood was somewhat ok, a MacD next door attracting some interesting characters...many Mexicans looking for illegal day work in the morning.
Honestly Motel6 made a bad choice with the new room design they are now promoting...never again !

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Beate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

First of all the service from the clerks was good, but please the room had an bad odor... like hot monkey, if you want to save money fair enough, but in my opinion put some extra bucks on the budget and move one to another place

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morten P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
DoubleTree by Hilton San Antonio Downtown
Avenida Guadalupe
Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenida Guadalupe
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
East Side
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Antonio Downtown - Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Antonio Downtown - Market Square

Property: Motel 6 San Antonio Downtown - Market Square
Address: 211 N Pecos La Trinidad, San Antonio, TX 78207-3170
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Antonio Downtown - Market Square 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 San Antonio Downtown - Market Square is within 2 miles of the famous Riverwalk, the Alamo, U.T. San Antonio, Alamo Dome, and much more. All rooms have a modern new look. Wi-Fi available for $2.99 per 24 hours. Outdoor pool open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 San Antonio Downtown - Market Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Antonio Downtown - Market Square Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing