We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is the only good thing about it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wyndham Riverside Suites
Ranked #183 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Abilene, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location is the only good thing about it.”
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I am surprised that Wyndham puts their name on this hotel. The only plus side to it is the location. It is indeed in a fabulous place. It is a neat old building, but needs so much work. To start off, the entrance is on a side street that is not well lit and is more like an alley. The door is beside air vents that smell like rotting garbage. It is next door to Landry's Seafood (which is great if you want to go eat seafood), and smells like week old shrimp and soured milk. Their is nowhere to drop off elderly or handicapped family members without blocking the lane of traffic. There is no on premises parking, so you are left to park on the public parking lots a block or more from the hotel (also a problem with elderly and handicapped family members and very small children....also a pain when you are carrying luggage from the car to the room). Once inside, the check in desk is on the 2nd floor. Not a single person offered to help with luggage. I was carrying my luggage and the luggage for my 79 year old grandmother who has casts on both of her arms. My grandmother was so exhausted from walking over a block in 103 degree heat that she was having trouble breathing. When we finally got to our room, it was tiny. It was a 2 bedroom. The rooms are tiny and the bathrooms are little bitty. Neither of the bathrooms is handicapped accessible. The living room/kitchen floor had not been swept and there was dirt and crumbs all over the place. It had not been dusted in a long time, because there was a substantial layer of dust on the dishes, the tv's, and the tables. The shower in the smallest bathroom was very mildewed. The tub in the larger bathroom was mildewed and so was the wall beside the tub. The washer/dryer ran for 3 hours and still had water standing in the tub when it finished. 2 hours after turning on the "dryer" by itself, my clothes were still dripping water. I bagged them in trash sacks and carried them home to re-wash and dry. The room is very noisy and you can hear every coming and going of the neighbors. Speaking of neighbors, you better be friends with your neighbors here....the window coverings do not cover the entire window, and the people in the rooms across from you can see in the bedroom and living room windows. We had previously stayed at LaCascada a couple of blocks away, and it was a dream. This place was terrible, and we will not be going back. Wyndham either needs to sell the place or invest in some improvements. I have had cleaner and better maintained rooms at a Motel 6. If you are looking for a nice clean place to stay directly on the riverwalk, there are better choices. If you don't mind walking a couple of blocks to the riverwalk (with very well lit streets and things to see on the way) stay at the LaCascada (the are friendly, clean, quiet, have valet parking, are helpful to elderly guests, and very roomy).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRB73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    42
    24
    26
    18
See reviews for
54
59
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

What a wonderful hidden gem! I had my doubts because of some of the reviews but now I think the negative reviews are from folks who just always find things wrong with everything. Riverside Suites is great! The staff bends over backwards to help you with anything. You can not beat the location. Parking is half a short block away. Around the corner is the NIX Hospital. You can eat in their cafeteria for next to nothing. The rooms at Riverside are nice and I was told they are about to do some remodeling. If you want room service and valet parking stay somewhere else and pay $300.00 per night. For the rest of us Riverside Suites is perfect!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JLarder1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crofton, MD
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Get away weekend to the 175th Anniversary of The Alamo. Wyndham Riverside Suites is conveniently located on The Riverwalk, near The Alamo and near lots of restaurants. The building has historic value and as such, must conform to strict building codes in the historic district. The entrance on the alley near the trash dumpsters does make a negative impression and I had to hold my breath entering the street level door. That negative impression was quickly erased by the warm and enthusiastic welcome we received from Wyndham staffer "Sandy". Very friendly and informative. Most outstanding and knowledgeable was David the Concierge. David was extremely helpful and friendly; probably one of the best employees of Wyndham we have met throughout our travels staying at Wyndham properties across the country in 11 years. Our one-bedroom unit's design was clever, the designer made the best of awkward space, and again, they had to work with historic district design constraints. Conveniently located at The Riverwalk, a plethora of restaurants were just steps away. San Antonio is one of the friendliest cities we have visited and the employees at Wyndham's Riverside Suites represented San Antonio well. Bravo!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlbCrofton_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ont
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Excellent location, we were given a unit with lots of space and an excellent view of the Riverwalk outside our window. The “stone” floors were unusual but added character to the unit. Close to the Alamo and most other major sites. Small entrance and lobby, but we had no problems locating it. Parking is less than 100 yards down the street and only $12.00 a day through Wyndham. We got a 1 bedroom, corner suite – lots of room for two. No cooker in this unit, just a two burner stove and microwave.
Excellent, fast wi-fi and in-room safe. Very helpful and pleasant staff.

I recommend using your car to visit the four missions – good parking at the missions.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Derek_London_Ont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

This is great place for a single or a couple who want more room than just a hotel room. We looked directly down on the Riverwalk right where all the action is (there are a lot of quiet Riverwalk locations but this hotel is in the middle of the restaurants and nightlife (so there is some noise)). The docor is updated 'historic'. I'm guessing this was once a warehouse and I don't think there are any 90 degree angles. The bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious and nicely updated with odd corners and cubby holes in every room. The beds were super comfortable and the bathrooms had a shower over a large jet tub. The kitchen does not have an oven but has a 2-burner stove and a dishwasher (plus pots, dishes, fridge, etc.) if you choose to cook in (but there are many restaurants very close by). Some units have whirlpool tubs on a small patio but those units also have steps (lots of steps).

My one criticism is the size of the kitchen/living room - it was small ... fine for one or two., but if there are three or four (or more-heaven forbid) you better be very good friends because you'll be sitting on each other's lap. I loved it, my husband was slightly less enamoured - he wanted more room in the kitchen/living room because we had an additional adult traveling with us.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SandyM_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Very nice hotel with an awesome location. Not sure why they call this a "resort" since there are no hotel ammenities. The parking wasn't a big deal. No, it's not on the property, but it was only a few steps away. The room was small, but perfect if you're just looking for a place to sleep while you enjoy beautiful downtown San Antonio. You can't beat the location; right on the Riverwalk just above Landry's Seafood with other popular restaurants like Joe's Crab Shack, the County Line, and Hard Rock Cafe a stone's throw away. It is less than a 5 minute walk to the Alamo and all of the tourist attractions in the area. The Buckhorn Saloon/Museum/Restaurant is just on the corner with the Children's Museum around the corner. Walgreen's is conveniently located for some light grocery shopping perfect for easy breakfast essentials. Even though it's on the Riverwalk, the noise wasn't loud enough to interfere with you sleep even with the nightclub next door. My only concern would be for handicapped travelers since the hallways are pretty tight as well as the rooms which are chocked full of furniture. There is also only one elevator which gets busy during peak times. If you're a handicapped traveler, you should inquire about the handicapped accessibility of a room. I was also surprised that housekeeping didn't come daily to make up the room or the beds - oh well, not a huge deal and being located this close to everything sure makes it worth it! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JRIZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Historic 1928 structure many rooms with balcony view overlooking Riverwalk near Landrys. Our room with sitting area and compact kitchenette was on 7th penthouse level with a spiral narrow staircase to 8th floor bedroom with queen bed. If you are not able to climb stairs reguest single floor room. Christmas season wonderful view lights and music from river boats. Staff friendly and great especially David the conceriege. Unload your car in hard to see at night entrance, park in city garage for $9 a night, take only cash or check. Wyndham provides daytime shuttle to major places. Wyndham La Cascada more modern and roomy close by, we prefer Riverside for it's "character."

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Riverwalk Vista
Riverwalk Vista
#27 of 356 in San Antonio
508 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#18 of 356 in San Antonio
3,009 reviews
Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk
#60 of 356 in San Antonio
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Riverside Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Riverside Suites

Property: Wyndham Riverside Suites
Address: 218 College St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Riverside Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Riverside Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Riverside Suites San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing