We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center
Ranked #236 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
TX
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Candlewood Suites and this hotel are great. I've stayed twice and if I have the chance, I'd stay here again.I like having a fully stocked in suite kitchen so I don't have to eat out for every meal. The free washers & dryers are great so you don't have to lug all that dirty laundry home if you don't want.

The room was large & the bed comfortable. There was a conviently large desk/table & a very comfortable recliner bedside. Yes, the Suites only has weekly housekeeping visits so hang up your towels like you do @ home.

The Suites also allow pets--check their requirements. There is also a small Candlewood "Cupboard" where you can purchase a variety of items.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank traveler2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Our sincere gratitude to you for your comments on our hotel. We value the chance to hear from our guests and want to take the time to acknowledge your contribution. Thank you and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    16
    13
    10
    16
See reviews for
18
13
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were traveling with our two small children, so we prefer to stay in a "suite" type room where we have a kitchen and separate sleeping spaces. I can tell that once upon a time, the rooms were quite nice. They have many sleek and modern finishes in the kitchen and bath. Since it's an extended stay type hotel, I suspect that the inhabitants are just very hard on these spaces. The furniture in the living room is well worn...couch cushions stained and flat, recliner "leather" peeling, lamps bent, etc. That said, it worked for us. The rooms are very quiet. In 5 days, the only noise I heard from other rooms was one evening, we could here the person above us walking around with very heavy feet. It was perfect for naptimes and bedtime so that the children weren't awakened by noise in the hallways or adjacent rooms. The bedroom is tight when you have two adults and a baby in a pack & play, but it's a temporary situation, so it's manageable. the couch pulls out into a full size bed as well, so our family of four did sleep comfortably. The "cupboard" was a nice convenience, although the snacks/food are quite overpriced, but having the access to use a washer/dryer for free and having detergent available for a nominal fee (it is much more affordable than the snacks!) was a huge lifesaver. Children are notorious for spilling, so we were able to wash all our clothes before heading home and having to deal with set-in stains. Surprisingly, the washers and dryers are kept in good repair. They are clean and well maintained! The wifi was perfectly fine for us - in fact, I worked from the hotel for a full day on my computer and it was fast enough not to frustrate me. The only small complaints I would have are 1) they only have two luggage carts for the whole hotel and 2) the larger trash receptacles are kept near the pool, so while swimming, you occasionally get a whiff of the garbage. Would I prefer to stay in a newer, nicer hotel? Yes, but sometimes you have to make sacrifices for your family. My stress level was definitely lower because we stayed here. They even allowed us an extra couple of hours after check-out so the kids could get naps before our flight out.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenn_E_penny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear jenn_E_penny,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs & expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the condition of our facilities. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TEXAS
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Entrance door is not ADA. No one is ever at front desk. The worst is the Horrible smell. We stayed on 3 floor. The hallway stinks the room stinks of old body order and old cooking smell. Just nasty. If they would get some good people there to work. Cleaned up the smell and get rid of the torn chairs. It would improve it a lot. Until then if u want a stinky room .bad customer service this it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinnredhotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Cinnredhotz,

I would like to thank you for your review and apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations. I would greatly appreciate further information regarding your stay in order that I can investigate further.

I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Rooms about $70-$90.

Cons: ONLY ONE FULL SIZE BED PER ROoM. Internet worse than McDonalds. Might as well go to McD that is down the street. Hotel does not even have a T1 Internet service. Hotel wifi internet gets 240kbps compared to 8422kbps that my Verizon 4G LTE gets. Will not clean your room unless you been there a week. You can get towels from cleaning personnel. elevator takes forever to open doors. Chairs in room are peeling on floor and on you.

Pros: quiet, nice wading pool, almost full kitchen, DVD/VCR in room, big tub, ac works good in most rooms(with drapes closed, plenty parking(was not worried about veh), Full free laundry if you buy their wash products about $3 a was (4 washer and driers), Fitness room.

Guess Internet and room cleaning were worst part. But are high on list of mandatory things. This is an adult hotel or just a place to shower and sleep.

Room Tip: All full size beds. only one small side of building faces highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you for comments regarding your experience with the Candlewood Suites San Antonio. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We do have plans to upgrade our internet this year, which will drastically increase the speed.
It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We nearly always choose Candlewood Suites when we travel. We like the amenities, and in fact, we stayed at this property several years ago on our honeymoon! We chose to stay at this location again for our most recent trip to San Antonio because of the price and because it has been recently renovated.

Well....we had booked a studio suite and we had just gotten checked in and unpacked when we discovered that our toilet was not flushing. My husband called the front desk and was told, "We have a plunger down here. You can come get it." (really?)

So he went and got the plunger, came back, and guess what? Overflow! Now water was everywhere. He called back to the front desk and their only real concern was whether or not the people below us would be disturbed by the water. (really?) We requested another room and ended up with a free upgrade to a one-bedroom suite.

Normally this would have ended any problems, but then the front desk said, "Oh, take the plunger with you in case you need it again." Then, the plates in our cupboard had dried up food stuck to them. Gross.

These were just some of the problems that could have been easily remedied. It just seemed like less care was taken with this property than other Candlewoods we have visited. Yes, there is a smoke smell in the hallways. Only part of the 4th floor is smoking (rest of hotel is non-smoking) but that part of the 4th floor really permeates through the rest of the floor. There are also no fans in the bathrooms, so it stays pretty damp in there long after a shower.

There are much better Candlewoods out there than this one.

Room Tip: Don't choose the 4th floor unless you smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StandnGod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
We take all of our guest concerns seriously as we strive to be one of the top hotels in San Antonio. I apologize for the issues that you dealt with during your stay and hope to have you back as a guest again one day in order to prove that this type of service is not consistent in our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and will address these issues.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I came here for a medical procedure and needed to rest. Even though it's off the highway (IH-10) it's very quiet. Hotel is nearly full and I can't hear the people above me.
About 10 minutes after I checked in, I got a call from Front Desk to see if room was satisfactory. In all my years of travel I've never received a call like this. Nice touch!
Rooms have been re-modeled and are nice. Full size fridge with ice-maker, microwave, and even a dishwasher. A 2 burner stove too.
Bring your DVD's to watch your favorite movie, that's what I did. Nice big TV to watch.
A very comfortable bed; I like that dogs are welcomed here. That's nice for people with pets or travelers moving.
The only drawback is no maid service or breakfast.
Highly recommended this hotel; wonderful Front Desk staff. Will definately come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room, although 4th floor is all smoking..people still smoke? :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tahoequeen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
We thank you so much for your kind words about our property. We strive to provide great service and comfort for our guest and appreciate when our guest are completely happy with their stays. Thank you again for you input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

the rooms are nice, the staff in the morning are also very nice. Unfortunately as with many long term places the people who stay are usually construction workers. We got the room via priceline bid - and as mentioned the room is modern, very clean but the hallways reek of smoke and it permiates into the room.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker - you will feel right at home. If you have asthma or any allergies, please stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawsut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you liked the room and our staff during your stay with us and do apologize for the smoke smell in the halls. We strive to aim higher and will use your comments to make us better. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Staybridge Suites San Antonio NW Medical Center
Northwest Side
Pear Tree Inn San Antonio Northwest Medical Center
Northwest Side
Extended Stay America - San Antonio - Colonnade
Extended Stay America - San Anto...
#237 of 356 in San Antonio
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Courtyard San Antonio Medical Center
Northwest Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Northwest
Northwest Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center

Property: Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center
Address: 9350 W Interstate 10, San Antonio, TX 78230-3169
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to San Antonio Come and see how we celebrate spring with Fiesta, Fiesta, Fiesta! , a citywide cultural celebration. Aside from being home to the Alamo and the San Antonio Riverwalk, we are also home to the San Antonio Spurs, the Majestic and IMAX Theater, Sea World, Fiesta Texas as well as many institutions of higher education including UTSA and Trinity University. From the moment you enter the Candlewood Suites hotel you will feel right at home. Whether your visit brings you to us for business or pleasure, one night or an extended stay, the Candlewood Suites is ready to serve you. Our rooms are cozy and convenient because we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. It's the ultimate suite for every traveler. Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your executive desk with two phone lines and surf the net with our free high speed internet access. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and DVD/VCR. Borrow your favorites from our free video and book library or work off some stress in our fitness center or our outdoor pool. Our Candlewood Cupboard offers meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices and our complimentary washers and dryers will keep you looking your best. The Candlewood Suites hotel is located on the Northwest side of town near USAA, Lackland Air Force Base, and the Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
Candlewood San Antonio
San Antonio Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing